We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #133 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Convenient location between the Kurfurstendam and Alexanderplatz, with the Tiergarten nearby. Very comfortable bed and spacious room which was surprisingly quiet considering the size of the hotel. Excellent value for the high standard. We were lucky to spot a deal on Trivago and were very pleased that we made this choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear JMc_8,

thank you very much for your nice feedback!

It is very nice to see that you had a really nice stay here at the Grand Hotel Esplanade.
We would love to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,050)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 2,050 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Back in Berlin for yet another conference. Chose the Esplanade based on pirce and proximity to conference activities. Excellent choice. Check-in was efficient, friendly and courteous with impeccable English from the concierge. Rooms very spacious for centre of a European city, with extremely comfortable bed. Windows open - a huge bonus for me as I detest sealed hotel rooms. Excellent shower with Hans Grohe Raindance shower head - great way to start the day. Breakfast is a little pricey at Euro 20/day but of very high quality with a large array of choices. The large outside covered terrace by front entrance was a great spot to relax with colleagues after a long day of meetings. Location excellent as well with Tiergarten, Zoo and Potsdammerplatz all with within a reasonable walking distance. Didn't have time to use them but hotel also has bicycles for rent. All in all, a great location and one I would definitely use again - for business or pleasure. Didn't get excellent rating as wifi not included in room rate - was priced reasonably but still...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Roger61Texas,

thank you very much for this nice review and your recommendation to other Tripadvisor user!

We hope to see you soon back in the Grand Hotel Esplanade.

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Grand Esplanade is new, clean, well maintained hotel in central Berlin. Close to major sights and shopping. However, only Kurfurstenstrasse area is within walking distance. Otherwise a taxi is needed every time.

Service in nice, polite and effective. Rooms are pleasant. Hotel restaurant is mediocre, certainly not gourmet.

However, do avoid room on 2nd floor. Floodlights illuminating the hotel are just 10 m distance from the room windows - also illuminating everything inside. And, really there is a charge for the use of Wi-Fi.What time and age are we in?

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear travelerHelsinki,

thanks for this nice review and your recommendations to future guests.
We hope to see you soon back in Berlin.

Kind regards from Berlin to Helsinki

Kevin Kadric
Grand Hotel Esplanade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was the first time we had stayed at this hotel on our visits to Berlin and would definitely stay again. The location is good, the 100 bus which runs between the Zoo and Alexanderplatz stops a couple of minutes walk away from the hotel and these are very frequent. It is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest underground station where 4 of the lines stop. The staff were all very pleasant, the lobby is impressive and the rooms are very spacious. The bed and the linen are fantastic. We had breakfast included and there is a massive selection of very fresh foods. The price was very reasonable and less than we had previously paid at other 5* hotels. The only negatives are a few things have to be paid for such as the sauna at 9 euros which given the size of the pool I feel the sauna should be included, films are 12 euros and 50 plus you also have to pay for wifi which in this day and age should be included at 5* hotels. Also some facilities are small for the size of the hotel, as mentioned before the pool and also the breakfast area can be cramped depending on what time you go. Overall though an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancashire50cent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Lancashire50cent,

thank you very much for this nice feedback and for your recommendation.

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Was there for several days for a visit in Berlin and its surroundings. The hotel is a walking distance from a bus and subway station. However its a rather long walk to the subway. Room was pleasantly big and very clean and well maintained. Wifi comes at a price and so is the mineral water left in the room. Breakfast is plentiful and varied with nice quality products.the only throwback was when one morining we were escorted for breakfast in the hotel bar and the food was laid up in a backroom because of a convention that took place in rhe the hotel. All and all it was a very positive experience with a reasonable cost bought as a deal from our travel agent.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank octapack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear octapack,

thank you very much for this nice review.

We hope to see you soon back in the Grand Hotel Esplanade.

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My friend and I ended up at the Grand Esplanade around 11pm as the hotel we were supposed to stay was very disappointing. I called the Grand Esplanade quite late and the Receptionist was very helpful and find a room for us despite the hotel being very busy that night. Arriving in this hotel at night is quite something! The lights, the music, the beautiful hall make you feel like a star! :-). The fire place is amazing. The room was very light, clean and spacious. Nothing bad to say about it. We enjoyed going to the swimming pool, which has a weird triangle shape. Unless you want to do tons of laps, this is perfect. :-) You have to pay to use the sauna room though.The breakfast is wonderful. One of the best I ever had. So much choices! Everything is fresh and taste delicious. The breakfast room is spacious and quiet and the staff very friendly. I really can't fault this place and prices are very reasonable compared to other luxury hotels. The location is also very practical and pretty central. We walk to Postdamer Platz and Tiergarden for nice little walks and restaurants. I really recommend this hotel and will not hesitate to book a room there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MademoiselleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear MademoiselleB,

thank you very much for this nice feedback!
It is very nice to see that you had a really nice stay here at the Grand Hotel Esplanade.
We would love to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very friendly staff, excellent location, very nice room and excellent service. I took part in the Marathon and I asked for a late check out. I was offered check out at 3 pm on Sunday. Very nice. A cosy and nice hotel with a very good atmosphere. Nice breakfast, nice bar and the restaurant (Eck) also very nice with special dishes for the marathon runners.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Edith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHE_Berlin, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear 3Edith25,

thank you very much for such a good comment on your stay here at the Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin. We would love to welcome you again to the next Marathon in 2014.

Kind regards

Kevin Kadric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#30 of 635 in Berlin
1,907 reviews
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#28 of 635 in Berlin
2,466 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 635 in Berlin
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#113 of 635 in Berlin
2,836 reviews
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Address: Luetzowufer 15 | 10785 Berlin, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Business Hotel in Berlin
#79 Family Hotel in Berlin
#98 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $117 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin, the German capital's premiere lifestyle hotel. Our hotel is situated close to all the hotspots of the city: between Kurfurstendamm and Potsdamer Platz, the triumphal column 'Siegessaule' and the Tiergarten district. Experience Berlin's culture and urban style with us, because we are lively, cosmopolitan and completely individual. Enjoy the ambiance of our generously proportioned, elegantly appointed rooms and bath in the natural light streaming through the large-area panoramic windows. Relax in ergonomically designed armchairs, snuggle up in our soft and cosy feather duvets, and simply enjoy the warm and welcoming service our house has to offer. The motto for our 354 rooms and 40 suites could most certainly be 'soaring high above the city', as our large-area panoramic windows offer fantastic views of the capital. These views are surpassed only by our luxurious suites with roof terrace. Sauna and whirlpool round off this truly amazing offer. A business gala for 350 guests or a birthday dinner for 10 - we will help you plan your event and will make sure that it will be absolutely unforgettable. And of course we are very well aware of the fact that the key to success is in the minutest detail. Whatever you want - Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin will help you put together a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing