We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ranked #138 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Really good hotel. Only 2 mins to the Ostbahnhof. Very clean, friendly staff and overall good value for money. Would stay again if I go back to Berlin

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 626 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here in June and overall we had a great experience with the hotel. The rooms are modern and spacious, however there is no air-con in the rooms so you need to leave the windows open to get any bit of air into the rooms. As the weather was very warm while we were in Berlin (24C-30C) we left the windows open all day and all night!

Location wise, the hotel is very conveniently located to Osbahnhof station (about 2 minute walk). This station is on the train line from the airport and only 1 stop away from the main train station (where you can get trains to Reichstag, Zoo, etc). It took us a few minutes to find the hotel when we got to the train station because the hotel is not on a main street. The area itself seemed safe and was very quiet.

The breakfast was good, plenty of choice and plenty of food. The breakfast room is quite small given the size of the hotel though.

There is a large garden with tables and chairs for guests to use. The bar is very expensive but I guess that's standard for all hotel bars!

There is a Lidl and numerous other shops located in the train station.

The only complaint we had about the hotel was that we requested a double room when booking and when we arrived we were booked into a twin room. We mentioned this to the person who checked us in and he said that our booking had come through on their system as a twin room and there were no double rooms available for the duration of our stay so we couldn't be moved. However, the next morning we mentioned to a lady at reception that we were booked in a twin room but had requested a double. She checked our booking on their system and said we should have been booked into a double room and changed rooms for us straight away!

Overall we realy enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinnywinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Positives
- Really close to a train station (Ostbahnhof). 3 min walk.
- Very big room. We had room 204 and there was at least 1-2 meters of space all around the bed
- Very quiet room. Our room faced onto the large internal courtyard. We slept with the windows open on a Saturday night and it was completely silent.
- Very, very clean rooms. I could find no mould, dust or stains (and I looked!)
- A desktop computer with Internet access in the hotel's office is available free of charge to guests. 
- The staff are very helpful. I rang down to the restaurant/reception quite a few times during our stay to request things like additional pillows, bowls, tea cups, hot water to make tea etc. The staff were very nice and had the items to us in the room within 5 - 10 minutes. 

Negatives
- The hotel has no free wireless. Some rooms (not all) have access to the T-Mobile hotspot network which costs around €5 per hour. I did know this when I booked the hotel - but if they did have free wireless it would have made our lives a little easier.
- The hotel isn't in an area with restaurants, bars, shops etc. The train station is very close (which has the usual fast food venues and a supermarket). The hotel seems to be in an area with homes and offices. I prefer to stay in a hotel that's within a 5 min walk of restaurants, cafes and shopping. The neatest cafe strip is apparently Boxhagener Platz which was 1.5 - 2km away. We didn't go there.
- The bathroom does not have a door and the shower is a clear cylinder in the room. There is no privacy. This was no problem for us...but might be VERY awkward for some guests.
- Irons are not available in the rooms. My husband had to go downstairs into a room where an iron and ironing board could be used. He said it had something to do with fire safety standards...

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbitrarydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

great hotel in a great location. Rooms were huge. Best value hotel I stayed at in Europe for a long time.

I was travelling solo so it was fine, but for those travelling with friends - the shower is a glass "bowl" in the bathroom with no doors - so bear that in mind.

Berlin is a great city and I would definately stay here again.-

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaelsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

after a disappointing start when our travel agent supplied us with directions to the wrong Melia, we were at first disappointed with the location as it seemed somewhat a way out of the city, however after a good nights sleep in the lovely comfortable bed we soon found out the the station was literely just around the corner with a superb service into the centre.
Hotel exceptionally clean, staff very friendly and helpful and the food of good quality.Room was spacious and the blinds helped to keep the room cool.
only slight drawbacks.Didn't like the open plan bathroom with the clear glass enclosure (nor even a modesty panel) and also feel that for a 4**** hotel bathrobes should have been provided and not have to ask for them and also a proper safe should have been in the room. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel twice and now booked a third. its so easy to get to from the airport and really close to the city. The staff are fantastic can't help you enough. The rooms are so modern and if you get one of the central showers you can have a lot of fun with your other half! The bar and breakfast area are lovely, we often had a nighcap in there. Breakfast was lovely too good options and as much as you wanted. Room was cleaned every day, hotel overall is spotless throughout. Courtyard is lovely to sit in for early evening drinks before going out lovely touch like complimentery nibbles from the bar. All in all fantastic hotel, nearby local fast food is also great! Try the aisan lady in who cooks the noodles just by the station entrance. Only one thing, take your own travel kettle no tea or coffee making in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehumpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend for 4 nights at the start of May as part of the standard special promo on expedia. Let me list the good and the bad.

good:
- Extremely clean
- very modern
- Fantastic service (allowed us to check in at midday, was always helpful, funny, good english, and always had a smile) They told us how expensive internet was and that we could use there front desk computer for emails. They also let us print out a 14 page document for free.
- Pretty good location - 5min walk to the trains
- Good cheap markets nearby.
- Very quiet.

bad:
- Strange square pillow design that I just could not get comfortable on. When asking for a different pillow which was a little harder at the front desk, they had none.
- I think it is standard with European hotels but wireless internet was way too expensive - 8 Euros an hour! Lots of free wi-fi cafes in Berlin if you bring your laptop.
- Bathroom is awkward - It has an open window to the bedroom, lacking a little privacy.
- Room was a little tiny for a 4 star hotel.
- no air conditioning and was quiet warm despite it being cool outside. Could control this by having the windows open.
- It was advertised a double bed on our booking, unfortunately it was just 2 singles pushed together. It made it very hard for me and my girlfriend to get cozy with the big split down the middle.

So all in all, I don't think this is a 4 star hotel. It has some exceptional elements, but others thet dissapoint me regarding the room and its comfort. But I think most people will still enjoy there stay here as it passed my main checklist of Service, Location, affordability, and cleanliness with flying colours.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woolmerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
#54 of 633 in Berlin
313 reviews
Friedrichshain
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
#192 of 633 in Berlin
959 reviews
Kreuzberg
Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
NH Berlin Alexanderplatz
Friedrichshain
IntercityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof

Address: Lange Str. 31, 10243 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Innside Premium Hotels Berlin)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#121 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#126 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $53 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home - in Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof - right next to the Ostbahnhof and the East Side Gallery! The central location in the capital allows both the business and the leisure travelers all areas of Berlin can be reached quickly and easily. The hotel enjoys a historic façade. It is comfortable and contemporary in design. Functional rooms in different categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a historic building. You can also benefit a leafy courtyard, meeting rooms and a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innside Premium Hotels Berlin Hotel Berlin
Innside Premium Hotel Berlin
Sol Melia Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing