We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,496)
Filter reviews
3,496 results
Traveler rating
2,059
1,245
152
24
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,059
1,245
152
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheckpoint charlieprivilege suitefamily suitecheck point charliegreat hotelquiet streetseparate toiletcoffee machinearound the cornerhuge roomwithin walking distanceexcellent locationunter den lindensitting areashower roomsuperior roomsmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
1,672 - 1,677 of 3,496 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Summary :
Great staff
Large room
Excellent location
Spotlessly clean
Superb food and drinks from the Checkpoint Bar

Stayed midweek from 10th to 14th August.

Late flights via Ryan Air from EMA meant by the time our taxi from Schönefeld (35 Euro) arrived at the hotel it was almost 11pm, yet there was a welcoming hello and smile from the reception desk.
Each and everytime we walked either into or out of reception there was a friendly "hello!" from whoever was manning the desk.

Our double room (#214) on the 2nd floor was very spacious, consisting of bult in double waredrobe [inc safe] with vanity mirror and desk, table and three chairs, 26" CRT TV, air con, a second vanity mirror, fridge with mini-bar and bathroom with walk in combi shower et al.
Throughout our stay we didn't hear a noise from any adjacent rooms, except once or twice the sound of a door being closed. As the hotel itself was so quiet, we became very conscious of not allowing our hotel room door to close on it's own as it would make a loud clunk.
House keeping happened every day with fresh towels and bed linen.

The hotel location is excellent for Checkpoint Charlie and other Berlin wall exhibits; literally a two minutes walk, as is Stadtmitte U-Bahn station and a Kaisers supermarket.
Other Berlin tourist sites like the Tiergarten, Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag are about a twenty minute walk up Friedrichstraße which is [I believe] one of the main shopping streets in Berlin.
There are also several good restaurants in the immediate area.

The Checkpoint Bar serves a wide variety of drinks and a small selection of hot and cold food and as expected, both the food and drink and the bar staff were excellent.

Cabled internet is available in your room for a fee, however wireless is free in the bar and reception areas.

To conclude I would have no hesitation in staying again at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Checkpoint Charlie and would recommend this great hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JROB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

good location, kind staff, very clean...
and an amazing Berlin!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azzurraG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Very nice hotel conveniently located to tourist sites and UBahn. Terrific breakfast included and clean, basic rooms. Very quiet neighborhood at night. Everything closed around 8pm. We especially want to thank Daniela at the front desk for being such a big help. Got a great "Sommer" deal by doing a bank transfer instead of a credit card. Saved about euro 356 for a week's stay on 2 rooms over any other price on the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanInHeidelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Visited with a friend and her 13 year old son recently and found both the accomodations and the staff outstanding. I usuall y stay at top five star hotels, and this came close in every way. EXCELLENT location for a tourist. Walking distance to may sights including the Jewish Museum, the Gropius, and Gedarmenmart [sp?] as well as Checkpoint Charlie. Close to a very convenient U Bahn stop....a short direct ride to KaDeWe and a walking distance to Gallerie Lafayette.

While the rooms are not overly stylish, they are very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a suite with and adjoining LARGE room which I highly recommend for a family group. This is not a hotel with excelptional charm or character, but it is certainly a very comfortable place to stay if you are sighseeing or visiting friends in Berlin.

Be sure to book with included breakfast. It is worth every Euro....and more. The food is top quality and the variety unending. Many nights we skipped dinner because we'd eaten our fill in the morning.

The staff all speak excellent English and are very helpful. In particular, we want to thank Danielle, who treated us as though we were family who'd come to see her.

Don't let the value price fool you. This hotel is a real find.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Modern comfortable hotel in a great area of Berlin. Clean comfortable room with a/c; loads of space; helpful staff. hotel is a short walk from two different u-bahn stations, a number of restaurants, and many of the historical sights. Great location - great experience. First time in Berlin - we may return and will likely stay at the Mercure again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenixflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews