We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #27 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Literally round the corner from Checkpoint Charlie we arrived to check-in mid morning, having already checked we could leave our luggage. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room ready. Our room was clean, light and spacious with separate seating area facing the windows, sadly the view was a little uninspiring of the street below. The bar area was adequately sized except when Byern Munich were playing with a good selection of drinks available and not too expensive We opted not to have breakfast in the hotel as there were many options available a short walk from the hotel. The reception staff were very helpful even chasing down the street to return a credit card that had been left in the card reading machine. Overall a Mercure hotel in a great location.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nowthensister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 3,355 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed in this hotel over Easter. the staff were very helpful and the hotel was clean and well situated. We had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard with our own balcony. The hotel does not have a restaurant where you can eat at night, however there are many places nearby. The towels could do with replacing as they were rather "thin"! It was on a quiet street but not far from the hustle and bustle of Checkpoint Charlie.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The hotel was clean, spacious, and the reception staff hospitable. The beds were especially comforatable and the little balconies a very nice touch. The hotel is near Checkpoint Charlie but, once you have seen this, then there may have been a hotel slightly closer to the main spots. However the underground railway was very close and most things in walking distance. The strange thing about this part of town was the empty streets and lack of warmth. Even the hotel was empty and the bar lifeless....and very expensive. If you can get a deal stay, if not, choose a hotel with a bit more warmth, history and style

Room Tip: No smoking even if you are a smoker, you can have a fag on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidTitmuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

An enjoyable stay at this hotel we had good sized room on the 7th floor facing onto the courtyard . The room was serviced every day and the cleanliness of the room was very good. The free wifi reception in our room was not the best but was very good in other areas of the hotel and the courtyard There was a good selection at breakfast ,the breakfast area can get very busy so choose your times wisely.
The bar and courtyard were a pleasant spot to end the day
A good central location to explore Berlin five minute walk to the nearest Subway or a half hour walk to most of the famous city landmarks.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mlpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We booked this for my partner's 60th birthday. The hotel was fantastic, the room was spotless and the breakfast delicious, the staff were courteous, and informative. The location was brilliant and an added bonus was the French restaurant in the same street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is ideally located just round the corner from Checkpoint Charlie. You can walk to most of the famous Berlin sights from here.

The room was large and comfortable, with a good size television screen to watch the BBC World Service News.

We didn't dine in the hotel, preferring to explore other restaurants.

We did take the hotel's breakfast for two days, but after that we went elsewhere in the neighbourhood, as the hotel's breakfast is just not worth it at an exorbitant 18 Euros! That's around £15 each, and obviously if you're a couple the cost soon mounts up.

Staff on reception were reasonable, but could have been more helpful and active in finding me a doctor - they failed - as I had an eye infection. I had to fend for myself and seek out a hospital way out in SE Berlin.

They failed on one occasion to refill the soap/shampoo dispenser in the bathroom. My wife had gone in the shower. soaked her hair prior to shampooing, only to find that the dispenser was empty; the chamber-maid had neglected to refill it.

I had booked several months previously, and had asked for a room at the front of the hotel. However, upon arrival I was told they were all taken, and Iwe were given a room overlooking the courtyard.

Nevertheless, in spite of these shortcomings, we enjoyed our stay in Berlin, and its situation in Central Berlin is in its favour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. Mind you, your request could well be ignored! And ensur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My wife and I have checked in to the hotel tonight and despite booking an non smoking room the hotel have put us in room that a smokers room and at best could be described as stinking. Staff do not care despite me suffering from asthma.
Berlin looks like a great city, but can't wait to get out of this hotel in the morning.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Jereyboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#28 of 635 in Berlin
5,460 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,974 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#24 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $105 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing