We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #33 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
1 review
“Excellent hotel in a great area”
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I stayed in this hotel just for one night but it was great and relaxing stay. The stuff is extremey friendly and helpful. I also used the room service and enjoyed great tuna salad in my room. The room was really spacy and clean and very quiet but without some specific or unforgivable atmosphere. The location was very conveniet, just few steps from Check Point Charlie and Friedrichstrasse full of shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel and for sure come back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,853
    1,155
    136
    21
    15
See reviews for
816
1,126
334
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Having read the other reviews I would like to concur with the opinions offered.
The hotel is roomy and clean, great central location, very friendly staff, great breakfast and poor wireless internet access.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fearmór
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Used Tripadvisor to identify hotel. Having read the reviews, decided to book a suite for three. Despite continual glitches with an independent minded electronic room key, finally got access to the room, which while not quite what I expected worked out perfectly for us. We had a large double bedroom, and the additional bed had been put in the 'living room' (which was about half the size of the double bedroom). The staff could not have been more helpful, guiding us to a local bakery where we chose breakfast breads one morning (they then comped us butter, jam and silverware because they felt we should not eat dry bread). They also recommended terrific restaurants. And the price was definitely right. If you are looking for an affordable but good quality place to stay in Berlin Mitte, you would be hard pressed to do better than this. Easy 10 minute walk to Checkpoint Charlie; 15-20 minute walk to Unter den Linden. The front desk will call you a cab, if you prefer, which in our case turned up 3 minues later as promised.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World-Traveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights via their online advertised "Romance Package". It was a GREAT top floor suite with roses, wine and dessert included in the room. Breakfast for two in the restaurant on the 1st floor was also included, and all this for less than what a "standard" room without these amenities was going for. Exceptionally clean and very quiet room, great spread for breakfast and VERY FRIENDLY staff. Location is around the corner from Checkpoint Charlie and lots of shopping. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and were really impressed with it. The rooms are nice and clean, modern. Location is a couple minutes walk from Checkpoint Charlie and close to the main sights in Berlin. It was extremely convenient.

Breakfast was nice, but a bit on the expensive side (18 euro pp). We had one day with breakfast included but other 2 nights we paid. There was a nice selection for breakfast though and very satisfying.

I cannot fault it and our stay was really enjoyable. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_ekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I just want to add my voice to the many others congratulating the Mercure. Everything about this hotel is top notch.
I have stayed in both the Ritz Carlton and Westin Grand previously but now use the Mercure out of choice.
Staff are excellent.
I also recelthy used it for a business meeting and everything was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celticjo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed 2 nights there for my wife's birthday in early May. The hotel is very well located, next to 2 subway stations that allow to reach easily any point within the city. The staff is helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet is generous. The room in itself had nothing so special that could make it unforgettable, but was quite spacious, very clean and furthermore very quite. We slept well during the 2 nights we spent there. We arrived a little bit early -around noon- so the room was not ready yet. We left our luggage without any problem and were given a receipt for them. We asked the staff for tips and recommandations for the day. Once back at the hotel (after diner), they accompanied us to the room to bring the luggage and ensure every was fine.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCG_92160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#15 of 634 in Berlin
823 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#81 of 634 in Berlin
2,774 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#30 of 634 in Berlin
4,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing