We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but frayed around the edges”
Review of Mark Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mark Apart Hotel
Ranked #433 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location but frayed around the edges”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I wouldn't call this a budget hotel based on what we were charged. The location is good - 1 block from the Ku'Damm & Uhlandstr. U-bahn station - and the hotel was reasonably clean. The breakfast was good. But that's about all I can say. The hotel seemed run down & frayed around the edges. Room cleaning was sloppy and did not replace dirty glasses or paper products that were gone. Towels were frayed & thin, and there were no complementary toiletries. The front desk clerks were apathetic and uninterested in helping us print out airline boarding passes. There was a charge for internet, though prices seemed to be negotiable. My understanding is that this hotel is in transition to new management. I hope they can infuse some fresh blood into this tired hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    298
    254
    123
    75
See reviews for
173
341
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a last minute reservation made through Venere, 2 hours later arrived at hotel and the
girl at the reception insisted there was no reservation, finally looked it up in her internet and found it. Checked into the room and found a heavily stained carpet in room 507.
Also the pillows were were high and not fluffy.. - since I had surgery some time ago, I need very
flat pillows - for the first time did not transport my own -
I went to the Girl at the Reception again and ask for a flatter pillow.
The answer was evasive by just saying no we don;t have that.
Desperate I searched myself and found the service door of the maids open where several flat pillows were stored.
I served myself to one and had resolved my problem to prevent headache in the morning.

Location is nice, One block behind Kurfuerstendamm and nice restaurants are nearby.
Discovered a fine Italian Restaurant with opera back ground musice and exquisite cuisine.
Young Owner Nello and his godfather "Papa" really offer a great treat.
Ristorante Da Papa', Uhlandstrasse 29, 10719 Berlin

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRodolphe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Ideally located in the Western area of Berlin. Close by to the Zoo and all rail/tram/bus connections. Various places to eat within the proximity of the Hotel (although a bit pricey due to its location/area of the affluent part of Berlin). Room was large with a lovely balcony, quite a bit of road noise but only with the window open. Didn't have breakfast as it seemed over priced, but found various cafe's within the area. Staff were really helpful. Room next to reception for baggage on day of departure was sufficient but not secure.
Only dissapointment was not having kettle/drinks service in the room.

Room Tip: Near to all stations 10minutes. Near to Zoo. Buying a multi Berlin pass (rail/tram/bus) is highly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

PROS.

1.Location is easily accessible either by bus or subway. Excellent location as it is near to one of the most central station in Berlin.

2. Room is big, modern, excellent condition.We got more space than we bargained for.There was another small room with double bed inside our room. Therefore, it was one of the most spacious room i have encountered compared to other places i have visited in Europe.

3. Service was very good. Front desk staff always helpful. You can ask them anything and they even help to print the best transportation schedule that meet your travel plan.

CONS

1. It was early summer, at times, it can be pretty hot inside the room.

2. The internet/wifi is not free and have to pay per hour.The rate is quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutemadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

At it's price you imagine that it is quite far out, however it is very central. The metro is 2 mins walk and the hotel is situated just off of the main shopping road/district. Furthermore it was only a cheap 20min taxi ride to both Tegel airport and Berlin Hbf. The rooms are clean and well equipped and the balcony makes a nice addition. Particularly, as we experienced 30 degrees everyday. The staff are lovely and spoke perfect english. The only thing is breakfast is quite expensive, but the supermarket behind the hotel can equip you and there are numerous cafes in the immediate area. So yes would definitely use again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah-W-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The room was clean and modern with a good quality bathroom, but no space to speak of - very compact. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food, but I was impressed with how friendly and welcoming the staff were.

The hotel is in a fairly convenient location too - 5-10 minutes walk to the nearest underground station and then it's only a few more minutes into the heart of the city.

Overall - good value for money taking everything into account, but it might be best to look elsewhere if you want a decent amount of space in your room or if you will have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Location in the center of Berlin just of Ulandstrasse and Ku'damm. I booked the comfort double room and got the smallest double room in history!! It was more or less just the bed and nothing else. But clean and with many channels on tv with a 32" Led-tv!! Well great prices and very clean so what?! Will not stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1globetrotterSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#344 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#363 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Apart Hotel

Property: Mark Apart Hotel
Address: Lietzenburger Str. 82-84, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mark Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Apart Berlin
Berlin Mark Apart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing