We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”
Review of Hotel Altberlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altberlin
Ranked #344 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We picked this hotel because of the location, price and free wifi. All of them are good with this hotel. The memorial for the murdered Jews, Tiergarten and Sony Center are all just a short walk away. The nearest subway stations are only two or three blocks away too. The breakfast was good, especially the selection of different teas was nice. They even had an electric kettle and different tea bags with introductory descriptions in the room, which was a nice touch. Just before leaving I took a look under the bed and realized that it was probably never cleaned from there... Also, our room was basically at ground level and facing the inner yard, so people's voices from there came in quite clearly when there were any people there. Other than that the stay was very pleasant and I'd have no problem coming here again.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms facing the inner yard get the noise from there quite clearly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeroOne3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    113
    51
    25
    12
See reviews for
38
110
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

3 of us stayed in the Hotel Alt Berlin for 7 days at the beginning of September. The hotel was easy to find from Potsdamer Platz station, but it does take about 15 minutes on foot so maybe
take a bus (M85/M45) or taxi if you have luggage.

It is well-connected with a bus stop right outside and both U-Bahn and S-Bahn stations within walking distance.

It had a very 'traditional' style which went from the staff uniform to the breakfast bar. I found this quite quirky and fun, however I can appreciate this wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea, no key cards and electronic doors here. Though reception was manned 24hrs a day you had to press the bell outside for entry and collect your key from the desk.
The interior corridors were reminiscent of an old theatre. There is a lift, however you still have to walk up or down a small flight of stairs to get to your floor.

We had a 'triple' room which was actually a double room with a camp-style bed which was a little disappointing. However the room was of adequate size, with a reasonably sized bathroom. The corner bath was large, and had a shower however there was no wall mounting so you couldn't stand under it as such.
There was both an espresso machine and a kettle in the room. It also had a small balcony which was a nice bonus.

Most of the staff were very friendly, spoke very good english and seemed happy to help.

Breakfast was a bit hectic as there weren't enough tables for all the guests, also staff didn't seem to be communicating with each other as we got moved twice as our table was given to another couple. The actual buffet was of good quality and there was a good selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, croissants and jams as well as eggs and crispy bacon.

I'd recommend this hotel if you're on a city break and after something a little different.

Room Tip: If there are 3 of you, enquire as to weather they have a room with all 'proper' beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonkeybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

What an excellent little find! The hotel Alt Berlin offers a quirky alternative to the run of the mill chain hotels you’ll usually find in most cities and at a bargain price. We stayed here for 7 days in September and really enjoyed the mix of older style décor and homely feeling. Our room was lovely with a four poster bed, decent sized bathroom and balcony to the front where we could sit and watch the world go by. The staff are generally quite friendly and helpful (except for the scary barman who genuinely seems to despise serving people drinks) and are happy to give local advice, travel tips etc., and went out of their way to get hold of gluten free bread for my partner. The breakfast buffet is excellent and extremely varied, offering something for most tastes. The location is also good, ideal for the S-bahn, U-bahn and bus service which stops right outside the hotel and takes you straight into the city centre. For those who don’t mind, it’s only a 15 minute walk to Potsdamer Platz from the hotel and around 20 minutes’ walk to the Brandenburg Gate, Reichstag and lots of other main attractions. I would however suggest that you take a taxi or the bus to the hotel when you first arrive as dragging your suitcases down Potsdamer Straße for 15 minutes trying to find the hotel isn’t much fun!

The drawbacks were the third bed, which was akin to a camp bed in size and comfort. Most people won’t have 3 people sleeping in their room like we did, but if you do then you might want to swap around one night to give everyone a go in one of the comfy beds. Not a massive issue really... Another small niggle was that they only provide one feather pillow per person – again, not a huge issue unless you’re allergic to feathers (like me) and prefer to sleep with more than one pillow. Lastly, a small suggestion would be to put a better system in place during peak times at breakfast. The dining room is quite small, especially when the hotel is fully booked and everyone comes for breakfast at the same time!

This being said, we still had a great stay at the Hotel Alt Berlin and would definitely recommend it to anyone else visiting Berlin. Fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: A lot of people have suggested asking for a room at the back overlooking the courtyard as it's q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james_chairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We liked the room, the staff was very helpful, and it was a nice change from the usual impersonal chain hotel. The breakfast was very good and on the last day, when we had to leave very early, they provided us with a nice packed one to take with us to the airport.

Another advantage was having a bus stop right in front of the hotel, from where we could get directly to Alexander Platz or to the main train station.

There are a few things that could be improved: on the first couple of days, when the weather was very hot, we would really have appreciated air conditioning, as the room was very hot even at night. Also, the building being very old, parts of the floors/stairs are rather uneven and could be a bit dangerous (in fact an elderly lady did trip over while we were there...). If it is not possible to actually fix the problem, perhaps a few more warning signs might be useful (e.g. by the main entrance where the floor suddenly dips...). But we'd still be very happy to go back and we'd certainly recommend the hotel to friends who intend to visit Berlin.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you like a chain hotel don't visit. This hotel has a character of it's own. The rooms that we stayed in had high ceiling - something akin to the film Cabaret.

The buffet breakfast was more than ample for our little party. It filled you up for the day.

The hotel lift had the weather forecast for the 3 days ahead. The wi-fi is free, all you need to do is ask the receptionist for the password. It is changed daily.

Quite convenient for the centre of Berlin. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel door. A few minutes walk down the road will take you to the U-Bahn and S-Bahn stations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotswhahae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff is very friendly, the location is quite good, is clean and nice, the breakfast is quite good, is an option that i highly recommend, it is very good service, quality and price. I would definitely return and recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and we chose it because of its character, so we knew what to expect. We enjoyed our stay in the old style rooms and the awesome breakfast in the historic dining room. It is close to the center of Berlin; we walked, but you can take a bus too. We liked the availability of secure parking ($) and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff, available 24 hours. We would stay here again when in Berlin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
B&B Hotel Berlin-Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
fjord hotel berlin
fjord hotel berlin
#88 of 634 in Berlin
447 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Maritim Hotel Berlin
Maritim Hotel Berlin
#108 of 634 in Berlin
1,228 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Delta
Hotel Delta
#420 of 634 in Berlin
281 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Residenz Begaswinkel
Hotel Residenz Begaswinkel
#347 of 634 in Berlin
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altberlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altberlin

Property: Hotel Altberlin
Address: Potsdamer Str. 67, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#114 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altberlin 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The turn-of-the-century style hotel Altberlin is located directly on the Potsdamer Platz in Berlin Mitte, right in the centre of the capital. Even after extensive renovations it has been able to restore its nostalgic charm.Its rooms, furnished in the Wilhelminian style, are unique in Berlin, wedding all modern comforts with the cosiness of the historic Berlin ambient.It begins as soon as you arrive, as we welcome you in our 'parlour', which leads directly to 'Rike's Gasthaus' (Rike's Restaurant). Coffee, selected beers and historic Berlin specialities - we serve them all to you in our typical Berlin atmosphere.In close proximity of our hotel you will find the 'Wintergarten' Varieté, the Philharmonic orchestra, the cultural centre, the national gallery, the 'Potsdamer Platz' and the Sony Centre with all its interesting architectural redesigns. The Brandeburg Gate is just a 20 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altberlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altberlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing