We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but boring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #120 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Perfect location, good facilities, good service; this added with the German efficiency and everything seems to be in place, but something is unfortunately missing...In spite of all this the hotel seems to lack character. The rooms are clean, good comfortable bed, flat screen TV naturally), good towels and above all newly renovated. However the interior architect should have but some more character into the room and into the corridors as well. Now they are quite plain and gives a sterile feeling. They've done a better work with the lobby area which is spacious and nicely decorated. The same applies with the restaurant. The personnel at the front desk was very efficient and polite. The breakfast was overwhelming, but didn't include any surprises. Yes, everything around this hotel indicates that the hotel is there for the business people rather then for normal tourists. Yes, I was on a business trip and I was more than satisfied with my stay. However; if I'll be back to Berlin as a tourist, I may consider a hotel with more character.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
There are newer reviews for NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

First we flew into Schonefeld airport and were so happy to find that not only is there an S Bahn station at the airport, but after just one transfer to the U 6, if you take the lift from the station at Mitte you are almost at the front door of the hotel! Yea! Then the rest is magic. It has all been said...great staff, great rooms, great location, AND great prices. Stay here! The restaurant stays open until almost midnight accommodating lazy birds like us. Service with a smile. One of those hotels you want to return to just for the hotel...sure Berlin is nice too!

Room Tip: Dont worry about rooms facing Leipziger Str...you can't hear a thing and more interesting than b...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gourmet2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great service, nice rooms, good breakfast and location!
Coming back for sure.
The short blond girl from the reception was really nice and helpfull. She recommended us what to do, where to go and eat.
Breakfast staff was good as well, making sure there's enough of everything. The cook makes really nce waffels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We (me and my boyfriend) had a very nice weekend stay here in beautiful Berlin. Would recommend to everyone and stay here again. Clean and close to down town area. We went with my boyfriends work. There was free WiFi in the lobby area bar and restaurant at the hotel.Rooms were very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Klara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This large hotel is incredibly well run. Check in is flawless and friendly. The room was spacious, well equipped and clean.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, very expensive, but there are plenty of coffee bars nearby. Or alternatively it's easy enough to buy some stuff from the supermarket which is just down the road.
Location, as mentioned in previous reviews, is perfect.
Would recommend hiring a bike to see the city. ( but not from the hotel as €15 a day and €10 everywhere else)
Drinks at hotel bar overpriced and to be avoided for that reason. €11.50 for a glass of wine and an apple juice is rediculous.
But we had a great stay at the NH Berlin Mitte!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Liesbeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

NH berlin Mitte is a clean, modern hotel with sufficient wifi. Location is obviously the hotels main attraction, as it is a mere 10 minute walk to Potsdamer Platz and Checkpoint Charlie, and 20 minutes from Alexandra Platz.
We didn't eat breakfast as the cost was too expensive for a basic range of continental and some cooked foods.
During our stay, we found it a struggle looking for nearby restaurants to eat. The hotels own restaurant menu was simple and overpriced, and we found ourselves walking to Potsdamer platz etc. for food.
However, there is a useful supermarket a couple doors down from the hotel.

As a group of three 20 year old girls, we noticed the majority of guests to be older or on business trips. We gained a few stares as we ventured off on nights out to the East strip of Berlin, so I wouldn't recommend if you are young and wanting Berlin's famous nightlife.
Overall, the hotel was a pleasant stay and staff helped with any difficulties we had (like the young woman who helped us fix our safe box)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Travellers116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely! Located in a central location this hotel was close to everything! The rooms are very spacious and pristinely clean and are fitted with everything you could need and want; air con, warm blankets, large tv, minibar, big bathroom etc. The staff were also nice and helpful :).
The only downside that we had was that the kettle was mouldy on the inside, and therefore we didn't use it. But that is a minor thing in otherwise a wonderful stay!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bwad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#81 of 635 in Berlin
1,859 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#76 of 635 in Berlin
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Leipziger Str. 106-111 | Mitte, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Formerly NH Berlin Mitte Leipziger Strasse)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in Berlin
#38 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#41 Business Hotel in Berlin
#49 Family Hotel in Berlin
#90 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#90 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $101 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie is a superior four-star hotel located right in the heart of Germany's capital city and near historical sites such as Potsdamer Platz, Friedrichstrasse and Checkpoint Charlie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Berlin Mitte Hotel Berlin
Nh Hotel Berlin Mitte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing