We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Berlin City South
Ranked #209 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I have visited this hotel for 3 years now for the annual World Money Fair in the nearby Estrel Convention Center . It is ideally located for this near Alexanderplatz . Rooms are very comfortable , warm . Would help to have a room safe and some clothing cupboards that close but apart from that cannot fault it . Excellent breakfast is included in the room rate and again there is free WIFI which I look for in hotels for my business . Very pleasant and helpful staff .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucetupholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 572 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in January 2012. Yes, it's noisy, as others have mentioned, and if you're a light sleeper bring earplugs. Otherwise a good location: U-bahn station round the corner and a bus stop right outside - and the bus takes you straight to the main station via Potsdamer Platz. Very handy. Breakfast OK (no bacon though), room pleasant and clean, staff friendly (note that the guy at reception also has to act as barman), free wifi; in short, if you just need somewhere to sleep while you're out in Berlin all day, it's fine.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed here while on a R&R trip around Europe (Jan 2010). We were able to drop our bags and park in a garage just down the street. The hotel was clean and easy on the buget. The breakfast area is on the top floor and offers a nice view of the surrounding area and the food was pleasant as well. We were able to walk to walk a short distace to the metro train station and were quickly in the city center where we took a hop on/off bus tour. If your looking for a nice Budget hotel this is it.

Oh and the drain is on the bathroom floor for a reason, so don't put anything on the floor you don't want wet. but nothing a towel on the floor won't fix.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wvtravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting my niece who lives in Neukolln. This hotel definately lived up to my expectations. Traveling alone, I ordered a single room. Nice size room with a single bed, chair, desk, TV etc. Nice bathroom with good shower. I had no problem with the bathroom becoming soaking wet as has been mentioned here. Lots of warm water with good pressure. Nice helpful front dest. a small bar and a few tables and chairs in the lobby. Breakfast was good. Fresh food both warm and cold. Good selection of cheese and lunchmeat, fresh fruit, cereals, fresh bread etc. My room was on the courtyard side of the hotel and was very quiet. I could easily have the window open. I noticed that there is two areas in the courtyard with tables and chairs which would be very nice in the summer. The hotel is very close (21 steps) to Hermannplatz where the is a big department store. There are many shops and resturants in the area which is actaully on the border to Kreuzberg. Two subway lines go from Hermannplatz.. One just several stops from Alexzanderplatz. This hotel may not be in mitte or the major attractions but because of the close location to the Ubahn, nothing is that far away. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Oh....and there is free wi-fi.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the courtyard side....to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAC1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Good location (although not excellent): a stone's throw from a subway station, but not in a walkable distance from any major attraction. The room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Free wi-fi Internet in the rooms.

The cons: the hotel is located in an intersection between two important streets, so the traffic noise is considerable. The TV set in the room was very small and outdated (CRT).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This hotel is located on the corner of two very busy streets, which means that most rooms suffer from a lot of traffic noise throughout the night. This includes car horns and sirens of emergency services, which will probably wake you up a few times (though we slept ok after a busy day of sightseeing). However, the Hermannplatz U-bahn stop is right around the corner, which is very convenient, and we were generally not bothered by noise from other guests. The area doesn’t have many restaurants or bars, but be sure to ask for a map with recommendations at reception because there are some within walking distance.

Our room had a double bed, two chairs, a small desk, a very small television and a luggage area next to the door (big enough to store and unpack a small suitcase). It had air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi, though to access this you need to get a 24-hour access code at the reception desk (and you don’t get access codes for every day of your stay at check-in). The hotel also advertised free coffee and tea facilities in the rooms, which as it turned out had to be requested first. We did this soon after arrival, but were told they could not be delivered until the next morning--not very convenient if you stay for one day!

Our bathroom had a very small shower area with one of those shower curtains that insists on clinging to you. Unfortunately this meant that even with a short shower the bathroom would be soaking wet, and we had to sacrifice two of our towels each day to make sure we could go to the toilet without getting wet feet. The wash basin in our bathroom was leaky, but this actually didn’t matter at all because we had to put towels there anyway because of the shower. This wetness was reflected in some moldiness between the tiles. On the other hand the cleaning staff (which did a fine job) did clean our room early each day, which confined the water problem to the mornings.

Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The room was quite busy and so was the staff, which did not appear to have time to actually notice any guests. Service at the reception desk, in contrast, was friendly albeit a bit cool. The reception area also features a small lounge, public toilets and a luggage storage space. Perhaps one of the most interesting services of the hotel is free access to a fitness center at the Karstadt across the road (though we did not use this).

One thing to be aware of is that the hotel allows smoking in many of the rooms and in the common areas. Although you can request a non-smoking room when booking this is not guaranteed. Also, the hallways and elevators tend to smell like very well-used ashtrays.

To summarize: Noisy location but easy access to the U-bahn. Good service, clean, but our bathroom was inconvenient and wet. Breakfast was adequate and hotel facilities were above average.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badeendje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We are staying here right now, since they won´t let us out of our four day-deal. We ordered it on the internet, but found out we would like to leave after two days. The staff wouldn´t under any circumstances let us out of the internet deal, even though we offered to pay for the most expensive days in the itinary etc. I have never experienced such an unflexible hotelpolitic. Un the ups are free acces to a really nice gym across the street, a great breakfeast, free newspapers, clean room, free internet, friendly staff sometimes and a great location. On the downside is that the rooms and the hotel in general is not cosy at all. You don´t feel like staying in the rooms which has terrible lightneing, old tvs and almost no decor at all. The same goes for the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rejsende5487478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Motel Plus Berlin
Motel Plus Berlin
#256 of 634 in Berlin
186 reviews
Kreuzberg
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
#152 of 634 in Berlin
274 reviews
Neukolln
Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neukolln
Hotel Prens Berlin
Hotel Prens Berlin
#374 of 634 in Berlin
150 reviews
Neukolln
Hotel Erlanger Hof
Hotel Erlanger Hof
#312 of 634 in Berlin
72 reviews
Neukolln
Hotel Britzer Tor
Hotel Britzer Tor
#451 of 634 in Berlin
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Berlin City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Berlin City South

Address: Sonnenallee 6, 12047 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Neukolln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $49 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Berlin City South 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Berlin City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing