We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gendarm Nouveau
Ranked #154 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not only is it in a fantastic location, with good transport links, wonderful local attractions and some good restaurants in the area, the hotel itself was great. The service was excellent, the rooms modern and comfortable. Breakfast was perhaps a bit overpriced and I was surprised that something that seemed to have been renovated so recently had no airconditioning - particularly because I was there in June when it was warmer. But overall, a great experience. I will stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 331 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Was a really wonderful experience. Would love to stay here again.

We arrived early and got an early check in and an upgrade. The room is modern, clean and beautifully designed. The bathroom was large and the beds were really comfortable. Only problem was we didn't want to leave the room!

The continental breakfast had great quality food. I like that if you pre-booked it was discounted, but you were only charged if you actually had the breakfast.

Location is walking distance to so many tourist attractions and right across the road from the metro.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It's a great little hotel in a great location. But I was at the front of the hotel and experienced disturbed sleep due to noise from the streets - I had to have the windows open as there was no AC or Fan .. and the room was hot without the window open. I also found the pillows far too soft and loose to be comfortable. Otherwise a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely, small and friendly hotel with great location, easy walking distance from many of the Berlin sights. If you do not want to walk, the subway is just around the corner. Tip: If you are 4-5 persons, buy "Gruppenkarte" from the ticket machine, it allows you to travel all the day in Berlin for EUR 15,50, you just need to travel together.
Rooms are lovely, modernly decorated with spacious bathroom, also very clean. We paid some extra and booked a room with air condition and got a wonderful room with even a small balcony overlooking the Gendarmenmarkt. We did not use the AC, it was not so warm, we just left he balcony door ajar for the night and were not bothered about the noise in the street. We stayed four nights and slept like logs after huge German dinners and a couple of night caps at the very reasonably priced hotel lobby bar. Friendly staff, very good breakfast. We will give full points for this hotel. and whenever in Berlin, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pirjo_Jari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. It was a real find. The hotel has been beautifully renovated and the rooms are lovely, spacious, clean, fantastic bathroom and a most pleasant and helpful staff and the price is right!!!!! I would say that the only drawback might be the lack of airconditioning, though we were there just last week (August 4-9) and the nights were cool and breezy and the lack of airconditioning was not a problem. Also, no need to spend 16 euros for the hotel breakfast as there are many cafes in the area that are open for breakfast as well as the food court in the Q Center right across the street.
To make the stay even better is the LOCATION of this wonderful little hotel. Located on the corner of the beautiful Gendarmen Market you are literally in the center of all of the wondorous sites and museums in East Berlin. We were able to walk anywhere and everywhere --the farthest walk being about 35 minutes --and that was due to my slow walking husband!!! There are countless restaurants of every price range and food types right in the area.
The Underground is right on the corner and the hotel is a short ride from and to the Tegel Airport.
The taxi was about 19 Euros and the TXL Bus to and from the airport is about a 7 minute walk from the hotel.
Again this hotel is a JEWEl and for LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION well, I've said it all.

Room Tip: We had an inside room and our son had a room facing the street. A bit of street noise on the weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a good hotel in the middle of Berlin. Great location and very clean, modern design rooms. The hotel is somewhat small with a tiny lobby that includes a small bar. There is a breakfast room on the first floor and the one day I ate there, the food was decent.

I liked my room- a decent sized double bed that was quite comfortable, a good sized desk with plenty of accessible power ports. Wifi was free and worked well - though you have to get a new password each day from the front desk.

As a few others have noted, there was no air conditioning (though I don't think this is unusual for Berlin) but it did mean a slightly stuffy room given the hot weather.

Lots of nearby restaurants and Checkpoint Charlie is a short walk away.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Hotel Gendarm Nouveau is a very, very good hotel. The location is terrific, walking distance to the Potsdamer Platz and Checkpoint Charlie, and dozens of great restaurants, cafes and bars. The atmosphere is of a boutique hotel, with a lobby that is almost too hip, sporting a tiny registration desk and fairly tart reception staff. But the rooms are extremely generous in size and quite luxurious. You do want to be sure to request an "inside" room, as the rooms facing the street are far too noisy for sleep during the warm summer months, when you must have your windows open to avoid the stifling heat. I don't know what it is about German hotels, but for all the vaunted German engineering prowess, NOBODY in this country seems to know how to air condition a hotel. At the Gendarm Nouveau you MUST REQUEST an air conditioned room, and they are limited to the top floors of the hotel. Nonetheless, as mentioned, and interior room will serve quite well, as the windows open to a quiet courtyard so you can let in the night air. My room was gigantic by European standard, with a very large walk-in shower AND a big bath tub, more than adequate for soaking. Comfortable beds, fast wireless internet, and an excellent breakfast buffet round out the scene. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Interior room during the summer months; no air conditioning, so you'll need to open your windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holokauahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
Mercure Hotel MOA Berlin
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
TITANIC Gendarmenmarkt Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#67 of 633 in Berlin
4,689 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte am Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gendarm Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gendarm Nouveau

Address: Charlottenstr. 61, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#111 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#128 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $117 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gendarm Nouveau 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most beautiful places in Europe.To keep Berlin and the Gendarmen Markt in wonderful remembrance,the Gendarm nouveau Team will give its best to create you an awesome time through charming service, little surprises and great comfort during your stay.We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gendarm Nouveau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gendarm Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing