We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East
Ranked #241 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Travelled as part of group - not the best of locations, but sufficient for an overnight stay. Good breakfast, but evening meal not up to much, especially as a vegetarian - all the ever seem to offer is fish!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Christine, Thank you very much for your review. We hope, that you had a great time in Berlin. Perfect, that you had a good start in the day with our breakfast buffet. When you have special wishes, please speak with our colleagues from the service. Maybe they can help you.. When you visit Berlin the next time we would be delighted to have you as a guest soon. Best greetings your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    399
    274
    73
    42
See reviews for
144
360
49
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The breakfast was good but not worth a positive review. The staff is cold and unwelcoming. I never felt comfortable even though we were paying to stay there. There is no air conditioning and it was hot and humid when we visited (not even a fan). The only ventilation we had was a window that tilted open, not nearly enough for air to come through. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were flat. Their wifi never worked in the room, only in the lobby. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Cristina,Thank you very much for your review. Your Feedback is very important. We are sorry, that you don't felt comfortable with us. We want to apologize, that you don't felt welcome. Service is very important for us and we will speak with the different departments to improve our customer satisfaction. You are right, that we don´t have airconditions in the rooms. The guest can open the windows, but by very hot weather, sure it is quite hot. We are very sorry, that your bed was uncomfortable and the pillows was to flat. Please inform the next time our colleagues at the reception. They can bring you others or more pillows to your room. We want to apologize for all the inconvenience you had. We hope that you give us another chance to show you our improvments. Best greetings your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

On a recent trip here for my birthday i was unimpressed with my hotel choice.

First problem is finding it. I googled it before to get us in the right area but the only sign for it is on the actual road so its kind of redundant.

When we arrived at the reception the staff were cold, unwelcoming and didn't seem as though they really wanted to help. so i took my room key and headed upstairs.

The room was very nice,clean and spacious. i couldn't fault the up keeping just the staff that were responsible for it.

We decided to get a bite to eat in the bar where the staff were ok but again quite cold.

The only saving grace was the evening bar staff who in comparison were friendly and chatty.

In the morning we asked to have breakfast charged to our room and proceeded to the dining area only to find that a horde of travelling americans had polished of everything available.

At no point did replacements seem forthcoming so i asked for the charge to be cancelled and we headed into town.

However when we came to check out they tried to bill me for the breakfast we never had, and had a terrible attitude when i tried to tell them we'd never received it.

If your looking for a cheap hotel out the way its a great choice. But if like me you dislike the feeling that by being there your a nuisance and an inconvenience id steer clear.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sidster-CFC, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to read, that you had problems to find our hotel. We want to apologize the reaction from our colleagues at the reception. We want that all our guest will feel welcome. We are happy to read, that you liked your room and felt comfortable there. We hope that you had a good time in the evening at our new renovated bar. We want also to apologize the misunderstanding by the check out about the breakfast reservation. We hope you sold the problem with your bill. Hopefully we can welcome you soon again. Best greetings your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City East Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Let me start with the positives. The breakfast is amazing, really good selection of food and lots of vegetarian options. The coffee is fantastic.

The rooms are clean and nice, the shower is great and the beds are comfortable. Most of the front desk staff are polite and helpful.

Now the issues:

The internet is free in the lobby and about five euros to use in your room for 24 hours. This was not a problem for me; the problem was that on the second day, the hotel ran out of the cards you have to buy to get on the internet. If you aren't going offer free internet, you can't let that happen. It's unacceptable. And the front desk telling one of my students to "go away" when she asked if the cards would be restocked later that day was also unacceptable.

Other reviews have mentioned the street noise, and I live on a busy street so that wasn't really a problem for me. The problem I had was that the curtains filter out very little light, and I need to sleep in a dark room. If you are also like that, bring a sleep mask.

The location is good, but we came on a bus from the airport. The walk to the S-bahn isn't terrible, but it would suck to do it with luggage.

Room Tip: Bring a sleep mask if you need a dark room in which to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessLeppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear PrincessLeppard, Thank you very much for your report about your stay in our hotel. We are happy to read, that you liked our breakfast buffet and the coffee. So for sure you had a good start in the day. Great, that you felt comfortable in your room and had a good sleep. We want to apologize the situation with the cards for using the internet. You are totally right, that is unacceptable to tell to one guest to go away when they had a question or a problem. We will forward your review to the reception manager. We are sorry for it and we hope you accepted our apology. We hope that we can welcome you again that w can show you our improvements. Best greetings your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City East Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

if you don t mind the location, the hotel is situated in an unattractive old east berlin neighborhood, you will not regret. the breakfast is great, the service as well. internet connection could be better. if you have a car, car parking at the hotel, it is easy to find into town. good value!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolingbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Dear Traveler, Thank you very much for your review. You are right, the hotel is not in the center of Berlin, but with a car or with the public transportation you reach fast and easy different places from the city. The parking in front of our hotel is for our guest free of charge. We hope, that you had a great time in Berlin, and we hope that we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Best greetings your Tanja Nast vom Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I booked this hotel from hotwire.com because it offers free parking, free wife, and attracting price. Free wifi is only available at the lobby area. Lobby & hallway look dated but the room we got was clean, nice, and spacious, A supermarket is across from the hotel which is very convenient. Free parking space outside the hotel (on property & street) is available but filled quickly after 6 pm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank expedition14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Traveller,
Thank you very much for your positive review at TripAdvisor. We hope that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay. Great, that you got a good offer and that you liked the value for money. We offer our guest how arrive with there car a free parking place in front our hotel. But also close by you normally always will find free places. The best way to explore Berlin is with the public transportation. In about 20 minutes you reach the Alexanderplatz. We hope that you have seen a lot of interesting places from the city and had a great time. We are happy to read, that you liked your room and that you felt comfortable there. When you visit Berlin the next time we would be delighted to have you as a guest again. Best greetings your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Although the rooms are spacious and clean, they looked worn and rough. Stay here if you want to go on the cheap, but be prepared to walk a mile or more to the nearest metro stop, as the hotel is set far out of the center. I give it points for a decent bar, a small but nice lobby, comfy pillows and a convenience store across the street (only takes euros-no cards). Breakfast was so-so.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIBCE, Guest Relations Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Pixie90,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a feedback about your stay. Great, that you liked your spacious and clean room. The best way to explore Berlin is with the public transportation. In about 20 minutes you reach the Alexanderplatz. The underground station is 800m away from the hotel. But also close by you have one bus stop and also the tram station. We hope that you have seen a lot of interesting places from the city and had a great time. We are happy to read, that you liked our bar. We just renovated the bar and the lobby. Close by the hotel you can find a restaurant and some supermarkets. We hope that you had a fantastic time in Berlin and we hope that we can welcome you again on your next trip to Berlin. Best greetings your Tryp by Wyndham Berlin City East Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
City Hotel Berlin East
City Hotel Berlin East
#286 of 634 in Berlin
1,998 reviews
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#375 of 634 in Berlin
296 reviews
Lichtenberg
NH Berlin City Ost
NH Berlin City Ost
#127 of 634 in Berlin
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Berlin West
#252 of 634 in Berlin
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East

Property: TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East
Address: Ruschestr. 45, 10367 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand City Hotel Globus Berlin)
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Ramada
Ramada Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing