We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
Ranked #329 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The neighborhood offers a good blend of non-touristy quality and easy access to transportation. There's a nice casual feel to this district which benefits from the beautiful church and elegant courtyard architecture nearby. There's a wide range of restaurants within walking distance and Victoria Park about six blocks away has a beautiful stream/waterfall and park up the hill which offers a nice panorama to get your bearings. The amenities here were important to me. These were the in-room WiFi, I-Phone port so you can listen to your own music, coffee/tea kettle and an elevator if you are too tired to take the attractive stairway. The only annoyance was that since my room was on the street side it was noisy with the windows open. At night with no AC, it becomes pretty stuffy with them closed. The breakfast was good in the attached restaurant. The price for dinner there was was high but it looked like it was well patronized by locals. This place offers a pleasant alternative to the high-end hostel/guesthouse or the mega-hotel scenes.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms off the street would be quieter at night with windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank godago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 61 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

Back in the 80's I was stationed at Tempelhof Airport, just a few blocks from the Riehmers Hofgarten. I used to walk by and gaze wistfully in the windows, telling myself that one day I would come back to Berlin as a civilian and stay at the hotel. Well, I finally did, in 2005, when I came to the now reunified Berlin on my honeymoon. My wife and I had a wonderful stay in one of the regular guest rooms and hoped that we'd eventually be back. Well, five years later we returned, this time with a young daughter. During this trip we decided to stay in the Hotel's apartment, which I highly recommend for families. It was spacious, and had a gorgeous view through the enormous windows overlooking the courtyard. But really the best thing about the Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten is the fabulous breakfast served every morning in the restaurant. The Brötchen are simply to die for (see my photos). We can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suburban_light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Andreas at the desk was an terrific resource, spoke English well and was very thoughtful. The rooms are light-filled with high-ceilings, modern furniture and extremely comfortable futon-style mattresses and pillows. The double-paned windows and dark curtains kept things quiet when I needed to sleep. The iPod stereo was a plus, as was FREE in-room Wi-Fi. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The location is EXCELLENT, just a short 2-block walk to the Mehringhamm U-Bahn (subway) station. Kreuzberg is a super-cool, multi-ethnic neighborhood with tons of restaurants & shops within a few blocks of the hotel...but the hotel is removed enough to be elegant and quiet too. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
3  Thank SBlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

A friend and I stayed at the Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten recently. We arrived tired and a little grumpy, and were greeted by a friendly smile from the receptionist.

As we walked in the door she said "oh, you must be the girls who phoned. Your room is ready for you" which immediately made us feel welcome.

She also loaned us the hotel's laptop so we could access wi-fi in our room. This was a godsend.

The room was clean, simple and comfortable. Complimentary apples and a knife, which was a nice touch.

The next morning was Easter Sunday, and were were delighted to find a chocolate bunny sitting outside our door.

Breakfast buffet was delicious - boiled eggs, smoked salmon, cold meats, museli, yoghurt, pastries and much more. Receptionist and breakfast waitress again very smiley and kind.

We had to leave straight after breakfast (this was only a short stay) and the receptionist happily phoned us a taxi.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Very comfortable hotel, located in a strategic position.
The rooms are clean, big and even ours, which was located on the street side, was not noisy at all.
Excellent staff, very friendly and cooperative.
Good balance between price and quality.
...last but not least ....the restaurant of the Hotel has an excellent food...try it !!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FRANZISKA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

I can see how one could have a high quality stay here, but our stay was far from exceptional.

As per the other reviews, the positives are:
- clean, comfortable rooms with double windows you can open
- friendly, helpful staff
- good quality restaurant in the building
- in a fun, seemingly safe area

The negatives are:
- no a/c (a problem if streetside)
- on a very busy street (requiring choice between hot or noisy room)

Also, the weekend we stayed had a local festival in the street on one evening, which we didn't know about and the hotel didn't let us know at all - we arrived back from a long day's cycling and walking to find a street party (loads of drunk folk, broken bottles and thunderous dance music) which wouldn't have been a problem if it wasn't such a surprise and we could have planned for it!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

My daughter and I spent 5 nights here at the end of June, and had a wonderful time. The manager of the hotel, Herr Andreas Krause, was so welcoming and helpful with directions, suggestions, fixing my daughter's cell phone, etc, etc. The hotel has recently renovated an apartment which we moved into our 2nd night(180 euros) which was fabulous-- felt like we had a really cool apartment in Berlin! The rooms are huge, quiet and sunny.It is in a beautiful old restored courtyard and was well worth the extra expense. We had started off in a room facing the street which was lovely, except with the windows open, it was noisier than I would like. (The courtyard rooms were booked for World Cup.) The street-facing rooms are fine if you have earplugs or keep the windows closed, but the courtyard rooms are my first choice.
We had dinner several times at e.t.a. hoffmann, the restaurant in the hotel. The food was delicious and interesting, and the ambience was delightful-- very relaxing and the three young servers are all so nice. It started to feel very homey!
The neighborhood in Kreuzberg is great; not touristy. We loved the area and felt very safe and comfortable. It is a short walk from the hotel to the Mehringdamm u-bahn stop which will take you anywhere. There is a nice park, Victoriapark, nearby and good restaurants within walking distance.
The things we liked most were the friendliness and kindness of the people working there, and the fact that the hotel seemed to have Europeans, including Germans, staying there. We didn't hear a lot of English spoken, except for me! The staff speaks English and everyone was nice about it. I highly recommend the Riehmers Hofgarten if you would like a friendly, non-touristy place where you will feel at home.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank surie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
#168 of 634 in Berlin
175 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Transit
Hotel Transit
#328 of 634 in Berlin
171 reviews
Kreuzberg
The Yard
The Yard
#347 of 634 in Berlin
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Acama Kreuzberg Hotel+Hostel
Kreuzberg
Hotel Angleterre
Hotel Angleterre
#161 of 634 in Berlin
1,533 reviews
Kreuzberg
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
#159 of 634 in Berlin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten

Address: Yorckstr. 83, 10965 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Flair Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $109 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing