We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip
Ranked #270 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“City break hotel”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, good for city transport, plenty of amenities nearby, good selfservice breakfast, we agree with other reviews the room would benefit from tea & coffee making facilities. An excellent choice for this type of break

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    114
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
49
103
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
richmond
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Friendly welcome. Clean and comfortable room (but agree with other reviewers that a kettle & cups would be welcome). Staff all pleasant and helpful including coping with a dairy-free diet. The small restaurant offers a limited but good range of meals if you don't want to go out and try the varied fare on offer nearby.

Although it is not located in the city, it is very close to both U-bahn and S-bahn stations and the day tickets are excellent value for money for travel by U-bahn, s-bahn, tram and bus and the main attractions are within easy reach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferroequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

And such a lovely Hotel to act as our base for this city visit. Clean and modern rooms with excellent staff for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. They were helpful and very polite and friendly.
The weather was cold and snowy, unusual for spring, but it was always a pleasure to return to a smiling face and a cheery reception.
Limited Menu but the food quality was excellent.
A must for a summer return I think.
In-room Tea/Coffee making facilities would be my only extra request but service was good in the top floor restaurant so not a huge problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at Domicil Hotel, Berlin in December 2012, and we loved it. Staff very professional, room very nice, spotlessly clean, hotel very warm which was good as it was snowing and very, very cold outside. Breakfast was self service and had a good selection for everyone, we ate so much we did not need anything until evening time. My only criticism was no tea or coffee facilities in the room. Hotel is unusual as entrance door has a lift which takes you to the reception on 7th floor. Hotel in good location and near to underground and easy to get to centre of Berlin, trains run every 5 minutes and we never had to wait long at any time of the day. We bought daily travel tickets for train/tram/underground or bus for 6.95 euros, which we thought was a bargain as we could get on and off train all day long any where in Berlin, we bought the tickets from hotel reception..
Hotel deserves it's good rating and we would definitely recommend it.
The hotel is about 30 minutes on the autobahn (train) from Schonfeld airport.and cost 3.75 euros per person, get off at Charlottensburg and it's a short walk from there. Trains run every 30 minutes and is about 300 yrds from arrival lounge, buy your ticket inside the arrival lounge at information desk who will give you times, walk out of airport lounge, turn left and follow glass walkway to underground station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just returned from a city break at this Hotel....staff very helpful & friendly nothing to much trouble, Rooms spotless fresh towels each day....would highly recommend this hotel....will be returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

room was very comfortable and spacious, also very clean as well as the hotel itself, .had a kettle, fridge,stove, cups,plates &cutlery ......
the only thing in my opinion was missing is some coffe and tea baggs, then it could be perfect :) .
very nice and helpfull staff
regarding location- walking distance from europe center (about 15 min),
restaurants and small shopes are anywhere, mecdonalds is nearby.....
the subway is about 30 seconds walking from the hotel and you must use it in order to get to east berlin where all the historical sites are.
overall we really enjoyed our stay,and got good value for our money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalyy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A very comfortable and relatively modern hotel in Charlottenburg about 3 miles west of the present city centre and directly next to the Charlottenburg S Bahn station and the Wilmersdorfer Strasse U Bahn station.

From the street take a speedy lift direct to the seventh floor, where you will find reception restaurant and sitting area sensibly located at roof level which gives a view over much of the city.

Another lift takes you to your room, which is of a good size and equipped with a mini bar and TV with a choice of several English speaking channels although none are domestic. The bathroom has a wet room type shower, there is always hot water. Our room which overlooked the street was quiet although our friends in the next room and slept with windows open found it to be noisy at times. There are plenty of spare electric sockets in the room, useful if like me you travel with a load of electronic gear. Wi Fi is available in the rooms but there is a charge, however there is a free station on the seventh floor.

Breakfast is served buffet style in the roof top restaurant, there is a good continental selection as well as hot bacon, sausages, scrambled and boiled egg. Dinner is also available although we didn't try it, menu is small but it looks good.

Staff were all very pleasant and spoke very good English. If like us you have a late departure from Berlin you can leave your luggage at the hotel. Checkout is midday.

Public transport is both frequent and cheap in Berlin. From Charlottenburg the S7 or S5 will take you to most of the popular tourist sites with one change needed for the Bundestag and Brandenburger Tor. From Sconefeld Airport take the S9 to Ostkreuz and then S5 or S7 to Charlottenburg, alternatively to save a quarter mile walk to the station take the bus immediately outside to Rudow and then the U7 to Wilmersdorfer Strasse.

You can buy a 24, 48, or 72 hour ticket but a cheaper option if you are in a group of up to five people is the group ticket which is 16 euros daily for you all. Tickets are available at the airport or machines on station platforms. Make sure you validate the ticket before use, for an all day ticket only once is required.

If you are traveling to see Christmas markets then Charlottenburg Schloss (castle) is one of the best about a mile north of the hotel. Be aware that the shops are closed on Sundays with about two exceptions in December.

As you would expect Berlin is a busy cosmopolitan and modern city. Due to the public transport network traffic is not a real problem at least in the city centre. The only down side I would say is the amount of graffiti, which has even been allowed to deface the famous east side gallery of the Berlin Wall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Best Western Hotel Kantstrasse Berlin
Charlottenburg
Art-Hotel Charlottenburger Hof
Charlottenburg
EnergieHotel Berlin
EnergieHotel Berlin
#247 of 634 in Berlin
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Berlin City West
#170 of 634 in Berlin
655 reviews
Charlottenburg
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
Leonardo Hotel Berlin
#103 of 634 in Berlin
1,462 reviews
Ku' Damm 101
#79 of 634 in Berlin
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip

Property: Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip
Address: Kantstr. 111a | Ecke Wilmersdorfer Strasse, 10627 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#155 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing