We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #34 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2009

I chose this hotel as a result of the reviews on Tripadvisor and was again delighted that I had. It is very easy to access from the Schonfield Airport, though the local metro station has a lot of exits, some closer than others. Round the corner from Checkpoint Charlie, it is a modern business style hotel. The room service, though not extensive, is excellent value. There is a lovely Italian Restaurant locally The Lungmare Trattoria - we ate there twice in three days. There was limited availability of reasonable restaurants that suited teenagers so we were happy to find this. The junior suite had 2 good size bedrooms and was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,665 - 1,671 of 3,285 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2009

We booked this hotel based on recommendations made here at Trip Advisor and am very happy to confirm that they were true! This is a very good hotel indeed.

Hotel service was very friendly, efficient and faultless. Front desk was especially good, arranging a lovely night out for us at the Berlin Philharmonic. All the staff in the hotel seemed happy and made us feel welcome.

The double room was large, clean, modern with a powerful shower. Hotel was ideally located if you are interested in seeing Checkpoint Charlie and the other major central sites of Berlin. We did however think that there was not a profusion of places to eat nearby.

We paid for the weekend package including the buffet breakfast - which had plenty of choice, from multiple choices of bread and rolls, cereals, cakes, bacon, eggs, jams even spring rolls and bio-yogurt drinks. The dining room was quite classy with quiet classical music playing in the background - provided a perfect start to the day.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ln9tjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

This must rate as one of the best hotels I've stayed in. For a very reasonable price I had a huge room, very good breakfast and pleasant, friendly service. I wish there were more hotels like this one. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldpapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Have just returned from 2 night stay in the Mercure Hotel Checkpoint Charlie and would definitely recommend it. We had a large double suite with separate bathroom - very large, bath plus shower, under floor heating - and separate toilet. The two double rooms were very spacious and perfect for 4 adults. The decor is basic and functional but we were really impressed by the cleaniness of the whole hotel. Staff were friendly and the food was good. The buffet breakfast is a little pricey at 18 euro but the selection was great so if you like to fill up in the mornings then it is well worth the price! They also serve breakfast until 11.30 am at weekends.

The location was really good too. Just minutes from checkpoint charlie. We were able to walk to many of the sights within 30 mins (Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag, Jewish Memorial, Berliner Dom) and took a bus tour from outside the checkpoint charlie haus museum which covered other areas of the city.


I would

Stayed: March 2009
Thank dubally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Location is great. very clean and quiet. large rooms and nice staff. Great service, above all the shuttle to the fair ground.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missfefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed in this hotel last week and were very pleased with the roominess and cleanliness. Well located near Checkpoint Charlie and subway stops. Also within blocks of Unter din linden which we walked to several times. Value for hotel is good. Breakfast is definitely overpriced at about 13 Euros per person with the selection of food being very limited. I'd skip that. Other than the breakfast, everything else was great. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

The room were very spacious and bathrooms had heated towel racks and heated floor.
Room service food simple but vey good value. They even do a takeaway lunch pack
for 3.5 Euro of roll, drink and piece of fruit.
Location was excellent just on the old east/west Berlin border around the corner from Checkpoint Charlie. Recommend the Checkpoint Charlie Haus for great exhibits and information about escapes and the cold war.
Don't bother though with the 18 Euro breakfast unless you are happy to pay that as there are
plenty of cheap breakfast deals at coffee shops nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#80 of 633 in Berlin
2,901 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#27 of 633 in Berlin
5,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
1,918 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#31 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $90 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing