We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #33 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    1,121
    133
    20
    14
See reviews for
785
1,090
332
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at this cosy Mercure in July 2014 as a family of four in a family suite. The suite was very comfortable with 2 separate bedrooms one with a double bed and one with a double sofa bed and balcony.

The room was well appointed with an excellent coffee machine and lots of capsules. Unfortunately they did not have a hot kettle for making tea but we were provided with tea in the morning upon request which we felt was a very nice gesture.

The breakfast spread was good and staff friendly ...

The location is excellent as its right behind check point Charlie ... As a family we love walking and we were able to cover all the key sights such as the Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag, Berlin Wall, Holocaust Museum, Potsdamer Platz, Pergamon Museum and the Boarding point for Spee River cruise on Foot. These are between 5 to 30-40 minute walks from the hotel

There are also a few good eating joints near the Hotel that are quite good and reasonably priced.

Overall for the price we paid for the family suite, we felt this hotel provides excellent value for money as an overall package.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Travelled with my dad and my daughter and stayed 7 nights at this hotel. This is our 3rd visit and it has been excellent ever time. There was an initial mix up with our rooms - we booked 2 but there was only 1 when we got there - but this was quickly dealt with and we were given an upgraded room for the inconvenience. rooms are perfectly clean, comfortable and spacious. The coffee machine makes lovely coffee, and tea! Breakfast is plentiful and it's nice to sit outside in the little courtyard garden. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room over looked the courtyard which was slightly noisy at night, but only at the weekend and we probably wouldn't have heard anything if we hadn't had the windows open. The hotel is very convenient for the underground being only 5 minutes from 2 stations. You can also walk to the Berlin Dom in about half an hour, window shopping in Freidrichstrasse on the way. Buses, trams and trains run very regularly making it very easy to get around. Buy a Berlin pass there or before you go. £37.50 gets a 5 day ticket to travel anywhere in the city and allows discounted entry to lots of museums and attractions. It's easy to buy day tickets at all of the stations too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnGarySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed in this hotel as a family of four, in a suite, which comprised of a double bedroom downstairs, with kitchenette, bathroom and small balcony, air con and tv. Upstairs two double sofa beds and another tv, and balcony with table and chairs.

My two girls slept upstairs, which gave us a break from the kids.

There was a lovely breakfast, buffet, however some days it did get busy. We had our own entrance to our room and did not really go into the main hotel unless for breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.

It was very hot when we stayed and had booked this hotel for the air con which worked a treat.

The only thing to know about Berlin is that most shops are closed on a Sunday, which made dinner time difficult on Sunday as the hotel only serves breakfast.

There are a number of Italian places within walking distance, a French restaurant, a number of coffee and sandwich places, along with the obligatory MacDonals, and lots of Starbucks??

The hotel is literally around the corner from Checkpoint Charlie, and within walking distance to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg, and Reichstag, we went on a boat cruise which was a bit boring, but did most of our sightseeing walking around.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 611, nice and quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I didn't have a single doubt while booking the above hotel: there were so many positive reviews on different travel websites. So I thought I've made a right decision but unfortunately my experience at Mercure was not that pleasant. Anyway, step by step:

I've arrived at the hotel right before midnight. Receptionist was polite but absolutely incompetent. She really didn't know what she was doing. It took the receptionist centuries to register my credit card for a deposit. Luckily, her supervisor or just more experienced colleague was there and finally the issue was sorted.

Another problem was a poor wifi signal in the room though in the public area it was all right. I've told the receptionists about the problem but they kept saying that I need to choose one of the hotel networks and use it. But how could I do that if there was no signal?!

One of the receptionists looked quite irritated while giving me a password for a fast broadband which also didn't work in the room.

To keep that review balanced: The room itself was very spacious and clean with 2 toilets one down and the other upstairs. TV channel selection was great with some HD broadcasters available as well. Bathroom could be a big bigger but it was clean and well maintained. So the room was ok.

Location was also a pro as the hotel is placed close to most tourist attractions.

Another con, however, was a breakfast price: EUR 18. That' definitely too much even for Berlin, in my point of view.

After check out next morning I didn't hear neither "Thank you" nor "Good Bye" - looks like receptionists just didn't care.

Summarising the above: the biggest problem was the attitude of the reception staff. I'll think twice next time before booking that hotel again...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying one night at the Mercure and so far are not impressed. We were reserved a room after our flight was canceled and seem to be treated like refugees. At check in we were given a voucher for meals but when we questioned what price it would cover we were told that the restaurant would tell us what we could have when we went down. ..um mm. ..okay. In the end our options were pasta or chicken and the portions were tiny. Our drinks were also the smallest size and our entire dining experience took 15 minutes. Other guests received bread and butter before the main course, but we weren't even given that because we were on a voucher.
The room appeared decent although a bit old. Once settled I tried to check in for our new flight and couldn't, so I attempted to phone the airline and the phone wouldn't work. I was told I had to give a credit card number just in case I started raking up a phone bill or I could just come and phone in the lobby. I went to the lobby and used the phone, only to be told very rudely after the fact that I owed 4 euros for the 5 minute call. I was shocked and didn't have any money. The reception lady took down my room number and told me "we would settle this later". After everything we've been through there was not a shred of consideration, our best western hotel in berlin let me phone from the lobby and even helped me find the airline number for free.
Finally once in the room for good I looked at the washroom. It is gross. There is hair and dirt in the bathtub and urine stains on the wall by the toilet. I am so exhausted and frustrated with the staff that I can't even phone down and ask them to clean it as I may just burst into tears! I will never voluntarily stay at this hotel again and desperately wish we were back at the Best Western Premier Moa Berlin even if it is far from the airport.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linnaea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our room was very large and bright. The water closet was separate from the shower room which was perfect for us, and the bed was comfortable. You can't beat the breakfasts and the hotel has a great outdoor patio. The location is good if you want to be close to public transport and Checkpoint Charlie, the U Bahn station was only a couple blocks away. And if you are a walker you can walk to many sights. The thing we did not like is the availability of restaurants- we found ourselves taking public transport to find more eating options and outdoor patio dining. While the front desk staff was accommodating when we asked questions about the city, we always felt we were imposing when asking for help. We did ask for early check in as we arrived early and tired and did have to pay extra for this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDteach126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
733 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#32 of 634 in Berlin
4,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 139 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing