We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
California am Kurfurstendamm
Ranked #240 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel California such a lovely place! Stayed in room 417
Room: cost and well insulated didn't hear any outside noise!
Good power shower (a must for me)
Comfy bed
Clean
Suggestions:
Sort out the wifi range very slow
Add a kettle to make tea/coffee

Food: great breakfast selection and plenty of room.great service

Hotel staff: brilliant,friendly and all of them are an Asset to this hotel, even printed off travel options for us..nothing was too much!

Location: couldn't get better, awesome local pub directly opposite the hotel called kings..try it!

Overall : would definitely stAy with them again on my next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwick80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was clean and nice and as expected for price. Location was great, close to shopping, zoo, public transport ect. The major downfall of the hotel was the service from staff, from the moment of check in. A smile goes a long way. Staff did not make you feel welcome and seemed very uninterested in doing their job.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Did not expect a 5* hotel, may be not even a 4* at my moderate prebooked and prepaid rate. But considering the price, this was excellent!! Unbeatable location! Fast and friendly check-in and check-out. Elevator was a bit slow. Very reasonable prices for the minibar: 2 EUR for water or CocaCola, 3 EUR for beer, 5 EUR for wine! All my requests regarding the room were respected. My room was quiet and clean. Very good breakfast was included. Really nothing that I missed in my short 1-overnight stay. This hotel is on my list for future stays in Berlin (and I know many, *** - *****).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freqtravmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed for two night in room #654 (standard dbl room). Clean room and bathroom, a nice small balcony with a view over Ku'Damm. Comfy beds with pillow menu! Minibar with good prices for being at a hotel. Big breakfast buffet with both hot and cold dishes as well as salads, more different items than we usually get. Free wifi, but didn't work very good. U got outlogged all the time and once it worked it was slow. The staff were nice and friendly. Good location, just outside a subway station and you can easily go to Zoologicher Garten (big station) by foot within 10 mins. Nice bar inside hotel with great wines and not over priced :) I am def gonna stay at Hotel California again once I get to Berlin if I find it for such a good price as I did this time (120 Eur for 2 nights - 1 person in a standard dbl room).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyCarlzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I see previous reviewers have listed this hotel's only attribute..it's location, close to a U-bahn at the end of the u1 line. Any day other than Sunday the shops would be really handy, but Sunday they are closed, apart from Starbucks a couple of blocks way. Staff in the hotel friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet was OK, rooms comfortable with individual quilts. The height of the shower head becomes an issue if you are vertically challenged, as the water is colder by the time it reaches you, but that's what happens if you are short.
Also found somebody who must be the only person to use those wretched sewing kits that are left in hotel rooms, as they left the needle and thread on the floor, which the cleaners missed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 395Andy_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked a two-man's room in this hotel from 21 to 23 of January. The location of the hotel is very central - lots of shops near by, and you have access to buses, trains, cabs. And I think the facade of the hotel would be appreciated more on summer days, because they have Al-fresco right there. The buffet complimentary breakfast is great. You have lots of choices and the dining-area is huge enough to accommodate the guests without a fuss. But the room that we had was not as huge as it was in the picture. Also, you can hear from inside your room if there are people walking near by. The bath-tub wasn't big enough as well. Though they were generous with the complimentary toiletries. With regards to room-cleaning.... I think they should work more on that. Our room was not cleaned at all, they just replaced the towels. This hotel can be rated as a 3-star hotel. PS: Oh, and the phone was not working.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and stayed 4 nights at this hotel from 4 January. It is ideally located on the Kurfurstendamm, and there are many restaurants nearby. Probably not a 4-star hotel but very comfortable, particularly if you are upgraded to a superior room which is a good size and which we received as part of the booking together with the 4th night free. Breakfast is very busy at weekends, but the staff replenished the buffet well. Staff are very helpful. Would recommend it if you want a good hotel at a reasonable price in the heart of Berlin.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are at the back of the hotel and are well-insulated from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobforblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hecker's Hotel Berlin
Hecker's Hotel Berlin
#122 of 634 in Berlin
376 reviews
Charlottenburg
Best Western Plus Amedia Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Ku' Damm 101
#83 of 634 in Berlin
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Bleibtreu Berlin by Golden Tulip
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#121 of 634 in Berlin
782 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California am Kurfurstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California am Kurfurstendamm

Address: Kurfuerstendamm 35, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel California)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#146 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#166 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $69 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — California am Kurfurstendamm 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic ambiance meets big city modernity. In excellent location at the Kurfuerstendamm, the world famous boulevard, our hotel is situated in a building combining history and design. 160 Rooms and suites equipped with modern interior combined with perfect service offer highest comfort. The modern spa sees to relaxation from urban life in Berlin city center west. A bar with a boulevard cafe and a backyard in the quiet courtyard invites to rest. Hotel California combines tasteful elegance with historic charm - such a lovely place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your California am Kurfurstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Am Kurfurstendamm Berlin
California Am Kurfurstendamm Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing