We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Large Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
California am Kurfurstendamm
Ranked #231 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Large Rooms”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

On stepping into my room on the 4th floor, I was simply not impressed at all. The room was small and cramped, however, it was very clean. It had a tiny bathroom you could hardly move in and it was very dark. The decor was old and faded, probably from the 1980's. If it had been rated a 3 star hotel, I would have been more than happy to have stayed in the room. After several complaints, I was upgraded to a more superior room, which I could not fault. The breakfast was very good, with lots of variety and the staff on the whole were very nice.

Excellent location, just minutes from the 'underground', zoo, shopping areas, restaurants, coffee shops (Starbucks was 2 mins away) and bars. No tea and coffee facilities in the room, but I guess this may be standard in European hotels. Also 2 mins away from the 'hop on, hop off' bus.

Overall I would recommend a stay at this hotel. Stayed 5 nights.

Room Tip: Would recommend paying a little extra for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaDoll-111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    405
    244
    63
    48
See reviews for
201
404
75
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torrevieja
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a great Hotel and recommend staying here, as with previous guests the breakfast menu has everything that one could wish for, even the coffee is very very good. The only thing against, we were in room 322 for the past week and the walk to the elevator was a route march to get to the breakfast room including two lifts, worth it in the end. But could put me off staying again. On the plus side it the short walk to Savignyplarz where there are Restuarents from all over the world at a fair price for the area, also the S-Bahn station which puts Berlin at your finger tips. I would stay again but only if I could select the room in which to stay,

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Spanishjohn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caringbah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great location for transport, shopping, restaurants. Clean, well furnished, comfortable sized rooms- plenty of floor space for luggage without having to trip over it. Great breakfast room with wide variety of buffet choise. Only draw back in high Summer - room was a bit hot & stuffy as ventilation is based on a heating system - not airconditioning - and stuffiness could only be avoided by having window open with consequece of suffering Street noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków, Malopolskie, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location, can be easily reached by car or tube, or just on foot. The staff varies from those who seem to be on training ("I booked a parking" "no M'm you didn't" "But I surely did, look at the confirmation" then just silence, no apologies or explanation...) to really friendly and helpful ladies taking care of you bill to be properly issued or iron board delivered. Rooms also vary, from spacious and comfortable with a bathtub ( poorly lit though, try to put your make up with no light) to tiny ones with doors collapsing with your bed and simple shower, from very quiet facing the backyard to noisy front appartments. So just make sure to get the better one, for the same price. The bed however with really good selection of pillows and nice duvet, comfortable materace of just the right flexibility. So I slept very well actually.
The breakfast room is superb, with the view to the street, the food just right, nothing special to either good or bad extreme. I'd rather stay somewhe else just for change.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka_superstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel California is a nice hotel situated central at the Kurfürstendamm. Nice rooms, friendly stuff. Breakfast was a bit crowdy and simple, but acceptable. Nice bar. Rooms have been large enough and comfortable. Choose rooms at the opposite of Kurfürstendamm so its more silent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First, be advised that no one helps you with your bags or your car. Unlike other hotels we have visited in Germany, no one came and offered to valet park our car and no one offered to help unload our bags. In fact, a young gentleman at the desk watched me as I struggled to put our bags on a luggage cart while my husband went to a public parking garage with our rental car. Next, I went to the room and found it had no AC. First I was told I was crazy that I did not know how to turn it on and later they brought a small fan. It was 28 degrees in the room, hotter than the hallways and we finally had to move from our suite to a tiny room with air conditioning in the part of the hotel that had AC. When I complained to the manager the next morning, she stated that our confirmation did not mention AC and so we should not have expected AC and that although they had suites with AC, they were taken and our only choice was to move again to a larger superior room and then to a suite on Sunday. Our schedule was so tight we just stayed in the tiny superior room with a small balcony. They reduced the fee for the first night by 10 Euros for our inconvenience of moving rooms at 1:30 in the morning and gave us each a free drink in the lounge. On Sunday, when we asked for help locating the nearest Hertz return location, the young man at the desk replied, "don't you have a navigation system?" He did not even want to help us place a restaurant reservation for the evening, but finally reluctantly did so.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bink_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have just returned from a short break in the City of Berlin, staying at the excellent Hotel California, situated on the smart side of the city, on the Kurfurstendamm. We had an excellent stay, albeit our room on the quiet side of the Hotel, was a tad small, but as we planned to "sight see" this wasn't a problem, the attentive staff more than made up for any shortcomings of the room. We can recommend the buffet breakfast which, was hearty and included a good choice of Hot food, and the usual continental selection, cold meats, cheese etc, considering the size of the Hotel, and the accommodation fully booked, breakfast tables were always available, and quickly cleared, for waiting guests. The Hotel is situated 5 minutes from the Zoological S Bahn station, adjacent to where all the hop-on hop-off tourist buses depart, a definite plus. We recommend, the cocktails or Coffee taken outside in the street cafe, and just simply people watch.. its free

Room Tip: High floor, rear of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 600Jacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Best Western Plus Amedia Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#79 of 634 in Berlin
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hollywood Media Hotel
Hollywood Media Hotel
#74 of 634 in Berlin
813 reviews
Charlottenburg
AZIMUT Hotel Kurfuerstendamm Berlin
Charlottenburg
Hecker's Hotel Berlin
Hecker's Hotel Berlin
#123 of 634 in Berlin
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California am Kurfurstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California am Kurfurstendamm

Property: California am Kurfurstendamm
Address: Kurfuerstendamm 35, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel California)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#127 Family Hotel in Berlin
#144 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#166 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — California am Kurfurstendamm 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic ambiance meets big city modernity. In excellent location at the Kurfuerstendamm, the world famous boulevard, our hotel is situated in a building combining history and design. 160 Rooms and suites equipped with modern interior combined with perfect service offer highest comfort. The modern spa sees to relaxation from urban life in Berlin city center west. A bar with a boulevard cafe and a backyard in the quiet courtyard invites to rest. Hotel California combines tasteful elegance with historic charm - such a lovely place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your California am Kurfurstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Am Kurfurstendamm Berlin
California Am Kurfurstendamm Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing