We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable, but many point of improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ranked #125 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Reasonable, but many point of improvement”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stylish hotel, belonging to the Spanish Melia-group, but without the Melia-standard.

plus:
+ location
+ clean
+ new
+ breakfast (but it costs 19 euro!)

minus:
- extremely slow reception (10 minutes to check out per person??)
- you hear your neighbours through the walls
- bed not very comfortable
- pillows are just empty bags
- no free internet
- too warm

all combined: reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    282
    94
    18
    5
See reviews for
35
277
38
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We were in Berlin to go party at Berghain and around the east. Most of the parties are within a few km of this hotel making it a great launching point. Enjoyed our stay here, the staff was nice, the rooms were clean.

We had no internet access in our room. The hotel provides internet through T-Mobile hotspots and the hotel is not very well wired up. It was a bit annoying to have to go down to use the computer in the reception area everytime we wanted the internet. It also made iPad usage a real problem.

At the price this hotel charges, they really should ensure that all rooms have WiFi...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tritiumnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed in the Innside hotel in August 2011, for 4 nights, specifically booked the hotel for its proximity to the Beer festival which was taking place over the weekend around the corner. The hotel rooms were large and had clean. Pillows left alot to be desired which seem to be the norm for alot of the large German hotels, large square cushions. Once you get over the shower being in the bedroom everything else was great. didnt order room service although the room menu seemed really quite reasonable. The one downside to the room was no tea and coffee making facilities which I have to say i already knew about prior to arrival but would have been a nice touch. Had a few drinks in the hotel bar which seemed to close when ever they were not too busy, which could range from 22.00 to 01.00, staff were all very helpful in both the bar and hotel. The area is not where i would normally stay in Berlin and I have stayed in most of them, there is not a great deal to do there especially at night, although some of the little bars and vans around the station didnt seem to close. Would prob stay there again for the beer festival but will go to other areas of the city on my next visit. Good flea market in the area on Sunday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindyloo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

First time in Berlin hotel very nice would go back here again staff very nice and helpful train station within 5 Min's walk. Hotel rooms very nice but shower set up a bit strange tho it only bothered my wife. Room large and very clean slept with windows open no noise at all. The Hotel is in a very quiet small road by some open and dark land felt a bit uneasy at first but not unsafe. There are some bars and restaurants close by but they seemed a bit seedy. Hotel bar and restaurant nice but breakfast bit expensive at 19 euros.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

No Air Conditioning, Threadbare sheets with holes, Poor Value for the Money, Not a 4 star quality hotel. Isolated location, Strange room set up, with open bathroom inside of the bedroom and overpriced. Do not stay here, there are many other fine choices in Berlin....I mistakenly thought that this was the Melia near the Spree River, which is a good hotel...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Really good hotel. Only 2 mins to the Ostbahnhof. Very clean, friendly staff and overall good value for money. Would stay again if I go back to Berlin

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetT15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here in June and overall we had a great experience with the hotel. The rooms are modern and spacious, however there is no air-con in the rooms so you need to leave the windows open to get any bit of air into the rooms. As the weather was very warm while we were in Berlin (24C-30C) we left the windows open all day and all night!

Location wise, the hotel is very conveniently located to Osbahnhof station (about 2 minute walk). This station is on the train line from the airport and only 1 stop away from the main train station (where you can get trains to Reichstag, Zoo, etc). It took us a few minutes to find the hotel when we got to the train station because the hotel is not on a main street. The area itself seemed safe and was very quiet.

The breakfast was good, plenty of choice and plenty of food. The breakfast room is quite small given the size of the hotel though.

There is a large garden with tables and chairs for guests to use. The bar is very expensive but I guess that's standard for all hotel bars!

There is a Lidl and numerous other shops located in the train station.

The only complaint we had about the hotel was that we requested a double room when booking and when we arrived we were booked into a twin room. We mentioned this to the person who checked us in and he said that our booking had come through on their system as a twin room and there were no double rooms available for the duration of our stay so we couldn't be moved. However, the next morning we mentioned to a lady at reception that we were booked in a twin room but had requested a double. She checked our booking on their system and said we should have been booked into a double room and changed rooms for us straight away!

Overall we realy enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinnywinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
#42 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Kreuzberg
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Friedrichshain
InterCityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Friedrichshain
Holiday Inn Berlin - City East Side
Friedrichshain
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
#167 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof

Property: Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Address: Lange Str. 31, 10243 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Innside Premium Hotels Berlin)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#121 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#126 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home - in Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof - right next to the Ostbahnhof and the East Side Gallery! The central location in the capital allows both the business and the leisure travelers all areas of Berlin can be reached quickly and easily. The hotel enjoys a historic façade. It is comfortable and contemporary in design. Functional rooms in different categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a historic building. You can also benefit a leafy courtyard, meeting rooms and a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innside Premium Hotels Berlin Hotel Berlin
Innside Premium Hotel Berlin
Sol Melia Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing