We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #34 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

Our stay at this hotel was just a complete pleasure, in large part due to the fantastic staff. We arrive very late one Friday night but the receptionists we bright and cheery and immediately upgraded us to an appartment when they heard that it was our first trip to Berlin. They also happily looked after our bags on Sunday after we checked out and were really helpful in ordering taxi's, etc. I know one comes to expect these sorts of things but it is so nice when the service is delivered quickly, without fuss and with a smile.

The appartment was spacious and comfortable without being indulgent - probably more of a business class hotel rather than a romantic botique.

It is, however, seriously well located, perhaps 5 minutes quick walk from Unter Dem Linden, the Sony centre or Potsdammer Platz.

Only two negative things I would note are:

1) The hotel itself is stylish and easy to spot but there are a couple of "massage parlours" on the same road which is a little seedy (quite funny to sit and watch the men going in for a "massage" at 11 PM on a Saturday night though!!).

2) Breakfast is in buffet form, which I'm sure is fantastic but at €18 Euros is a little steep in a city where things are, for Europe, pretty cheap.

As I'm not bothered by either of the above it's another 5 star review!

  • Liked — Fantastic staff
  • Disliked — Slightly seedy location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,752
    1,107
    131
    19
    14
See reviews for
764
1,078
329
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2008

This hotel is very well positioned in Berlin next to Friedrichstrass. It's a few minutes walk from Checkpoint Charlie, and about five minutes walk from at one underground station, less than ten minutes from a different station on a different line.

The room itself was comfortable and big.

The staff in the hotel are helpful, friendly and can't do enough to help. The staff really are a credit to the hotel.

We would stay here again.

  • Liked — The location and the staff.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

Large room. Clean. Modern decor. Great staff. Perfect location for sight seeing. Reasonable price. Can't ask for any more than that.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2008

I stayed at the Mercure for business and was very pleasantly surprised by my stay.

My room as unusually large by European standards. The bathroom and the shower room were separate, quite convenient when sharing the room with someone. And I was pleasantly surprise in the morning to find that the towel warmer also triggered some sort of floor warmer which kept my toes nice and toasty come the morning.

With this said, I would not qualify the standards as four star. I think it's an exceptiona 3-star, but as a 4 star it's merely average at best. If you are looking for value and location, look not further, but don't expect luxury.

Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_Sz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
157 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

The hotel has a convenient location, just off Friedrichstrasse which is the main shopping street in the centre of Berlin. The hotel is midsize, and combines some features of a big hotel (such as wireless internet in most rooms and a rather big and nice lounge) with some features of a small hotel (notably the bar is tiny and the breakfast room not impressive).

The hotel rooms are remarkably spacious, with large windows in most rooms which makes them very light. The size of the room allows such things as placing the desk and tv set in the middle rather than in a corner, which makes working the room certainly more pleasant and less cramped. The furniture however is a bit dull and IKEA style. In fact there is not much furniture at all. But what is in the room is well-maintained and well-cleaned. Just don't expect any special luxury, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Size of the rooms is BIG
  • Disliked — Tiny bar is not very inviting
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Jetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

We had a fantastic stay - we stayed at the hotel for two nights - we being my wife, our one-and-half-year son and myself - in early November...

The staff - both in reception, breakfast restaurant and cleaning - were absolutely amazing at meeting our needs, borh before, during and after our stay. Before they made our room available close to our co-travellers prior to normal check.in and had a childrens bed ready and set upon arrival. During they catered for our needs in every imaginable way - room service, breakfast, our son playing all over the lobby, etc. After we had a great service when we received our forgotten stuff through post... Everything was perfect!

The location is also great - close to all the different districts of the city, and close to many good restaurants and shops in the surrounding area.. The hotel itself is perfect, newly decorated and clean and nice...!

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank olekjaermansfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2008

We went to Berlin for the Xmas markets and decided to stay at this hotel because of the very good feedback reviews on tripadvisor. For the money, it is one of the best European hotels that we have stayed in - we were surprised at how large the rooms were. It is also ideally situated and in very quiet street. The only downside was that breakfast in the hotel was not included in the price but we found a small cafe just around the corner where we could purchase rolls, sandwiches, croissants etc at a fraction of the price that the breakfast in the hotel would have cost.
Thoroughly recommended - you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Expensive breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ttbridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#10 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#30 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#31 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 139 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing