We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Ranked #22 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This will be one of those hotels I remember and compare others to. There's very little wrong with it. Firstly, please note, this is geared as a business hotel and is run by a corporate chain so you won't have the personalised touches that you would from a family run hotel.

Location: It's 3-5 mins walk from Potsdamer Platz on the S-Bahn and U-Bahn. Berlin is slightly too spread for most people to walk only and the train/metro(tube, subway) comes in very handy. I would recommend the 3/5/7 day tourist travelcard as it gives you a discount to tourist attractions and is only a little bit more than the usual 3/5/7 day travelcards.There's a shopping centre opposite if you find you've forgotten anything or wish to buy anything.

Room: The bed is very comfortable, room spacious and bathroom is decent size with separate shower and bath. Also separate toilet cubicle, albeit within the bathroom. The things which i really liked were the little touches like; the heated floor in the bathroom, tv in the bathroom with speakers, apples in the fruit bowl, apple dock connected to the tv and aveda products in the bathroom.

Spa/Swimming facilities: I didn't use the gym but the swimming pool is a really decent size for an indoor pool and has quite a nice view of the concert halls nearby. The jacuzzi is lovely, especially after a long cold day. There is also a steam room, sauna, plunge pool and relaxation area. Towels, robes, slippers and toiletries are all provided within the spa area and there is always staff around to help.

I didn't eat at the restaurants which appeared to be a little dear, from what I can remember and room service which was also in line with 4/5* hotels which I also didn't try.

If I return to Berlin, this will be the first place I will check for prices and availability.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londoner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,112
    581
    126
    50
    20
See reviews for
361
1,137
212
819
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I cannot recommend the Grand Hyatt in Berlin highly enough. The staff are friendly and the service is excellent - they go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. I would recommend paying extra for a Club room on 7th floor, so that you can enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and personal service provided in the Club Lounge - a welcome retreat on a very cold day. The spa and pool area are very good too, with great views across the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leningrad90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Excellent location (by Potsdamer Platz, 5 mins from Musical instrument museum and Sony Centre with English language cinema and Berlin Phil; 10 min walk to Holocaust Memorial, 15/20 min walk to Brandenburg Gate). Stayed in Executive King on 7th floor - fabulous rooms with most amazing bathrooms ever! Half normal bathroom with underfloor heating, and half wetroom (with pull across door). Incredibly comfortable King size bed - slept like a log. Access to Exec Club Lounge with breakfast and coffees, teas, drinks and water included. Service could not have been better - our flight home was cancelled and they phoned the airline for me, spoke in German, then handed the phone across to me for me to hear that my flight had been rebooked for 3 hrs later. I put the phone down and they handed me my new key cards having automatically extended our late check out for another 3 hrs free of charge! Cannot recommend highly enough - would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

After a year of work travel and staying at 9 Hyatts in 5 countries I was sadly let down here, after paying for an executive suite with lounge access, my first atempt to get to the lounge it was full so we sat in a side meeting room, (if the hotel was full maybe this should have been set up ready)
It's the first Hyatt which i have stayed at where the gym has a better view than the lounge!! The well equipped gym over looks the city of Berlin, with the pool on the next level up looking over a different part of the city in a 'loft style' feel.

I guess half the hotel rooms have internal views which i had not been able to discover before arriving so our room on level 3 looked over the lobby roof an into other rooms of the hotel.

The standard of the room was high, very clean, the shower 'wet room' was very good with it's under floor heating.

But overall I was left with an empty feeling, this is a modern 5 star hotel better suited for the business stay, nlot one of my best ones this year... I'd recomend it by with reservations..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forward_cabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanary-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

One of the best hotels I have stayed in worldwide. Superb service from each and every member of staff. Beautiful large bathrooms. Automated blackout blinds. Good breakfast buffet. 2 minutes walk to S and U Bahn. If you book in advance you can get an excellent weekend rate at the sub-200 EUR level with b/fast, which is a steal for this city and this location. I challenge anyone to find a better hotel in Berlin at this rate. You simply won't. The only minor niggle: the water in the rooftop pool was too chilly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

The Hyatt is a very nice hotel. Right around the corner from the Sony Center and Ritz Carlton.

The check in staff were great, offered to take me to the room incase I didn't know where it was.

The room was very clean and nice, bathroom was absolutely awsome.

Hotel was absolutely great from the check in to check out, with friendly staff and good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sohan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

The Berlin Hyatt is a fantastic hotel! It is similar to the Park Hyatt properties in Washington DC, Chicago, Milan and Paris. The rooms are sleek and comfortable with wonderful bathrooms. The fitness center is outstanding. The service is impeccable - probably the best I have encounterned in the past several years. The location could not be beat - right in the heart of downtown Berlin - and accessible to all attractions and transportation. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,129 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,528 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,314 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Property: Grand Hyatt Berlin
Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#10 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#12 Family Hotel in Berlin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing