We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced, but massive differences between buses”

Berlin City Tour - City Sightseeing
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.60*
and up
City Sightseeing Berlin Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #60 of 373 Tours in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The best way to explore Berlin. A fascinating tour at your own pace, in our stunning double-decker buses. We offer 4 tours, 3 bus tours and 1 boat tour. Hop on and off at all the places you'd love to visit with our ticket. Traditional Tour: Discover all the major sights of Berlin on the Traditional Tour in our double-decker buses. After all, Brandenburg Gate, KaDeWe, Checkpoint Charlie and TV Tower are absolute must-sees for anyone visiting Berlin! You also have the opportunity to explore the heart of the city on your own initiative. The Tour takes about 2 hours (with live-commentary in English and German or with commentary via headphones in English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Polish, Russian, Chinese and Japanese). Wall & Lifestyle Tour: You think you've already seen everything? Visit the Berlin Wall Memorial, investigate an original WWII bunker, discover Prenzlauer Berg with its countless restaurants, cafes and galleries or see the East Side Gallery, the longest preserved part of the Berlin Wall on our Wall & Lifestyle Tour. The Tour takes about 2 hours (with live-commentary in English and German or with commentary via headphones in English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Polish, Russian, Chinese and Japanese). Westend Tour: Join us on our Westend Tour and explore the old West Berlin. You will not only drive through exclusive residential areas and down the famous Ku’damm; the tour features a number of real Berlin highlights such as Charlottenburg Palace, ICC and Radio Tower or the Olympic Stadium. Don’t miss the chance to climb the Bell Tower in the Olympic Park and enjoy an astonishing view of Berlin. The tour takes about 2 hours with live-commentary in English and German. Boat Tour: Discover Berlin from a different point of view. Take a boat cruise on the River Spree and see the most famous sights of Berlin. The tour takes about 2 hours with commentary in English, German, French, Spanish, Italian and Russian.
coventry uk
Level Contributor
164 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Well priced, but massive differences between buses”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This tour was well priced and the buses came frequently, however the differences between the buses were shocking. The ones with the headphones in the different languages were good, but the ones without which had a tour guide were in a shoddy state and I couldn't always understand what she was saying.

It didn't always seem to go with the map, which was quite confusing. But overall good value for money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank couchguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    307
    165
    108
    95
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good way to start out your trip to Berlin but a little confusing!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Berlin City Tour buses were a good way to cover a wide area of Berlin and its many attractions without walking all day or getting lost on public transport! It was very useful to have the English tour guide assisting.

I did however find it a bit frustrating that the bus often didn't stop at the stops nominated on the map - it would stop after about every 3/4 stops for 15mins but this wasn't specified in the brochure. Given that it advertised itself as a "hop on hop off" tour I had made plans around each stop of where to get off and on again and this unfortunately all fell apart.

In addition, it was a bit confusing figuring out which tour was what. We were told there was the red bus - the traditional tour, and the green bus - the lifestyle tour. However it wasn't until I'd tried getting onto one of the other buses I discovered that sometimes the red bus was the lifestyle tour etc...it was quite confusing and given that they both go in different directions at times caused me problems.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rowenaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Berlin City Tour”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just recently back from city break in Berlin and couldn't recommend more highly the two tours we did with Original Berlin Walks. Visited Sachsenhausen in the company of tour guide Ryan who was excellent and also did the walking city tour with Carlos who was equally as good. Both guides really knew their stuff and were extremely entertaining, informative and helpful in every respect.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Third Reich Berlin - Insider Tour”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I participated in the Insider Tour walk round the sites of Third Reich Berlin in what was a very cold but bright winter day. It was a surprisingly informative and enjoyable tour, not the least because our English guide, Barnaby has an excellent all round knowledge of all aspects of Berlin, not just the darkest period of its past. We were on the go for four and a half hours, with a break for coffee/lunch and despite the biting cold, all of us on the tour were hooked until the very end. I think this is something that would appeal to all, not just those specifically looking for information of Germany's Nazi history: I strongly recommend it

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Good, if you get the right tour operator!!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Berlin is always a must see when heading to Germany! The architecture, the food, the experience. Spent 12 days in Germany, visiting friends and we took 3 days to stay in Berlin. We bought the tickets for this “hop on hop off” double Decker tour. Very cool way to see the city, especially if you are pressed for time or just want to see the highlights. These are great with large crowds, kids, older people.. They take you right to the heart of the action!! Its not lavish by no means, but its comfortable and convenient.

We paid a very reasonable price for a family of 4 ( 2 adults, 2 children) 80 Euro for 2 days!! You could get on and off as much as you wanted for the whole 2 days. There were 2 different lines, the green and the red, we did both in 1 day!! They are more to be spread over the 2 days, especially if you spend time in each spot. The bus comes appox. Every 15 mins – 30 mins. Some places we stayed longer and some we didn’t even get off.

The only complaint I have is that for English speaking travelers it was VERY difficult to understand the lady who was the tour operator. Now she was only on 1 bus obviously, but the guy on 1 of the others was AWESOME!! If I could have had him for the whole trip I would have stayed on his bus. The lady’s translation between English and German was so difficult you could barely understand her. She is obviously comfortable with what she says as she says it all day long, but keep in mind it’s my 1st time, so SLOW DOWN FOR TRAVELLERS!! You might know what you are saying but I wanted to pull my hair out!!! It was actually painful listening to her, so monotone and slurred between both languages. Disappointing really! We got off.

Now there are other buses that have pre-recorded narrative on them in like 8 languages. You get head phones for free and you plug them in and listen, but that isn’t as much fun as the young guy, Nigel, but it’s a nice alternative to the lady.

Good value, great way to see the city, but beware of the hard to understand lady tour guide. Find Nigel who was very interactive and enthusiastic about what he did and the city!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ExitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berlin City Tour - City Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Berlin City Tour - City Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing