We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Somewhere between average and very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #34 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Somewhere between average and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I think that it was a good hotel, unfortunately there's not option on here between average and very good. The room was large and set up quite well to give you lots of space, especially as I was sharing with my mother so having the bathroom and WC seperate was good. The staff weren't always the friendliest, but we were there at the marathon so they were busy - and lets be honest this is pretty stock standard for Germany hotels. The room had a great coffee maker, but no kettle for tea. The bathroom because it didn't have a toilet was quite small, but then had a speaker so you could hear the tv while showering. So they have definitely thought of somethings, just missed it on others. The bar staff were nice, but the menu for lunch was really limited, although the food was good. Oh and they obviously have a bird problem, so the balconies are all covered in netting, and its not made for tall people... The location was fabulous, and for that main reason I'd go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tooks_meri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,592
    1,029
    120
    15
    12
See reviews for
682
983
323
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Really pleased to be able to access our room on arrival at midday. We requested a courtyard facing room as recommended by other TA reviews. Very quiet room but also because of being on the sixth floor.
As other reviewers have commented the 18 euro per person charge for breakfast seems particularly steep. Found it somewhat annoying that on arrival at the hotel, we were offered a deal of having breakfast for 15 euros per person if we took all three days but if we want to have just once it would be at the 18Euro rate and we need to say in advance. This way of charging does not seem very welcoming to the guest in my opinion. Instead went to nice cafes for croissant and coffee within five minutes walk.
Back to the positives - the hotel has a nice bar with comfortable areas of different seating and had a warm atmosphere on each evening. Very comfortable room with good quality fittings and furnishings. Bathroom had a separate walk in powerful shower.
Great location for restaurants. Ten minute walk to Gendarmenmarkt. Easy to use the efficient public transport system to get wherever you want to visit around the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLAND
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and and I spent 3 days at the Murcure Hotel. We picked this property based on review from Trip Advisor. I good decision. Our room was well maintained and very clean. The bed was also very good. The baths were excellen; plenty of water pressure and room in the bath. We had 1&half baths. There was a setting room and balcony and 2 TV's. We found this property well managed.We did not eat breakfast here; it was to expensive! Our check in and out experience was very efficient. The staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Ask for inside courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALLISONMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is truly affordable with excellent and spacious room. I can't believe that the room was so big and very nicely decorated...and also has two bathroom! for less than 150 euros!!! The location is perfect to go anywhere in Berlin. When I visit Berlin, I will definitely use the hotel at checkpoint again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsjanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just a round the corner from Checkpoint Charlie, this hotel has a great location. Within walking distance you will find a plethora of very good, authentic German restaurants (have the Concierge make reservations early, though!) The hotel itself has an adorable bar right off the lobby, which also serves food (try the apple streudel). The staff was extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowGlobeTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. The expresso machine in the room was an exceptionally nice touch. Location wise - smack in the middle of Check Point Charlie, easy enough access to public transport and tourist bus. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Winters Hotel The Wall
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#70 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 2,294 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
#65 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,506 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Schuetzenstrasse 11 | 10117 Berlin, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#25 Family Hotel in Berlin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#36 Business Hotel in Berlin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel & Residence Berlin Checkpoint Charlie is located in the historic centre of the town and offers 139 spacious rooms, suites and apartments ( 30m² - 80m² ). Most of them have a balcony. Here you will be living in a particularly exclusive location, right by the former Checkpoint Charlie and near to the shopping stretch of Friedrichstrasse and Gendarmenmarkt. Our hotel provides a breakfast restaurant, wine garden, Checkpoint Bar, 24 h sauna, gym, sundeck and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing