We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and luxurious”
Review of The Mandala Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mandala Suites
Ranked #13 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent two lovely weeks in a "Management Suite", overlooking a quiet inner courtyard.

It is very difficult to find any fault. The location is superb. The staff was professional, efficient and unobtrusive. The apartment was lovely, consisting of a large bedroom (yes, the pillows are a bit too soft!), a living room, a kitchenette, a bathroom (sans toilet) and a separate toilet, plus the hallway and a fairly large wardrobe. Ample space, really.

The rooms are soundproof. I am not sure about the windows though, so you might want to ask for a room on the courtyard side and on a high floor.

The kitchen is fully equipped. Actually, we missed the toaster, so we asked for it and it was delivered within half an hour. But don't expect to do any heavy duty cooking here; although there is ventilation, there is no real cooker hood. The fridge is also quite small and filled with the usual mini-bar stuff, so there is really little space for your groceries there.

There are two flat-screen TVs ( German channels plus the usual news channels in English) and two A/C units, one for each room.

The staff will gladly do groceries shopping for you at no extra cost, you just need to tell them what you want; as we like to do our own shopping, we didn't test this service. There are two supermarkets within a walking distance: Keiser's and Ulrich's (the first one is open until 24:00).

There are both Wi-Fi and Ethernet Internet connection. Internet access is free, but it's only 512 kbps, so you should pretty much forget about Youtube (you can pay for faster speeds). Also, you are supposed to renew your Internet surfing "ticket" (via webs log-in page) every 24 hours and/or after every 300 MBs of spent traffic, which is really a bit of a nuisance. And if you travel with a laptop, an iPad and two smartphones, like we did, each of which require wifi Internet access at one point or another, be prepared for a LOT of "ticketing".

Also, bear in mind that The Mandala Suites do not have a 24hrs front desk! So if you are arriving very late, or on Sunday afternoon, be sure to make special arrangement with the reception beforehand. Everything is keycard operated, including the side street enterance and the elevator, so if you find yourself on the street after midnight without without your keycard, you might have to wait until morning.

They say the breakfast is nice and the view is great from the breakfast lounge, but we didn't try that, nor did we try the gym or the laundry facilities.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and we absolutely recommend The Mandala Suites. We will most definitely stay here again on our next trip to Berlin.

Room Tip: Inner courtyard, higher floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namernik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for The Mandala Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 831 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

The 68 sq meter apartment was just great: extremely central location, very upkept apartments with daily cleaning service, great free facilities (top of the line fitness center with sauna, business center with free printing, wifi), and excellent staff. Very rare can you find a sound proof apartment this big for the price (online one their website) a foot step away from the nicest shops, sites (checkpoint charlie, alexanderplatz at 15 min walk) and restos. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZBenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a very good time at this hotel, large rooms, confort and luxury at an afordable price. Next to U-Bahn station, very good location. Many places to eat around the corner. Will go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JACK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Mandala Suites, just off Friedrichstrasse, are more apartment than hotel, but who cares about this in a city where you can find everything, from breakfast to late night drinks, just around the corner? Looking into a courtyard of residential aparments, my room was so quite that I could sleep with open windows - and this just steps away from Friedrichstrasse. The apartments are clean, big, well furnished and there was nothing to complain about. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, when they saw me coming towards reception, they walked towards me and welcomed me with a big smile. Safety is excellent, all doors and elevators are only accessible with the keycard. I will soon come again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HansM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I think if I were travelling on business, this hotel would be an excellent choice; however, I think it is less appropriate for a vacation.

First the good points: It is right next to a U-Bahn station. It’s also within a short walk to a couple of really good restaurants (Aigner and Lutter & Wegner), both of which were recommended by the front desk. Even the pub/restaurant in the complex was pretty good. The rooms were really enormous, one of the biggest I’ve stayed in. And the fully furnished kitchen (refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, etc) could come in handy if you wanted to cook yourself.

Now the negatives: As others have pointed out, the hotel is in the middle of an office complex situated on a street with a lot of business offices. You really have the feel of being in an office park, rather than a hotel, or tourist area. There is no pool, there is no one on staff late at night, and there isn’t a ton of things to do in the immediate area. The front desk (I wouldn’t call anyone a true concierge) was friendly and had a couple of suggestions, but not able to give a ton of detailed area information. But you probably don’t care about any of these things if you’re in town for business. The view we had was nothing to write home about—overlooking a residential building. All of the lights in the room were very dark. And as large as the suite was, the bathrooms (there were separate rooms for the toilet and the shower/sink) were disproportionately small. Also, we found the shower to be slippery and a potential hazard to get in and out of. (My wife and I are healthy 30-year-olds, so I can only imagine the difficulties if you’re less mobile.) Every morning someone would roll a big cart outside the hotel, which was very loud.

Our room was ready not a minute earlier than promised, and we were not able to get even a 1-hour extended checkout because the hotel was supposedly fully booked. Yet we didn’t really see any other guests the whole time we were there—I think a large portion of the building is devoted to long-term corporate housing, and there are relatively few “pure” hotel rooms.
We didn’t opt for the 25 EUR breakfast so can’t comment on that.

Despite a few minor gripes, the hotel was very satisfactory (almost gave it 4 stars). And the price was an excellent value (although most of the Berlin hotels are relatively cheap).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WOScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The Mandala suites are in an excellent location, very quiet day and night, outstandingly large suite, superb bed and bathrooms, acceptable kitchen and nice outlook
Hard to beat for a tourist or business person who likes a bit of space and comfort to come home to and is prepared to put a little more money into it above more basic accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

OK So this place is really great and in a pretty good location too. Rooms include a hot plate, microwave, tea kettle and some even have a balcony. There's an actual laundry room in the basement where you wash/iron your own clothes. Not bad for an extended stay. If you're traveling with a child or an extra person, request a room with a pull-out couch so you don't have to pay the extra 40 Euros per night for a rollaway bed. Otherwise, the couch is an option but it's pretty uncomfortable. We racked up a bill for 320 Euros for 8 days(adds up fast!) just for the bed...However Adina hotel (up the street) has nice rooms (same type) except smaller -I prefer to say more intimate but equally nice, clean, and a bit more convenient -washer/dryer in your room- either way 60sqm vs 43...you decide! Adina cost 580 Euros for the week, while Mandala was roughly 800 in addition to the expensive rollaway bed!
Back to Mandala--There's an exercise room and sauna/quiet room on the top (8th) floor where you can catch a nice sunset while sipping tea. Sauna is VERY clean by the way...I didn't have breakfast there - No need when I can cook my own but it might be something to do on your last day just for the view - I think got the same view drinking tea without the paid breakfast! BTW, there are two grorcery stores very close(Kaisers and Ullrich). 15 minutes walk further is Friedrichstrasse station, there's an Edeka in there but it gets crowded. I didn't drive but I know there's limited underground parking. Internet is great and free. As for negatives---The pillows are lousy! You can fold them in fours and still feel like your head rests on nothing. The rollaway bed which I already mentioned and be careful so they don't try to charge you for anything extra like they did me - pistachios. Mini bar is not free, neither is the chocolate but walk 2 minutes to Fassbender and Rausch for chocolates---You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,274 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,848 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,590 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Suites

Address: Friedrichstrasse 185-190, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#20 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $138 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mandala Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highest individuality in the centre of the city THE MANDALA SUITES takes the idea of having a home away from home and makes it a splendid reality. Here the service offered by a firstclass hotel is combined with the very private atmosphere of one’s own perfectly equipped apartment. In these apartments you’ll find a peaceful haven in the heart of the city. This privately managed suite hotel creates lots of space in lovingly designed and generously proportioned rooms. Because the rooms can be directly accessed from the side streets, we offer you the greatest possible degree of privacy. The hotel’s elegant and understated appointments have been especially designed to meet the needs of visitors who want to stay in Berlin for a longer period of time. Here you’ll feel at home for a month, a week or just one night. An ideal location THE MANDALA SUITES is ideally situated, with its main entrance directly on the Friedrichstraße and the Gendarmenmarkt right around the corner. A short walk will take you to the points of interest in Berlin Mitte, such as Unter den Linden, the Reichstag, Checkpoint Charlie, the State Opera House, the Humboldt Forum and the Museumsinsel. Here the historic, cultural and political highlights of Berlin are lying at your feet, so to speak. Alternatively, you can use the Stadtmitte underground station, which is just one minute away, as your point of departure to conquer the entire city. From there you’ll have ideal connections throughout Berlin. The shopping opportunities on Friedrichstraße, with its elegant department stores and a multitude of small boutiques, are especially attractive. From here it’s also very easy to reach the big malls on Potsdamer Platz and Alexanderplatz. Rooms The 80 studios and suites, with between 40 m² and 100 m² of floor area, offer an unusual level of spaciousness as well as peace and quiet in the midst of the vibrant heart of Berlin. Separate sleeping and living areas, especially large bathrooms with separate lavatories, walk-in closets, roomy desks, completely equipped open-plan kitchens, and balconies all create a second home for our guests. Earth-toned colours are a balm to the eyes and the soul. Ultramodern technology is seamlessly and wirelessly integrated into this timeless and classic design. High-speed Wi-Fi is always free of charge throughout the hotel. The lounge on the eighth storey A very special breakfast experience awaits our guests every morning on the top storey of the hotel. With a clear view of Potsdamer Platz, exquisite design and a first-class buffet, they can enjoy a long and relaxed breakfast and browse through a large selection of international newspapers. After breakfast, the lounge is available to our guests by special arrangement. The fitness and sauna area is directly adjacent to the lounge. With a view of the skyline of Potsdamer Platz, you can train on state-of-the-art TechnoGym equipment or relax after a Finnish or aroma sauna on a large daybed with a cup of tea from our wide assortment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mandala Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mandala Hotel Berlin
Mandala Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing