We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Service”
Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Ranked #18 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

As usual, lovely stay in the Hyatt, central enough to be able to walk to a number of the tourist sites and museums as well as a number of decent enough restaurant's locally. Can not fault the staff at all, provided excellent recommendations for food and provided an excellent service when we needed them. The spa was a little busy but that was just down to it being Easter. The rooms were lovely, clean, well furnished and the Vox restaurant was very good quality and worth eating out if you dont want to leave the hotel. Breakfast was rather on the pricey side so we avoided paying the 35 EUR and save that money for a nice lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor User,

I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to share your experience at Grand Hyatt Berlin. All of us here really appreciate it.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your kind words of appreciation are what motivate our team most, so you can be sure that your appraisal will be passed on to my colleagues.

For your next stay, may I recommend mesa restaurant, where typical German food is served family-style in a relaxed, stylish atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Berlin in the future!

Kind regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,430 - 1,436 of 3,167 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt during ITB in March this year and I found that this hotel lived up to it reputation.
Check in was fast and the team was courteous.
The room was good, I would have preferred some fruits at least on check in ( I paid Euro 305+tax for BB) per night but there were 2 small toffees on the table!! Nonetheless, the room was clean and well kept.
The F&B was good, the Breakfast buffet was well spread out with an array of choices and eggs made to order.
I dined in their fine dining and found the food was excellent but the service didn't complement the food, was a bit chaotic at times but managed to regroup.
Definitely would recommend for a business traveler.

Room Tip: The room has two pin plugs so make sure you travel with an adapter, the reception does have some tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience of Grand Hyatt Berlin.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Hyatt Berlin during ITB. I also carefully read your remark regarding our service. We place great value on our service quality and I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations this time.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to Berlin!

Best regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent three nights at Grand Hyatt during the Easter holidays, at a quite convenient price thanks to early booking. The Hotel is everything you would expect from a five star: impressive lounge, smiling and super caring personnel, extra comfort room with big shiny bathroom. It's not their fault if it kept snowing for three days, or if we did not visit their famous fitness centre. Almost perfect picture. It's a bit of a shame that breakfast is so expensive, and that they do not offer free wifi (no, this is really not up to five star!). But.. hey, there's a Starbucks just opposite the hotel, and - even better - the cosy Balzac coffee in Potsdammer platz, open from 7 to 23, where you can enjoy croissants, orange juice and fast connection at around 5 euro.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experiences at Grand Hyatt Berlin.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your Easter holiday in our hotel. Your kind words of appreciation is what motivates our team most to continue providing excellent service, so be assured that I will pass your feedback on to my colleagues.

For your next stay, perhaps in summer, I would like to recommend our sun terrace on the rooftop with 250 square metres of lawn. You can also enjoy our Hyatt Business Plan package, including free WiFi, breakfast, the washing or ironing of one piece of clothing per room per day, a daily bottle of mineral water and a daily newspaper.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Loved this hotel. It's well located near to the U and S bahn and the Brandenburg Gate and there's an 'interesting' selection of restaurants in the Sony Centre (although that's for another review). We stayed in an 'ordinary' double room which was fab. The bathroom had two separate entrances, a separate toilet and a TV. The bed was to die for - the best night's sleep I've had in a hotel, helped by the blackout blinds and the effective sound proofing. The service was efficient and friendly. We had some filming going on for a short while outside our room and we found a bottle of wine on our return to apologise for any disturbance. The spa is also well worth a visit. The pool and jacuzzi are clean and warm with great views and the treatment I had was great and reasonable for a hotel of this standard. We got a really good deal through expedia. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Berlin.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wowfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor User,

I would like to thank you personally for having taken the time to share your experiences and we very much appreciate this.

I was pleased to read that everything was to your satisfaction at our hotel. We place great value on our guests’ comfort and wellbeing in our luxurious environment and I am delighted that your expectations were met.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Berlin in the future.

Kind regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently stayed here for a few days purely for fun. Location of this place is great and is within walking distance of most of the city centre sights and just round the corner from the u-bahn. There are plenty of decent shops and restaurants all within a few minutes walk at most and so if you are staying in Berlin this location is hard to beat. The lobby was a bit dreary but there is a very cosy lobby lounge and restaurant with a small open fire which is a nice touch. Check in staff were very good and efficient. I stayed in a grand king on the third floor facing the inner courtyard (quiet but no view) which was a little small for two people but not too bad. The decor was looking a little tired but again it was ok. Two big irritations with the room are the ridiculous tv package with hardly any channels and the crazily expensive wifi. The first one I can live with not being a big tv fan but the second is completely unacceptable for a five star hotel. It was cheaper for me to use data roaming on my mobile phone just to put it into perspective (Starbucks over the road offers free wifi though and also will save you having to spend 70 dollars per day on breakfast for a couple - which is also madness). The next big annoyance was the housekeeping which totally failed to clean my room on one day despite me having the 'please clean my room' thingy on for several hours, and when I called them to have it done they eventually got round to it in a half-hearted way leaving dirty coffee cups and so on. At first I thought it was just a one off but I notice several others have also commented on similar occurrences so it sounds as if housekeeping at this hotel is generally inadequate.
It's not all bad though, I had a couple of very good meals here, the bathrooms were pretty decent, and there is a nice pool on the roof that is large enough to do some lane swimming in and has some great views. There is also a decent looking gym but I didn't use it.
Special mention should go to the concierge who got me a hard to get table at the very last minute which was quite impressive.
I wasn't sure whether to give this three or four dots but most of the hotels I have given four dots for generally had larger rooms, free or very cheap wifi, cheaper breakfasts, better tv, better bathrooms and competent housekeeping, so three it is. In general, this hotel needs to up its game if it wants to compare favourably with competing brands.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give extensive feedback. I appreciate you sharing your experiences at Grand Hyatt Berlin.

I have read your comments and please rest assured that they will be taken seriously. I am especially sorry that our housekeeping service did not meet your expectations and I ask that you excuse this isolated incident.

We are constantly working on meeting our guests’ expectations and making them feel comfortable in a luxurious environment. We have recently redesigned two of our floors and one more is yet to come.

For your next stay, may I recommend our Hyatt Business Plan package, including free WiFi, breakfast, the washing or ironing of one piece of clothing per room per day, a daily bottle of mineral water and a daily newspaper.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Precision perfected. Everything works in Germany and this hotel works even better. Location is great since you can easily walk to the Reichstag.

With a very interesting boutique interior, this hotel never feels corporate. The art throughout is bold and starts with the red painting upon arrival, continues with a huge vessel with hundred of flowering plants. Check out the thousands of hanging stones on the I believe 4th floor elevator landing. Rooms are spacious and quiet. Amenities and linens are luxurious.

Restaurant VOX is great and their bartenders are true mixologists. The lobby bar is lively and its fare more affordable than VOX. Breakfast is maybe a bit pricey at 34 euro....

Amazing process of check-out where same bellman gets your luggage and your car, so you don't need a fistful of euros to tip a whole crew. While 'garage-parking' is advertised, you can also your car valet-parked.

We found the rates very reasonable for this top-notch hig-quality hotel. We will return. We will recommend.

Room Tip: High floor, facing the casino and music hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walthervliegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences at Grand Hyatt Berlin. We very much appreciate this and I would like to thank you personally for doing so.

It is a great pleasure to read your kind words of appreciation. I was especially pleased to read that our service met your expectations. We work hard to provide excellent service to make our guests feel welcome and fully satisfied and we are happy that we can count you one of them. Your appraisal is what motivates our team most so you can be assured that your kind words will be passed on to my colleagues at Front Office and Vox Bar.

I was also happy to read that you were inspired by our hotel-owned contemporary art collection. We are proud to be a place where art and architecture meet and contribute equally to our guests’ wellbeing.

For your next stay I would like to recommend our spa on the top floor with spectacular views of Berlin. Our range of treatments will leave you fully rejuvenated.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Hyatt Berlin in the near future.

Kind regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This Hotel was located in a very Central location of Berlin in the Mitte area. The subway was only a 4-5 min. walk, the Sony Center is 2 min. away and the Teirgarten Park, Brandenburg Gate and German goverment buildings just a 10-15 min walk with many other sites in between. The Hotel staff is very friendly and they all speak different languages and are very fluent in English. The Hotel can remind you in some ways like the "W" brand of Hotels but this is better. The bathrooms are modern and the rooms themselves are quite large (much more so than London, Paris and New York). I would suggest getting the breakfast included as there is a very good variety of food and eating outside near the sidewalk was a great start to the day. I would plan on visiting spring to summer as Berlin winters can get cold and nasty. We availed ourselves to the bikes the Hotel provides @ about 15 Euros a day and rode about 15 miles or so. We parked our bikes for lunch and shopping and returned that evening. This is a good bargain 4 star Hotel. Not a Ritz or Four Seasons but a perfect selection all the same.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipper w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBerlin, Manager at Grand Hyatt Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor User,

Thank you very much for your extremely positive feedback and for the time you took to share your experiences.

I have read your kind words of appreciation and you can be sure that I will share your sentiments with my colleagues. Your appraisal is what motivates our team to continue to provide excellent service every day.

I was also pleased to read that the spacious rooms and modern design of our five-star hotel was to your taste. We place great value on the comfort and well-being of our guests whose satisfaction is the best compliment.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Hyatt Berlin in the future!

Best regards,

Frank Heckelmann
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,719 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,403 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#23 of 634 in Berlin
1,997 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#14 of 634 in Berlin
3,613 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#9 Family Hotel in Berlin
#9 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $153 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing