We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific spa, not bad bathrooms, tasteful decor”
Review of Grand Hyatt Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Ranked #22 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrific spa, not bad bathrooms, tasteful decor”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed two nights in November 2012. I liked the modern, understated decor, with some large art installations on every floor as you exit the elevator. The rooms were good, clean and fairly typical Grand Hyatt (not especially memorable, but comfortable). The shower and tub were separate, and the showerhead was big and shower pressure was quite good.

There were electronic blinds, which we made use of because we faced an office building. The bed was quite comfy; I had a good sleep on it, though not as good as the Ritz Berlin bed (which I also just reviewed on TripAdvisor).

The location of the hotel is good in terms of being near public transportation and tourist sites. It's not a great lively place to hang out, though, and we ended up taking the S-bahn or U-bahn every evening to go to Mitte, Prenzlauer Berg or other places. We plan to return to Berlin--when the weather is better!--and will stay in Mitte or somewhere else with a bit more nightlife.

The highlight of the Grand Hyatt is the spa upstairs. A stainless steel tank of a pool with a wonderful city view, another steel tank hot tub, steam room, relaxation room also overlooking the city, plenty of space...definitely a must-do if you stay at this hotel. I think a lot of people who don't stay at the hotel also come use the spa, so it can get busy, but the two times I went it was not overly crowded.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room that doesn't face the office building? Otherwise you have to keep the blind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,113
    581
    126
    50
    20
See reviews for
361
1,137
212
820
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We liked the location of Grand Hyatt Berlin very centrally, easy to travel everywhere. Our room was large and cute. Overall we enjoyed our stay in our first visit in Berlin. We recommend this as a good five star hotel in Berlin. We will return again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
253 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This Hyatt is right in the middle of the city only 1 mile from the heart of East and West Berlin's and in walking distance to the Potsdamer Platz and Brandernburger Gate. (For our american friends, the US ambassy is only 5 min walking away) Large rooms with all you need in a Five Star Hotel. Large showerheads in a very spacious bathroom. Strong Wifi signal and media center within tv. The staff at check in is extremely competent and friendly. (well trained obiously) Didnt use the restaurant but enjoyed the German Break breast with loads of fresh fruit. The gym on the top floor has excellent views of Berlin and up-to-date equipment. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with Berlin view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stalenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was for a conference, and it is a super smart hotel.
The room was spacious and well designed, only slight snag was being overlooked by the office next door, which wasn't a problem until it got dark and I had the lights on , but the heavy curtains came down automatically ( at the press on a button)...so attention to detail

The food laid on was exceptionally good during the conference.

The bar could have stayed open later, but at 5am they were probably doing us a favour.

Super location with a Christmas market opposite and loads of shopping opportunities, the Brandenburg Gate was a mile away and the airport about 20 minutes

Would love to go back there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My first visit to Berlin was this december. We booked 3 rooms in the Grand Hyatt Hotel to visit the Christmas Markets in the German capital.

Having visited numerous 5 star hotels in the past I was wondering whether this hotel could stand out a little. I think it did.

We chose this hotel because of its central location near the U-Bahn (subway) and the Friedrichstrasse (shops and chrismasmarket)

We received three renovated rooms which were perfect in every way. The rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated.

Every renovated room has a Bang and Olufsen television set, very nice indeed. All lighting and even the curtains are controlled by remote.

Unfortunately there was a lot of dust floating around in the room, probably because of its newness. Also the temperature in the room was a bit high. Adjusting the temperature was not possible of the noise the airconditioning makes at night. Opening a window was also a no-no because of the street noise (even at level 5!)

The breakfast in the hotel was perfect in every way, Very extensive and luxurious. The hotel also has a perfect SPA, wimmingpool and fitness area. Very recommendable.

All in all: a very very good hotel, worth visiting!

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room on a higher floor (5/6/7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuaveRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here on my own for 2 nights, my friends had booked into a new hotel in the old East Berlin. I wanted to stay somewhere different and with a spa. The staff were charming apart from the room maids who woke me up at 8.15 a.m on the day of check out for no apparent reason. The spa staff were also exceptionally helpful and made a point of showing me where to go and get changed etc. Pool nice apart from a shrieking toddler which disturbed all the adults slumbers.
Overall a very nice hotel although I felt it was more like a 4 star hotel than 5 star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Excellent business hotel. The location is great, close to the Potsdamer Platz. From the entrance i had got a nice welcome from the concierge and reception. The hotel staff is so welcome and so courteous I had visited a few hotels in Berlin and can say that here is the best personnel. Lobby is decorated in a minimalist style, nothing more, but this design helps to relax or concentrate, depending on situations. Room has cozy atmosphere, nice bathroom with glass door, brochures about Berlin are always helpful.
The SPA is located on the last floor with amazing view on a city! But pool is small for 5*hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milana_msc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,130 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,528 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,314 reviews
Charlottenburg
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Berlin Marriott Hotel
#24 of 634 in Berlin
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Berlin

Property: Grand Hyatt Berlin
Address: Marlene Dietrich Platz 2, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#10 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#12 Family Hotel in Berlin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innovative design, clean-cut lines, first-class natural materials and contemporary art are characteristical for Grand Hyatt Berlin located at Berlin Mitte, close to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Reichstag. The 342 luxurious guestrooms and suites are equipped with B&O flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi. Grand Hyatt Berlin features restaurants Vox, Tizian and mesa, Vox Bar and Club Olympus Spa & Fitness on the rooftop which offers a large pool, cutting-edge fitness equipment, a sauna and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Berlin
Berlin Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing