We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin
Ranked #184 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is in a central location with all amenities available to you within walking distance, especially a short walk to the Wittenberg Underground Station.

The KaDeWe - a huge department store with an amazing buffet restaurant and gourmet food section - is across the road, which starts off the high street, full of clothing and food stores.

All staff are very friendly. Beds are comfy.

Wireless Internet cuts out sometimes, but works well.

It could do with a safe for safe storage of your valuables, but the hotel staff are very trustworthy and won't touch your things whilst you're out and about.

Overall, it was worth the money spent - particularly when they have their sales on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    438
    187
    53
    35
See reviews for
99
341
152
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We payed € 205 for 3 nights at New years, a really good price. Rooms are a bit old but had a good bed and a good shower. Brillant breakfast with lots off sandwich filling, fresh bread/croissants, good coffee, several warm dishes. Also a good location, very near to the tube station and shopping area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimbo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights in december 2012. For being a 3* -hotel it is very good. Big and clean room. Bathroom with tub OK. Good service in reception. And a very good location too. I have nothing to complain about, maybe a little slow wi-fi (which was free). Did not try breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiggiNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markelo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The biggest advantage of this hotel is it's location.
Next to metrostation and square Wittenbergplatz and nearby the Kurfurstendamm.
Furniture in the rooms is a little old, but okay. It's clean and the beds sleep well.
If you like an extensive breakfast, then this hotel is a good one.
If you don't eat much in the morning, then the bakery at the opposite of the street will possibly be a good option too.
Overall, we liked this hotel and would come back in the future.

PS: burrito restaurant (highly recommended at Tripadvisor; at this moment no. 35 of 4300) is very close (at Wittenbergplatz). It's a nice concept and not expensive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I travel to Berlin every year to attend a trade show, I stayed in various hotels in Berlin within my budget but for the past 3 years, Sorat Ambassador has been my home away from home.

This was recommended by a friend. Location is just perfect, Kudamm is just around the corner with KDW is within vicinity. U-Bahn station is also near by and a modest Chinese restaurant is next to the lobby. Money changer is located around the corner too. Very practical!

The room is clean and everything worked well. Free WiFi is also included in the price I paid which is very useful.

What I liked most is the breakfast-buffet! This is the determining factor :) since during the fair period, there are lots of participants from Asia country stayed here thus they provide few items of hot Asian breakfast, something like hot soup, fried chicken and the like. Wow! Just a few items but surely made big difference for a Asian like me, I can have those aside of the usual bread, butter and sausages :)

Another plus was, during the 3 days of the fair period, they provide happy-hour at the lobby providing free drinks (beer) and snacks in the afternoon, which I found it was very refreshing after a long day work.

Next year I have already made reservation here as they are getting very popular and easily fully-booked (so are other hotels during the fair period)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kongco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We've been to this hotel for a second time now. It's in a great location near Wittenbergplatz underground station, the biggest shopping mall in Berlin (KDW) and one of the main shopping streets there. A grocery shop is just around the corner (selling always rare Vanilla Coke), and some great restaurants are just a few minutes away (Paydos on the main square near the underground station is a must go if you like mexican couisine).

The hotel itself offers nice and clean modern rooms (basic ones are a bit small, but of the same size as everywhere else). Tv is in the room, Wi-fi is free of charge and breakfasts are really good! They are building another hotel right next to Sorat, but there is no noise, it seems like the new one is almost done. Parking in the hotel is pricey - for 15€/day.

I would recommend this hotel, prices are good and the location is superb! Reserve you room on Sorat web pages and you'll get a complimentary drink in the hotel bar :)

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Nov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

i am very happy about my stay at this hotel, it is clean, unexpensive, very convinently located (metro, supermarket, shops are just around the corner). They offer free Wi-Fi (need to ask login at reception). Breakfast was not included in my rate but it can purchased separately for 10E (buffet style with eggs, sauseges, cold meet , drinks) Quality of food was good.
They also offer tea facilities in the room and welcoming bottle of water (which was really nice)
Staff were helpful and friendly.
The only problem that I had -unstable water supply in the shower - cold and hot water were changing all the time - but maybe it was the problem in my room?
Otherwise room was clean, beddings were and towels were changed evey day
I recommend this hotel to travellers on a budget who want the basic level conviniences

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlyaRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
Hotel Sylter Hof
Hotel Sylter Hof
#116 of 634 in Berlin
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Luetzow
Hotel Luetzow
#261 of 634 in Berlin
188 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Air in Berlin
Hotel Air in Berlin
#260 of 634 in Berlin
282 reviews
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#111 of 634 in Berlin
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin

Property: SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin
Address: Bayreuther Str. 42-43, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unkonventionelles Cityhotel mit Witz und Pfiff. Direkt am Wittenbergplatz und am weltberuhmten Kaufhaus des Westens. Touristenmagnete wie Gedachtniskirche oder Ku'damm sind bequem zu Fuss erreichbar. Best Price Garantie auf der SORAT Webseite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your SORAT Hotel Ambassador Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing