We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Checkpoint Charlie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #34 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was an excellent choice for a hotel in Berlin. We were able to easily walk to Checkpoint Charlie, Berlin Wall, Brandenburg Gate, and many other locations. There are also a ton of restaurants in short walking distance to the hotel. The room are huge and clean here as well. When we first walked into the room we couldn't get over how large of a space you get. The staff was pleasant and the décor was warm and inviting. We would definitely stay here again if we ever decide to return to Berlin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingduo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 3,253 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Wanted a location we could do the maximum from easily and this place had it in buckets - history on the doorstep as the back of the building would have been up against the Berlin Wall on the East side.
Then there is checkpoint Charlie at the end of the road. 2 tube stops within a few mins walk & Unter den linden just a 20 min walk past tonnes of top shopping.
The hotel suite is fantastic for families - 2 huge double rooms, relaxed seating area, outside balcony, separate bath and walk- in shower, separate toilet room and even a cloakroom area. A real home from home. We even sat in the bar each even and n the courtyard garden. Even had sweets n a jar & apples on reception!
A real home from home.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank EmmaManchester_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Upon arrival, the young women who welcomed us were warm and very kind. this was the only warmth and kindness we received from any of the front desk people during the 6 days we were at the hotel. In fact, the men at the desk were surprisingly unhelpful. The room was large and had all of the amenities one would like - coffee machine, minibar, sitting area, decent bathroom, etc. However of the two pillows we received, one was ok and the other was a cheap, paper-thin type. Also, the blankets - one for each of us - were less than twin size. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as we thought that 18 euros per person was very high but it looked like a well endowed assortment. There are plenty of coffee shops and a starbucks nearby.
The hotel is located within 5 brisk walking minutes of two different train stations and we walked from the hotel to Potsdammer Platz within 20 minutes. I wouldn't stay here again, mostly because of the uncomfortable pillows and blankets but also because I hope to never be in Germany again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurifriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed there for 7 nights on 11/13 and liked it very much.located in quiet peaceful place. room comfortable .clean, super silent environment . breakfast super. staff very efficient and helpful.
Just perfect very much recommended.

Room Tip: For whom looking for privacy yet central location ,this is the hotel for him.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aviva45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

As mentioned by other reviewers, this hotel is well-placed, being only a 5 minute walk from the underground and also within easy walking distance of many of the attractions of central Berlin. There are also innumerable shopping opportunities for those who enjoy retail therapy. The highlight was the breakfast buffet, with a huge selection of cereals, fruits, cheeses, meats, breads, preserves and drinks, as well as cooked items. An observation, rather than a criticism, is that it would have been rather nice to have had a bath to ease one's aching bones after all the sightseeing! The street itself was very quiet and we were not disturbed by other guests. We would definitely return in the future should we be back in Berlin.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geogwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is more of a serviced apartment facility, which I like. It is centrally located in a quite neighborhood, in proximity to all the main attractions. I stayed there one night in February 2014. The best thing was the room: felt almost luxurious, huge size, impeccably clean and fresh, with the most comfortable bed and bedding, nice fixtures, an amazing bathroom, plus an espresso maker. Wifi access in the room. Services were minimal, but included sauna upstairs. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included (as a promotion) and really good, with lots of choices and of great quality. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lapany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed 4 nights at Mercure Hotel, Check Point Charlie. The hotel is in a very quite location and with very short distance to the underground and mauermuseum.de You HAVE to go and see the mauermuseum,de if you stay in this Hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikkel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 635 in Berlin
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#26 of 635 in Berlin
5,185 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#66 of 635 in Berlin
4,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Address: Schuetzenstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#31 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $103 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our 4-star Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie, you can choose between Single Rooms, Large Rooms, Privilege Rooms, Apartments and Privilege Suites. Our Family Rooms offer plenty of space in two separate areas with a connecting door. One child up to 12 years old can share your room for free and a second child for a charge of EUR 15 per night. Pets are welcome (charge of EUR 10 per night). It is just a short walk to the chic boutiques and the hustle and bustle of Friedrichstrasse, but as a guest at the Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie you can also enjoy the calm and comfort of a grand Wilhelminian-style building The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the main train station, 15.5 miles (25 km) from Schönefeld Airport and 3.1 miles (5 km) from the A100 highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing