We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berlin Carnival Trip 2014 and mini holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Die Fabrik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Die Fabrik
Ranked #199 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Berlin Carnival Trip 2014 and mini holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is now the second time i have stayed at Die Fabrik and love the location and distance to attraction and sites.There is WIFI that can be recieved in all rooms on all floors. There is no lifts but i consider this a good thing for excersie purposes. It is walking distance to shops, places to eat, supermarkets and local during carnival time to all parties. We walked to Alexanderplatz where we found a lovely city centre and shopping mall. They have amazing rides on a bar that needs to be booked in advance. We will definatly be trying this on another trip but needs at least 7-12 poeple to spread the costs evenly.

Room Tip: Prvate room to share between friends is recommeded and can be single or double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saphia51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    53
    10
    7
    13
See reviews for
5
23
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

When I arrived with a heavy suitcase and asked if there was a lift. I was told sarcastically by the blonde lady on reception that this was a 'fit hotel' and that they didn't have a lift and I would have to carry the case up myself. I was capable of doing this but was annoyed by her attitude after I had been travelling for six hours and even more annoyed when another member of staff told me there was a lift!
The hostel is very noisy. It is a factory building which has been partitioned up into rooms and there is nothing to absorb the sound. You will clearly hear people talking in the next room. You will also hear them talking to each other in the communal bathrooms some distance away and also heart very loud slamming of doors as it is hard to close them quietly. As Kreuzberg is a party area expect young people to be staying there who couldn't care less about how much noise they make when they come in at midnight.
The place has a cool aesthetic to it but fails as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring very good earplugs or stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This place was very bittersweet for me. it was very clean and it was nice that the front desk was open 24/7. But the walls were paper thin and we could clearly hear everything the room next to us were saying and doing. The beds are comfy. It is in a great and interesting location. the staff is very friendly too!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank smols95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Spacious, quiet room on a busy street with bustling night-life. Bed was mostly comfortable, the bathrooms were serviceable but far from the room. Staff were friendly and helpful. A bit far from the S-bahn, but very close to the U-bahn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Although die fabrik crops up as a hostel in internet searches it is really a little bohemian-style hotel - that's bohemian in the sense of artsy and beat rather than the geographical area. Facing onto the main drag in kreuzberg, not far from the spree, die fabrik is built around a courtyard in a former brewery. In the UK it would rank as a one or two star hotel although with much more atmosphere and far better value than you get in Britain. All the rooms are, so they say, unique. My room, like the whole building, was simple, clean, unfussy and quietly charming. There's a quiet entry hall and at the front of the hotel and a late night cafe serving good breakfasts for 4 to 7 euros, lunch and dinner. You can sit in the cafe all day happily people watching as kreuzberg life passes by outside. Most of the staff were very friendly and unobtrusive. It was definitely the accommodation find of my stay in Berlin and I will be going back - if the place isn't permanently full by then. PS watch out for the new Berlin city tourism tax, which adds 5% to your accommodation bill.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank artgarfheinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I was very surprised to stay in this youth hostel.i think its great that reception is always opened It is clean and nice.It has very nice inner garden. . It is a great contrast to quite a weird athmosphere of Kreuzberg.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_krasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Funky!
I travelled together With a high School class from Norway. We stayed for 4 days, - the neighbourhood is quiet. Nice rooms and very helpful staff.- Bathrooms are shared on each floor.
Good location , Schlesische Hof is the nearest Bahn. One change to Reach HauptbahnHof. (WerschauerStrasse)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Michelberger Hotel
Michelberger Hotel
#97 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Berlin City
Friedrichshain
Industriepalast
Industriepalast
#30 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
baxpax Kreuzberg Hostel Berlin
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#5 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Fabrik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Fabrik

Property: Die Fabrik
Address: Schlesische Str. 18, 10997 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our House - an old factory building from the turn of the century - was restored and developed in 1995. The typical Berlin-Kreuzberg charme of a brick building has been retained with light, spacious rooms and a courtyard garden. On each floor you can find large bathrooms.To maintain a private atmosphere we do not have TV or telephone in the rooms. International calls can be made at any time in the lobby. Our rooms are bright, spacious and very quiet. For your convenience you can book single and double accomodation or rooms for more than two people.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the FABRIK-CAFÉ. Our hotel is located near the old and new center of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Die Fabrik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Fabrik Hostel Kreuzberg Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing