We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #32 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We had booked this hotel many months ago but on arrival were met by the Office Assistant who explained that they had not been able to collect the money or contact us and that they had no rooms available for the first night of three - that was the bad news. However, they had arranged, at the same bargain rate as the time we booked, a night in a comparable 4* hotel (which was fine), a complimentary taxi ride to get there and a choice of returning to this hotel or staying at the alternative. We returned because of its location and were given an upgrade to a suite type room. For a problem that was, to be fair, mostly ours, the hotel could not have been more helpful - a superb example of customer care. The location is great for sightseeing with a U-Bahn station round the corner and it's on a quiet street. The room was very good although beginning to get to a point where redecoration might be required - a minor point. All the staff were so helpful and friendly and particularly Thorsten who did such a good job of working around the problem. Well done.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dodgychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,570 - 1,576 of 3,309 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2009

Impossible to fault anything about this hotel. I travel a lot in Europe and stay in all types of hotels but this has definitely been one of the best. On arrival I was greeted by friendly and helpful staff and was advised that my room had been upgraded from a "Superior room" to an "Appartment". This was a surprise to say the least and a fantastic size room with its own lounge, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, breakout area with desk, balcony with table and chairs and king-size bed. Excellent facilities at the hotel - wi-fi was available in the room for 7 Euros a day or you could use the computer in the reception area for free. Breakfast was included in my deal so not sure how much it would have been seperately but its buffet style and you can choose from cereal, yoghurts, fruit, bread, cold meats, jams, scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, pancakes and so much more. Hotel was very clean, TV in the bar, I ate in the restaurant only twice during my stay and the food was of good quality and very reasonably priced for a hotel. The location of the hotel is also one of it's important features as it is right in the middle of the city, the nearest underground station is Stadtmitte which translates to "middle of the city"! its on the U2 line which runs central through the city from the Olympic Stadium right across Potsdamer Platz and over to Alexanderplatz and beyond. Perfect in every way and would go back to Berlin tomorrow, and certainly use this hotel for my next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neilmac1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

large rooms, very good furniture, quiet, excellent service,
central location to touristic features, short walk to subway,
free internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Summary :
Great staff
Large room
Excellent location
Spotlessly clean
Superb food and drinks from the Checkpoint Bar

Stayed midweek from 10th to 14th August.

Late flights via Ryan Air from EMA meant by the time our taxi from Schönefeld (35 Euro) arrived at the hotel it was almost 11pm, yet there was a welcoming hello and smile from the reception desk.
Each and everytime we walked either into or out of reception there was a friendly "hello!" from whoever was manning the desk.

Our double room (#214) on the 2nd floor was very spacious, consisting of bult in double waredrobe [inc safe] with vanity mirror and desk, table and three chairs, 26" CRT TV, air con, a second vanity mirror, fridge with mini-bar and bathroom with walk in combi shower et al.
Throughout our stay we didn't hear a noise from any adjacent rooms, except once or twice the sound of a door being closed. As the hotel itself was so quiet, we became very conscious of not allowing our hotel room door to close on it's own as it would make a loud clunk.
House keeping happened every day with fresh towels and bed linen.

The hotel location is excellent for Checkpoint Charlie and other Berlin wall exhibits; literally a two minutes walk, as is Stadtmitte U-Bahn station and a Kaisers supermarket.
Other Berlin tourist sites like the Tiergarten, Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag are about a twenty minute walk up Friedrichstraße which is [I believe] one of the main shopping streets in Berlin.
There are also several good restaurants in the immediate area.

The Checkpoint Bar serves a wide variety of drinks and a small selection of hot and cold food and as expected, both the food and drink and the bar staff were excellent.

Cabled internet is available in your room for a fee, however wireless is free in the bar and reception areas.

To conclude I would have no hesitation in staying again at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Checkpoint Charlie and would recommend this great hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JROB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

good location, kind staff, very clean...
and an amazing Berlin!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azzurraG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Very nice hotel conveniently located to tourist sites and UBahn. Terrific breakfast included and clean, basic rooms. Very quiet neighborhood at night. Everything closed around 8pm. We especially want to thank Daniela at the front desk for being such a big help. Got a great "Sommer" deal by doing a bank transfer instead of a credit card. Saved about euro 356 for a week's stay on 2 rooms over any other price on the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanInHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Visited with a friend and her 13 year old son recently and found both the accomodations and the staff outstanding. I usuall y stay at top five star hotels, and this came close in every way. EXCELLENT location for a tourist. Walking distance to may sights including the Jewish Museum, the Gropius, and Gedarmenmart [sp?] as well as Checkpoint Charlie. Close to a very convenient U Bahn stop....a short direct ride to KaDeWe and a walking distance to Gallerie Lafayette.

While the rooms are not overly stylish, they are very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a suite with and adjoining LARGE room which I highly recommend for a family group. This is not a hotel with excelptional charm or character, but it is certainly a very comfortable place to stay if you are sighseeing or visiting friends in Berlin.

Be sure to book with included breakfast. It is worth every Euro....and more. The food is top quality and the variety unending. Many nights we skipped dinner because we'd eaten our fill in the morning.

The staff all speak excellent English and are very helpful. In particular, we want to thank Danielle, who treated us as though we were family who'd come to see her.

Don't let the value price fool you. This hotel is a real find.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#87 of 634 in Berlin
2,918 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#26 of 634 in Berlin
5,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $90 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing