We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing first time hostel experience”
Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Circus Hostel
Ranked #2 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing first time hostel experience”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

A friend and I (2 girls in early 20s) stayed here in September 2011 over a weekend.
It has an amazing location - just opposite a u-bahn stop, close to some very reasonable restaurants (we got pizza for EURO 3! and amazing sandwiches from a deli across the street for that price too!)
It may have been a bit extreme, but we are young and fit, so we actually walked from the hostel, meandering through the streets, all the way to Brandenburg Gates, Holocaust Memorial and to Checkpoint Charlie, and then back to the hostel. It really didnt seem that far of a walk, and lots of sights/monuments to see on the way. We only bought a metro card on the second day, in order to get to the East Side Gallery and back to the Hautbahnhof train station. So excellent location!
Then you can buy internet time - cant remember the price. BUT there is also a free intereactive website showing sights, clubs, restaurants in the different areas of Berlin. very useful.
The hostel also loaned us a Berlin guide book to take out with us for the weekend.
There is a great breakfast cafe - very yummy muesli, yoghurt, fruit, rolls, ham, waffles, nutella! very good for a hostel.
There is also a pub downstairs which had quite a vibe going on the fri and sat night , and we got a 2 for 1 special drink voucher.
Now for the accommodation part - the price you pay is really reasonable because it is a CLEAN hostel, with big beds, lots of space in the dorm rooms, seriously! we were really lucky to have a balcony on the first night. There are coathangers, plugs, nice duvets and pillows, and the best- the lockers next to your bed have plug points inside so u can safely charge your phone/camera while out/sleeping.
The lifts are card activated, as is the door to your floor and your room door, so good security.
Then during the day there are massive lockers in the basement downstairs where you can leave your bags during the day/ on your departure day til however late you need. this was really helpful. this locker room is also locked for added security.
The bathrooms were clean- very basic showers etc and it was nice your clothes didnt get wet when in the shower as the room has a shower door.
There seemed to be a small amount of showers/toilets for the amount of rooms on the floor, but we never had to wait and hardly ever saw anyone else in the bathroom. the door signs are really funky- that was cool.
Our only mishap- but its a fact we have now learnt- is that we booked for a room of 4 or 5 girls, but when we got back after midnight, discovered boys shoes in our room. when we complained they said unfortunately the hostel was full and it was late-they couldnt shuffle around. so we got a free internet voucher and free bfast voucher in apology.
however, our roommates turned out to be these awesome guys from kentucky who we befriended, so that was actually a blessing in disguise.
then on the second night they said we would be in a 4 pax girls room, however when we went inside it was a 10 girl dorm- lots of clothes and craziness. so we just went to tell reception they got it wrong again. she was very apolgetic, again it was late and the hostel was full, but she could put us in a 4 pax room with one other guy. we chose this and we actually never saw the guy, he was asleep when we got home and left before we woke up. he may have got a fright to wake up with 2 girls in his room! but anyways, again this all worked out well and the hostel charged us the cheaper rate as if we were in the bigger dorm room. so def very accommodating of them.
basically what we learnt is when it comes to unisex hostels, dont expect to be in a single sex small room, if it happens its a bonus. so book for it ,but be open to it not working out. our experiences turned out well :)
and try check in your room during the day- both nights we only asked about our other dorm people way late in the night, so there was not much they could do about it then.
Met awesome people there, everyone was really friendly, modern, clean, location is great!
Don't even think about staying anywhere else BUT circus!!!!!

Room Tip: high up, as its on a busy street intersection so in the morning it can get noisy. best room is 501...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    283
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
56
244
359
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
332 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The location is excellent, very easy to get to from the airports and and excellent video on their website to make it even easier to find.

The room we had was clean and spacious, I have stayed in many worse hotels. There were plenty of showers and toilets that were modern and clean.

The staff were helpful and all spoken excellent English.

The cafe and bar were well priced and had a good selection of offerings.

There were good left luggage facilities.

It was more hotel like but with a hostel feel rather than pure hostel and the price reflected that.

I would recommend to a friend and stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Location in Mitte, newly renovated, I stayed with other 3 friends in 4 room paying 22 €/night/ person. Bathrooms are shared but very clean. Beds are ok and rooms also. For a hostel is in the top category. They have buffet breakfast from 8:30 to 13 for 5€ which I did not enjoy since I slept too much. Very friendly staff at the reception. They have also a lounge and a basement bar where you can meet lot of people. At the basement bar the girl who was serving that night was unpolite, she probably came out of a bad day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Modern, hip, clean, great location, great staff, great tours (free and exclusive..), this place has it all.. located in central mitte, closed to anything..
i booked a private room, excellent price and as clean as you can get, lots of closet space too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localone2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was my first stay in a hostel, and if they were all like this I'd be staying at one all the time!

Let's start with check-in... Easy as pie! The staff were fantastic! I arrived quite early before check in so was able to get a locker to put my luggage in for a 10 euro deposit (just note the lockers are down a flight of stairs!)

As Berlin was only a quick stop for me, I decided to go on the free walking tour available which I would HIGHLY recommend!

Anyhow, back to the accommodation, checked in later in the day with no problems. I'd booked into a three person room which meant there were no bunk beds! It was clean, modern, and very spacious. There is a small 'locker' available which requires a padlock but it's better than nothing! Each bed had their own reading light which was also great.

The floors are extremely secure as you need your card to get into the hall way, and then of course to get into the room. As a solo female traveller this was a massive plus for me.

The bar downstairs was great, though I didn't spend much time there. However alcohol was cheap (always important!) Free wifi as you would expect in Europe, but a little bit dodgy up in the rooms.

I would most certainly stay here again, and would highly recommend to anyone. But if you're a solo female traveller, you will certainly feel safe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc_ary222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Great central location next to the U Bahn and a tram line. Great friendly staff that is totally fluent in English and was helpful in telling me how to get around, even to the concert venue I was going to. There are small lockers above the bed with an electrical outlet in them, if you want to lock your luggage up you'll need to use the luggage room downstairs and pay a 10€ deposit. Internet is available in the lobby for 1€ per 30 minutes, free wifi in the whole building if you bring your laptop. Hostel is as clean as they get. Several younger international travelers. Comfy lobby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darthgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is the best hostel I've stayed at. The staff are so laid back & friendly. Very informative as to where to visit & eat. What attracted me to this hostel were the photos of the lounge area and I found it is a great area to relax, use the free wifi and talk to travellers. The Goldman's bar downstairs is brilliant. There is a free keg of beer to be shared by all on Monday nights. (Get there for 9 opening as it dries up fast!) The room is VERY secure with keycard access both to the floor and room with a secure safe for belongings inside. The bed was uniquely set in an alcove on a raised platform (see picture for better understanding) but the steps are slippery and have sharp corners - watch your step in the dark! There is a very nice takeaway outlet across the road. This place is a MUST when staying in Berlin.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#12 of 634 in Berlin
2,543 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,701 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#3 of 349 in Berlin
705 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 349 in Berlin
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Property: The Circus Hostel
Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing