We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #128 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel was perfect, all the staff were really friendly and welcoming. They helped us with finding our way around and getting a taxi was no problem. The only negative is the location of the hotel, you have to get taxis to most places which can add up if you're a younger couple, along with the bar downstairs being pricey too (however the drinks were well worth the price!). The room was gorgeous, the quilts and pillows were so comfy and we enjoyed every part of our stay at this hotel. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    714
    201
    72
    32
See reviews for
251
653
172
593
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
221 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotels in Germany are in general functional. This hotel surprised me: It was functional, but more than that. It had a nice design, great bars and very friendly employees.

Two comments: the atmosphere in the breakfast restaurant is unpleasant: It looks like a conference room. The other one is typical German: They heat up the rooms very warm and there is no way of cooling it down because the air conditioning is switched off. In a five star hotel the guests should have the choice of temperature in their own room, but not in Germany....

Conclusion: Great hotel with good service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingdutchmannl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

In hotel for a conferance. By departure i noticed that my laptop was gone. Receptionist took note and said they will check housekeeping. (He was not suprised) promised that I will be contacted by the insurance from hotel. After one week waiting I contacted the hotel, excuses and somebody called me and promised to send form. Never received. Again a request from me, again a promise, no reply. Bad bad bad. Never go their again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel's service staff is terrible. The service was very very poor. We think for a good location and look, we expected much less than what we got. The staff would not assist us with WiFi and laptop got stolen from bedroom. Even the hotels general manager's assistance was completely useless and unhelpfull after we complained!
Service is worst than terible!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed at The Grand Esplanade once prior to this recent visit and have found the rooms excellent, the staff very helpful and the food good and reasonable and it is a nice walk to the sites.

All were the same this time apart from my colleague having her laptop taken from her room while we were having dinner in the restaurant. Very difficult and unfortunately the hotel were not very helpful so just a warning not to leave anything of value in your room even if the hotel if 5*.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for a conference we had in the Messe in Berlin.
The hotel is modern, nicely decorated, the staff is friendly and the prices of the room were quite decent. Breakfast was good as well as both bars. Only downside: the rooms are hot! I have experienced this all over Germany, as soon as it gets cold just a bit they open the heaters and when there is no air-conditioning this is an issue, especially if you, like me, like a cool room at night! Yes, a window can be opened but on both sides of the hotel you will find busy streets, so at night this is not great. Parking facilities are good, but 20 euros(!) a night. In the vicinity there are enough things to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ереван
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have booked 2 rooms by exclusive offer.
But all impressions were completely spoiled after the hotel kept the deposit 3 times more than the total amount of living and didnt return the money for 2 month.Every time there were some excuse like technical hitch.
So I dont understand in wich questions German are functual?????????????????

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dommosed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
InterContinental Berlin
InterContinental Berlin
#27 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Westin Grand Berlin
The Westin Grand Berlin
#94 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade

Property: Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade
Address: Luetzowufer 15 | 10785 Berlin, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#53 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#58 Business Hotel in Berlin
#79 Family Hotel in Berlin
#95 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade 5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin, the German capital's premiere lifestyle hotel. Our hotel is situated close to all the hotspots of the city: between Kurfurstendamm and Potsdamer Platz, the triumphal column 'Siegessaule' and the Tiergarten district. Experience Berlin's culture and urban style with us, because we are lively, cosmopolitan and completely individual. Enjoy the ambiance of our generously proportioned, elegantly appointed rooms and bath in the natural light streaming through the large-area panoramic windows. Relax in ergonomically designed armchairs, snuggle up in our soft and cosy feather duvets, and simply enjoy the warm and welcoming service our house has to offer. The motto for our 354 rooms and 40 suites could most certainly be 'soaring high above the city', as our large-area panoramic windows offer fantastic views of the capital. These views are surpassed only by our luxurious suites with roof terrace. Sauna and whirlpool round off this truly amazing offer. A business gala for 350 guests or a birthday dinner for 10 - we will help you plan your event and will make sure that it will be absolutely unforgettable. And of course we are very well aware of the fact that the key to success is in the minutest detail. Whatever you want - Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin will help you put together a memorable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Berlin Grand Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing