We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but the rooms are 'compact'!”
Review of Mark Apart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mark Apart Hotel
Ranked #388 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good, but the rooms are 'compact'!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The room was clean and modern with a good quality bathroom, but no space to speak of - very compact. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food, but I was impressed with how friendly and welcoming the staff were.

The hotel is in a fairly convenient location too - 5-10 minutes walk to the nearest underground station and then it's only a few more minutes into the heart of the city.

Overall - good value for money taking everything into account, but it might be best to look elsewhere if you want a decent amount of space in your room or if you will have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    302
    260
    125
    75
See reviews for
177
346
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Location in the center of Berlin just of Ulandstrasse and Ku'damm. I booked the comfort double room and got the smallest double room in history!! It was more or less just the bed and nothing else. But clean and with many channels on tv with a 32" Led-tv!! Well great prices and very clean so what?! Will not stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1globetrotterSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Location of hotel is great, near to U-ban , Ku'damm and a walking distance to the zoo.
The room is big and clean. Best to have breakfast outside of the hotel in the many cafe located on the way to Ku'damm street.
Its very noisy street just outside of the hotel ,so do not look for a good night sleep:-)
The luggage room could be better organized and locked!

Room Tip: Big room for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallville-NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We only really used the hotel to sleep in after exploring Berlin during the day.
The room we had was very big, with a large bathroom and a balcony which we weren't expecting. It was clean and comfortable. The metro station was very close by and the location of the hotel itself was great - right near the main shopping street.
We didn't book breakfast but when we walked past the breakfast room in the morning it looked very nice - it was quite expensive though which is why we didn't book it.
The wifi was quite expensive as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

+ Things for Mark apart is :
location is great and relaxed - beds are good - bathroom is okay - you could have a balcon - you can smoke in some rooms - they have great family apartment.. go for them for longer stays.

- Things for Mark apart is :
expensive parking 14 eu a night - expensive internet - expensive breakfast 12.50 eu ( walk 100 mtr for great palces - only gerrman tvchannels - no bar or coffeshop after breakfast - the shine up for the hotel made things worse - extreme boring pictures on the wall and the refunished breakfastplace is not and succes.

All in all - I use the be a fan and often visit this well located shoebox of a german hotel - but with the prices for parking - internet - overpriced breakfast buffet - and the fact that theres nothing to do in this hotel - and the reception staff is a bit comsi comsa about things ( and i dont blame them) i must say that there are so many good and much better options around Berlin kurfur area - but the ludvich kirk platz and the hole beutiful relaxed area around charlottenburg is a great and perfect place to wake up and enjoy the soul of old westberlin calmness - come again Mark !

Room Tip: family rooms is great here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viking0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Me and my boyfriend just returned from a trip to Berlin and a stay in this hotel and I'm quite frankly shocked by the experience we had.
When booking the hotel there was no option to be found about larger or smaller rooms, and after seeing the pictures on the website I was pretty certain about what I may be receiving, which is absolutely not what we got.
Our room was the size of a matchbox, with just enough room for the bed & a sink. The room was as wide as a double bed and felt like a prison cell, with the smallest cupboard imaginable, that cut the room in half and made walking past each other in the room or getting changed mostly impossible. Annoyingly, the rooms across the hall were huge.
Not only was the room size disappointing, but many of the features listed on the website for the hotel were not in the room, there was no soap, shampoo or conditioner and even after asking this did not turn up. Futhermore the shower door was broken so water leaked all over the bathroom floor and out into the main bedroom area, making the entire room wet and slippy. We had no kettle service or minibar. And to top it off, housekeeping kept taking our towels (even though we left them in the place that meant they were not to be removed) and then not returning them, so we found after showering, we only had hand towels left.
The breakfast was terribly set up, things ran out if you were not there straight away and were then not replaced at all, at least not if you didn't want to hang around for hours.
The only upside was that the district was lovely, with plenty of restaurants around and a easy close access to the ubahn.
All in all, this hotel was a let down. I feel sorry for others who receive one of these tiny rooms oppose to the large ones. Never again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Terrible dirty view and uncomfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

TXL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The rooms are fairly big but also pretty worn. Stains on the carpet, sofas, and chairs. The bathroom needs an update soon. My mini fridge was disconnected from the power and I learned why after connecting it: it was broken. The beds are the typical set up with two individual beds (twin size) that are simply moved together. Those appear to split in the night though, so be a little careful. All in all it's not too bad for the price but there are better values around.

My worst problem was that the shower head was held in place by a tiny plastic hood. Every time when I turned the water on, the thing snapped and the shower head was all over the place.

Furthermore, the amenities are not provided in individual packaging but as affixed bottles on the wall. Both, the hand wash and shower gel were empty at arrival. I thought they are replaced next day but that did not happen. I called the reception to have that fixed but even on day 3 it was not addressed. I removed the bottles and put them in the bath tub, and voila, they were replaced. Anyway, i ended up with two bottles of hand wash instead of shower gel.

One of the inconveniences was buried deep in their booking system. I was on a consolidators rate booked through my travel agency. I was told at check-in that my breakfast was not included and that I can buy it daily for 12€. I was pretty upset about that because my travel agent usually never misses that. However, at check-out and a closer look taken, it turned out that my breakfast was indeed included in the rate but not explicitly listed. Due to this being on an integrated rate, the hotel was unable to untangle this.

The location of the hotel is pretty good, a short walk (5 minutes) to Ku-Damm and not even 10 to Savignyplatz. A supermarket is located within the same building in a small shopping mall. Public transport is right around the corner, with all: buses, light train (S-Bahn), and metro. There are always cabs queuing up in front of the hotel, even at 4am when I took one to the airport. Very convenient - the cab fare is around 20€ to the airport (TXL).

One hint: This area is served by several outstanding delivery services. The hotel has no issue with letting the delivery guys in, so if you want to have a quiet night this is an option. Walking to one of the very good restaurants on Ku-Damm and vicinity is also an option if you like a little more action.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank super-grobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Berlin Mark Hotel
Berlin Mark Hotel
#354 of 634 in Berlin
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Mercure Hotel Chateau
Mercure Hotel Chateau
#257 of 634 in Berlin
508 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Plaza Hotel
Berlin Plaza Hotel
#273 of 634 in Berlin
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Apart Hotel

Property: Mark Apart Hotel
Address: Lietzenburger Str. 82-84, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Apart Berlin
Berlin Mark Apart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing