We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt
Ranked #510 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed here for five nights. The hotel is easily in walking distance of many of the historic sites. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

The hotel is modern and conveniently located for tourists between Gendarmenmarkt to the North and Checkpoint Charlie to the South.

The rooms are adequately large with OK bathrooms (shower stall not tub; included hairdryer & soap) and small TVs (two English-language news channels). The bed was a bit lumpy but OK.

The staff works in a cramped little lobby/office area. They are helpful and friendly. But there is no lobby area as such if you wish to "get away" from your room or read late at night when jet lag occurs.

Here are the "extras": First, to get wifi, you must pay a daily or weekly rate. Ouch. There is a Starbucks three blocks or so away on Friedrichstrasse with free wifi.

Second, the breakfast is not included but 10 Euros extra. The staff is quite up front about this but please ask if price is critical for you. There is a market less than 100 meters away for do it yourself breakfast folks.

Overall, I still give it 4 stars because of the friendly staff, reasonable prices (for Berlin) and great location. The Stadtmitte Ubahn station is two blocks away and there are numerous good eateries just north of the hotel in the general Gendarmenmarkt / Friedrichstrasse area. And for you folks who consume your meals in liter steins, there is a Lowenbrau restaurant on the street next to the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from Leipzigstrasse side and the noise from the Lowenbrau bier garten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadisonGrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel from 23 to 29 march 2011 and overall it was a very pleasant experience.We had a very spacious room on the second floor,very claean and well furnished,the beds were very comfortable.Bathroom also first class.I Breakfast was more than adequate,coffee very good. All the personnel are very friendly and helpful.The hotel is very good situated for sight seeing.U bahn very near,busses also.We took a 5 day pass on public transport,which works perfectly as is to be expected in Germany.We would certainly go back to this adress when we are in Berlin again.

Room Tip: I think they are all (very) good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moortgat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I pretty much agree with the nice reviews below. It's a modern(-ish) and clean place, close to a lot of interesting places, and pretty much in the middle of everything (though I'd probably rather stay in Kreuzberg, Prenzlauer Berg or even Friedrichshain).

Anyway, I just wanted to register one very large complaint:
Nowhere in the hotel - not the rooms, not the lobby, not the restaurant - is it possible to get a cup of coffee outside of breakfast opening hours!

The minibar was ridiculously overstuffed, but no coffee. And the receptionist, nice and friendly as she was, didn't know where to get a cup nearby. Luckily I found one (1!) cafe that was open until 9 pm - all the other, Starbucks, Einstein, etc. closed earlier) - so I got my fix, but it's very close to being a dealbreaker when you're on a business trip and need to work in the evenings.

Oh, and by the way - the paid wifi is pretty expensive and only has 30 or 120 minute deals. I really, really hate that - I would rather pay an extra 10-20 Euro per night and have free wifi and not have to bother with paying and registering credit cards and so on. Will they ever learn?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolyDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Excellend spot in the midle of Mitte, spacious rooms, cleanness, good personnel,
good breakfast
The only bad thing was that they asked us to pay in advance!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
Thank akisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We have stayed at this great hotel before, and if in berlin we will always come here. It has a great location, just a 5 min walk to check point charlie, 5 min walk to underground, a good base for exploring Berlin. The hotel itself is quite small but that suits us, rooms clean and fair size. Nice breakfast room, serving usual continental breakfasts, all very tasty. our breakfast was included in the price of the room, I think it is better to deal direct with the hotel. Joined to the hotel is a lowenbrau beerkeller, they have a good menu at reasonable prices, please note however there is more choice on the german menu, than the english this is due to menu changes, the staff are friendly and very helpful. And are happy to go through the menu with you. Would I come back to this hotel again - you bet. I recomend a visti to the Ka Da We department store, especially the 6th floor a must for foodies, plenty of food options. If in Alexanderplatz have a drink by the river on the outside terrace of the radison, go inside and see the giant fish tank in reception, look up it is not at eye level. Take a boat trip from here at only 7 euros it was very good value, please note the guide may only speak german, this didn't bother us, had a nice relaxing boat ride. weather was fantastic, take sun cream.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

we stayed there 2 nights.
the location is simply perfect, just 1 building (the hilton hotel) far from gendarmenmarkt.
bus M48 close to the hotel and metro stop Stadtmitte 1 minute far.
checkpoint charlie is at 5 min walking., the same for friedrichstrasse and unter den linden.

the room was perfectly clean, quite big, with enough space for the luggage. hot water without problem.
we payed 93 euro for a double, with private bathroom and buffet breakfast included.

very kind and smiling staff, at the reception and in the breakfast room too.

breakfast room is lovely! and the same is for the restaurant "lowenbrau" that is part of the hotel, but open to everybody.

i'd come back to this hotel for sure, and i'll tell to all my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mkvalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
Maritim proArte Hotel
Maritim proArte Hotel
#182 of 633 in Berlin
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt

Address: Leipziger Str. 65, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $55 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt Hotel Berlin
Cph Cityhotel Am Gendarmenmarkt Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing