We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cost doesn't match value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
art'otel berlin kudamm
Ranked #178 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“cost doesn't match value”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

we stayed there in the end of October for three nights. We booked one double and fully paid for it through internet .Upon arrival the receptionist asked to give her the credit card - " for security reasons"- as we were told. Then daily the hotel withdrew from 60 to 40 euros from my credit card " for security reasons" I asked the receptionist when the money came back - the reply was - at checking out.
In reality the money was back in a MONTH!
I know that they (hotel) didn't use it but they just locked it on my account for such a period.
The room - quite small, not enough space. The design is as on the photo, though cause the color of the room was light green so all the precedent dwellers traces are seen and as a whole it creates an impression of the shabby place.
The cupboards are tiny for two people and in one of them in the corner of the room there is a shelf with tea facilities. It is not wise and comfortable for usage.
the bathroom is spacious and has everything needed, moreover there are some extras - dead sea salt for bath and mint liquid for mouth!
The restaurant is below the average, at breakfast time the stalls are not uploaded regularly, at least we witnessed that fact at weekend we stayed.
The staff at the reception are young and inexperienced, no welcome smile, often queues nearby. They didn't know the real price for taxi to the airport, they told me but the real fare was 10 euros more.
To sum up this hotel is definitely not for a comfortable stay, more adequate for a short not very demanding passing by clients. It is a pity cause the location of this hotel is just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khagenbucher, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Julia R,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel and to share your constructive feedback on Tripadvisor.
As we have informed you upon your arrival, we do hold 20 Euros per night on your credit card for any extras during your stay. This will then be released automatically upon your departure by your bank. In your case unfortunately the bank didn't release the amount straight away but we did contact them to push this for you. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused to you, however please be ensured that this is not the normal procedure.
Thanks also for your comments regarding our breakfast. Unfortunately your visit at the restaurant for breakfast collided with a big group and therefore the breakfast platters have been emptied quicker than usual. Obviously we did replace everything straight away so we are very sorry if you had to wait a bit longer than expected and which is normally the case.
As you can see from the feedback we have received so far from the other guests, we mainly receive very positive comments regarding our team. Please be ensured that I will ensure your comments with everyone though to avoid this in the future.
If you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We hope we can welcome you back one day and you'll have a much better stay with us next time.
Wishing you and your family a merry Christmas and all the best for 2013.

Katja Hagenbucher
Hotel Manager
email: khagenbucher@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    415
    171
    49
    39
See reviews for
132
360
78
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Varsity Lakes, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I found Art'otel (Andy Warhol) to be a cool and comfortable place to come back to after a day of sightseeing. The staff were helpful and the bar was a great place to have a few drinks before heading out for the night. The rooms were modern and clean, with a bit of character. The hotel location was walking distance from great shopping and subway lines.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khagenbucher, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Wow, thanks Krista M for this amazing review, what a delight to read.

I have shared your comments with the entire team and we’re delighted to have provided such a great experience for you.

We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you a Merry Christmas!

Kind regards,

Katja Hagenbucher
Hotel Manager
email: khagenbucher@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The staff are extremely friendly, the location of the hotel is a shopper's dream come true and with 2 minutes walking distance from the U-Bahn it's the perfect spot to hit the numerous interesting historical sites in Berlin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khagenbucher, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Stuart M,

We are very delighted to hear that you had a great experience at the art’otel berlin city center west.

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this fantastic review about your stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the art’otel berlin city center west we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Katja Hagenbucher
Hotel Manager
email: khagenbucher@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was really impressed with this - good value, clean and spacious and the decor was a bit out of the ordinary. The breakfast and bar were good. Much better than the first hotel I stayed in in Berlin and about the same price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khagenbucher, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Clare P,

thank you very much for the lovely feedback you have given us. It was great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our arty decor.

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you are back in Berlin.

Best wishes,

Katja Hagenbucher
Hotel Manager
email: khagenbucher@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I used Priceline and ended up with this hotel ($60 per night in late October). What a great surprise. Extremely nice staff, spacious rooms, large bathroom, and less than 5 min walk to the metro. Breakfast was pretty good. You can rent a bike from the hotel which was very convenient to explore the city with. Free computers with internet to use for free in lobby.

I would stay here again. I want to emphasize how nice the staff was. Always smiling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmazhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khagenbucher, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear cmazhk,

thank you very much for the lovely feedback you have given us. I was very pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us and especially that you have taken the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor!

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you are back in Berlin.

Best wishes,

Katja Hagenbucher
Hotel Manager
email: khagenbucher@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel was a big disspointment, they didn't have a double bed eventho we ask for it 3 months in advace, the beds are very crappy the kind you sink into it everytime you move.
Our room seemed
Although the location is in the center of the city, it was not very close form any station
The staff was not very kind

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khagenbucher, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Pixicar,

we appreciate you taking the time to give us some valuable feedback in Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the art’otel berlin city center west I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
I'd like to take the opportunity to inform you that unfortunately we can not guarantee any room types you have booked, this is always a request. However, next time just contact us prior to your arrival so we can try our best to accommodate your requested room type. Should we be fully booked during your stay, we are more than happy to offer you a room move the following day.
Regarding our staff, as you can see we mostly receive very positive comments. Therefore I am very surprised that you felt they were not kind at all.
Unfortunately you didn't speak to me during your stay so we didn't have the chance to make your time with us a more pleasant experience. Please do so directly next time in order to avoid any disappointments.
However, please be ensured that we appreciate your feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Katja Hagenbucher
Hotel Manager
email: khagenbucher@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The name is Art'otel and you have everywhere Warhol - walls, carpets, pictures. It is an average hotel, breakfast is OK, The restaurant is not open for dinner, room service is at limited times but there are a lot of options around so not a problem. Gym is one small room but again OK. The hotel is also conveniently located.

The issue for me was that the last day when I was leaving, I saw the staff chasing a mouse in the lobby and it looked like they are doing something regular so... no comment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoraTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khagenbucher, Manager at art'otel berlin kudamm, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear LoraTraveling,

thank you very much for the lovely feedback you have given us.
Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the mouse you have spotted. I can ensure you that this has happened for the first time and won't happen anymore as we have immediately contacted pest control. Probably you have spotted the construction site next door from where the mouse came, as they were digging up the street.
I would also like to inform you that we are serving room service from 6:30 (when breakfast starts) till 22:00. Also we have a street food dinner menu which we are serving every night in our FACTORY bar. My apologies if you haven't been informed thoroughly during your stay.

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you are back in Berlin.

Best wishes,

Katja Hagenbucher
Hotel Manager
email: khagenbucher@pphe.com
+49 30 887777-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
#71 of 634 in Berlin
998 reviews
Abba Berlin Hotel
#88 of 634 in Berlin
882 reviews
Charlottenburg
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
Park Plaza Berlin Kudamm
#190 of 634 in Berlin
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Bleibtreu Berlin by Golden Tulip
Charlottenburg
Hollywood Media Hotel
Hollywood Media Hotel
#74 of 634 in Berlin
815 reviews
Ku' Damm 101
#81 of 634 in Berlin
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel berlin kudamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel berlin kudamm

Property: art'otel berlin kudamm
Address: Lietzenburger Str. 85, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Berlin
#120 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel berlin kudamm 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Berlin hotel features Warhol ArtConveniently located near ICC Berlin and the Ku'damm, a major shopping destination, the distinctively designed art'otel berlin city center west displays original artworks by famous pop artist Andy Warhol and offers guests a variety of amenities, including free wi-fi. Guests at our central, boutique-style Berlin hotel also enjoy spacious rooms and private parking. Ideal for both leisure and business travellers, our accommodations in Berlin offer comprehensive business services, fitness room and a brand new sauna facility. With its trendy, art-inspired design, comfortable rooms and first-rate amenities, the art'otel is one of the top Berlin city center hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your art'otel berlin kudamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Berlin City Center West Hotel Berlin
Park Plaza Berlin
Berlin Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing