We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,532)
Filter reviews
3,533 results
Traveler rating
2,084
1,256
152
25
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,084
1,256
152
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews checkpoint charlie privilege suite family suite check point charlie great hotel quiet street separate toilet coffee machine around the corner huge room within walking distance excellent location sitting area shower room small balcony two blocks euros per person
Filter
Updating list...
1,690 - 1,695 of 3,533 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Impossible to fault anything about this hotel. I travel a lot in Europe and stay in all types of hotels but this has definitely been one of the best. On arrival I was greeted by friendly and helpful staff and was advised that my room had been upgraded from a "Superior room" to an "Appartment". This was a surprise to say the least and a fantastic size room with its own lounge, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, breakout area with desk, balcony with table and chairs and king-size bed. Excellent facilities at the hotel - wi-fi was available in the room for 7 Euros a day or you could use the computer in the reception area for free. Breakfast was included in my deal so not sure how much it would have been seperately but its buffet style and you can choose from cereal, yoghurts, fruit, bread, cold meats, jams, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, pancakes and so much more. Hotel was very clean, TV in the bar, I ate in the restaurant only twice during my stay and the food was of good quality and very reasonably priced for a hotel. The location of the hotel is also one of it's important features as it is right in the middle of the city, the nearest underground station is Stadtmitte which translates to "middle of the city"! its on the U2 line which runs central through the city from the Olympic Stadium right across Potsdamer Platz and over to Alexanderplatz and beyond. Perfect in every way and would go back to Berlin tomorrow, and certainly use this hotel for my next stay.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neilmac1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

large rooms, very good furniture, quiet, excellent service,
central location to touristic features, short walk to subway,
free internet access in the lobby.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Summary :
Great staff
Large room
Excellent location
Spotlessly clean
Superb food and drinks from the Checkpoint Bar

Stayed midweek from 10th to 14th August.

Late flights via Ryan Air from EMA meant by the time our taxi from Schönefeld (35 Euro) arrived at the hotel it was almost 11pm, yet there was a welcoming hello and smile from the reception desk.
Each and everytime we walked either into or out of reception there was a friendly "hello!" from whoever was manning the desk.

Our double room (#214) on the 2nd floor was very spacious, consisting of bult in double waredrobe [inc safe] with vanity mirror and desk, table and three chairs, 26" CRT TV, air con, a second vanity mirror, fridge with mini-bar and bathroom with walk in combi shower et al.
Throughout our stay we didn't hear a noise from any adjacent rooms, except once or twice the sound of a door being closed. As the hotel itself was so quiet, we became very conscious of not allowing our hotel room door to close on it's own as it would make a loud clunk.
House keeping happened every day with fresh towels and bed linen.

The hotel location is excellent for Checkpoint Charlie and other Berlin wall exhibits; literally a two minutes walk, as is Stadtmitte U-Bahn station and a Kaisers supermarket.
Other Berlin tourist sites like the Tiergarten, Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag are about a twenty minute walk up Friedrichstraße which is [I believe] one of the main shopping streets in Berlin.
There are also several good restaurants in the immediate area.

The Checkpoint Bar serves a wide variety of drinks and a small selection of hot and cold food and as expected, both the food and drink and the bar staff were excellent.

Cabled internet is available in your room for a fee, however wireless is free in the bar and reception areas.

To conclude I would have no hesitation in staying again at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Checkpoint Charlie and would recommend this great hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JROB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

good location, kind staff, very clean...
and an amazing Berlin!

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azzurraG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Very nice hotel conveniently located to tourist sites and UBahn. Terrific breakfast included and clean, basic rooms. Very quiet neighborhood at night. Everything closed around 8pm. We especially want to thank Daniela at the front desk for being such a big help. Got a great "Sommer" deal by doing a bank transfer instead of a credit card. Saved about euro 356 for a week's stay on 2 rooms over any other price on the internet.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanInHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews