We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East
Ranked #239 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel looks quite oppressive when you first drive up. However, once you get inside its a different story, nice reception area, friendly and helpful staff, good bar and restaurant and decent rooms.
It's relatively easy to travel into the centre of Berlin, it's around a 800m walk to the train but then it's only a 10 min journey and the trains are very regular, so not a problem.

We ate in the hotel the first night we were there and the food is very good. The staff speak better English than I do German so that was helpful. No complaints at all, the reception staff were great for example I'd forgotten to print off a e-ticket, so we just emailed it to reception and they printed it off for us. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fourtyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    410
    284
    74
    43
See reviews for
149
370
52
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vila Real, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the price, and it was a really good choice. We got a clean spacious double room for a price we could hardly get in a hostel in Berlin. We basically needed a place to leave our stuff, take a shower and sleep overnight, this is what we got, in good quality. There is also a bar and a restaurant, but we didn`t use them. We also found the staff very helpful and polite. There is a free wifi at the reception, but this was not very reliable.
As to the location, of course this hotel is NOT directly in the city centre, but in a quiet suburb neighbourhood. Public transport in Berlin is excellent, so You can get to the centre within 30 min, approximately. Travelling by U-Bahn or S-Bahn is part of the experience of being in Berlin, so we actually liked it. There is a supermarket just in front of the hotel.
For people who expect a hotel to be situated in a fancy building, it is perhaps important to note that this building actually seems to be an ex-block of small flats or workers`s housing or something similar, and there is another same block just a few meters from the hotel. We didn`t mind at all. From inside, the building is completely reconstructed and adapted to serve as a hotel.
We will stay again if we visit Berlin in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SlavomiraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel, and the rooms was a good size and clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent and always with enough food. The staff was not that serviceminded both in the breakfast-room and reception, and they seemed a bit stressed or something and didnt went that extra mile to serve you with information in recpetion in daytime - night time the office clerk was superb.
There was free parking place and free wifi in recpetion area (When it was working!), but at room the wifi cost a high price. No minibar at the room.
The surroundings was in a safe neigbourhood, and there was some supermarkets just outside the door. In the same street as the hotel, the Stasi museum is placed (Old Stasi headquater).
It is a 15 minutes walk (approx. 1 km) to the nearst U-bahn station, and that went directly to the Alexander Platz in the center of Berlin in only 10-15 minutes. We think the location was good and quiet, but lack of restaurants (You can dine at the hotel but we didnt).
Berlin is a wonderful city with a good and effectively transportation system, and we would recommend to buy the 1 day ticket for Euro 6.80 which gives you free transpotation (U bahn, bus and Tram) in the zones A+B which is plenty for sightseeing in Berlin. And if you stay for more than one day do your self the favour to take one of the sightseeing busses which goes around in most of Berlin, and then visit museums afterwards (Prices from Euro 10--> for a one day ticket).
Next time we go to Berlin we will for sure consider using the Grand City Hotel Globus again.
TIP: Remember to visit the restaurant "The Bird". Europes best burgers and fries!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kensa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel is situated not far away from former East Berlin centre and Alexanderplatz. About 10 minute walk from the subway station Magdalenenplatz (U5). Directly next to the hotel you can find some supermarkets for food and drinks. During night sleep quality is excellent. The room was clean and all towels were changed every day. I would recommend the hotel because of the very price-value-ratio and for last minute trips to Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank BerlinFan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed for a convention, was looking for a basic hotel since I only needed a place to sleep and a decent breakfast. This hotel does the job, don't expect much luxury, but for a bed and breakfast it's doing fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The service was great, the rooms were clean. The only downside is that it's a little out of the city. The metro is about a 10 minute walk away though so it makes up for it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Lichtenberg
City Hotel Berlin East
City Hotel Berlin East
#293 of 634 in Berlin
2,067 reviews
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#365 of 634 in Berlin
299 reviews
Lichtenberg
NH Berlin City Ost
NH Berlin City Ost
#116 of 634 in Berlin
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Best Western Hotel City Ost
Buckow
AZIMUT Hotel City South Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East

Property: TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East
Address: Ruschestr. 45, 10367 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand City Hotel Globus Berlin)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Berlin City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Ramada
Ramada Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing