We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip
Ranked #272 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Excellent hotel with a lovely terrace to sit and have breakfast or sit relaxing with a glass of wine or tea after a hectic day in the city. The rooms were spacious and clean, the breakfast choice was vast, bar, kitchen and reception staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming.The transport system from the hotel was very convenient , the bus stopped just outside the hotel and the train station was round the corner. We had to leave 6:15am to get to the airport our last day, they had tea ready for us when we handed in our key and a breakfast box each to eat on the way. We would highly rcommend this hotel

Room Tip: email staff prior to travel and request your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Groupon deal which can sometimes be a bit 'hit and miss', but this time it was a hit!

Arriving at Shonefeld airport, we headed for the S train station following the covered walkway and boarded the S9 train. I had read a previous review stating this train goes all the way to Charlottenburg, but it doesn't! They have changed the routes. You now have to leave the train at Ostkreuz station, go downstairs and board the S75 train to Westkreuz. As you leave the station at Charlottenburg cross over the road and head for the 'Fitness First' through the pedestrianised area and the hotel is on the opposite corner.

We knew the odd lift arrangement from previous reviews and arrived at reception to a very friendly greeting and quickly found our room. We were overlooking the gym which was a good side as the sun went down on the other side and meant we could leave the windows open in the evening which would cool the room down nicely.

Apart from the lack of air-con, the room was very comfortable with some nice little touches. There was some traffic noise from the street, but not enough to be a problem. We had dinner in the restaurant on a couple of occasions. They are cooked in the open plan kitchen area in front of you. The quality varies depending on what member of staff is cooking it, but both meals were served quickly and we had no complaints.

Breakfast was excellent and I can recommend the spicy chicken wings! The sun is the balcony side in the morning giving plenty of choice for tables outside.

One of the main benefits of this hotel is the close proximity of public tranport. We used the 'S' trains whenever possible as they run on raised rails and give you a view of the city as you travel. The underground station is directly outside the hotel and the bus stops right by the front door. We found it best to buy a day ticket at 6.50 euros each. It's important to remember to get the tickets validated at the little red boxes next to the ticket machine as there's a 40 euro fine for not validating. Trains run every few minutes and will take you almost anwhere in the city.

The hotel also has bicycles for hire. This is one of the best cities for cycling around and cycle lanes run down each side of almost every street. If we were to return we would probably choose this method knowing what we do now.

Book early for the TV tower at Alexanderplatz as queues quickly build up with waiting times of a couple of hours. The lift goes 200m in 40 seconds which makes your ears pop! The view at the top is incredible as are the cocktails at the bar.The holocaust memorial near the Reichstag is also worth a visit and is free to enter.

There are some tacky tourist traps dotted about of which 'Checkpoint Charlie' is one. The topography of terror on Zimmerstrase is a better bet. It still has a piece of Berlin wall left and tells the story of the rise and fall of the Nazi party and costs nothing to visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Domicil and would be happy to stay again if we were to return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the gym face West allowing the windows to be opened in the evening to cool the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank damasinnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Staff really lovely both helpful and friendly. Nothing appeared too much trouble for them. Really enjoyed our city break . Good location with great transport. We had a late flight back to the UK and were able to have a late check out without a cost. Would return . I agree with other reviews that the layout of hotel reception unusual ..on top floor..lift has to be used to get to reception then another lift to get to your room!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Received friendly and helpful service from everyone at the hotel. The rooms were comfortable,clean and everything you hope and expect from a city centre hotel. From the airport 30km away we got a bus to Rudow and then a tube (approx 38 stops) to the hotel, it was hassel free. Public transport is good value and I would recommend buying a saver ticket if staying for 3 days or more as you can get the overground train near the hotel into the city centre which is 2 stops away. Would stay here again if visiting Berlin.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel and it had a lovely large curved window. I thought we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed 3 nights, arrived 1st day and walked past hotel entrance which is 2 doors next to coffee bar. Large hotel name on roof but you can not see it if you are walking directly under it. Staff very friendly and helpful. Clean room at front, lovely bathroom walk in shower. As mentioned on other reviews room very hot, no air conditioning, just small fan. 2 large windows open but noisy traffic from main road under windows. Towel was not replaced 1st day even though left on floor soaking wet as there was no shower mat outside shower to stand on. Soon get used to using the 2 lifts, not a problem.nice balcony next to bar and restraurant where meals could be taken. Good selection for breakfast, plenty of it. Location very good, underground and bus stop right next to hotel. It was fine for us.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pixie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel and rooms are pretty dated and do not deserve 4 stars, the location is not too bad and the room was comfortable enough but there did not seem to be enough room for everything. The layout of the hotel is very strange (as others have mentioned). The staff was very friendly though and helpful, they brought an ironing board and iron on request (though the ironing board was pretty beat up).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Last month I stay in this hotel. It's on great location and in fact it's all what it worth. This location have other face. Most of room are on streets side so if you don't want to be cooked during a night in hot room –no possibility to cooler it except a fen, you have to open windows. And there is a mesh, between 5 and 7 p.m. you'll be waked up because of horrible noisy from the streets. To reach a room you'll have to change two elevators. Room, well nothing spatial equipped, for sure for 4 stars hotel not enough. I expect in 4 star hotel to to have possibility to clean shoes, to have possibility ironing pants in room (only pants), to get each evening some sweet on pillow and not only first night. To have more tv channel on English language or some other except Germany and not to pay so much for internet connections.. Breakfast is serving up to 11 a.m but after 9 30 a.m. you'll must to ask waiters for many small thinks which are absent on tables and on menu, like clean cup or spoon, or juice, which is gone. My be they want that guest take what he need by itself , good, but in that case make it visible and on some place. Any way I eat in Germany much better and for my opinion this hotel don't deserve 4 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Best Western Hotel Kantstrasse Berlin
Charlottenburg
Hotel Bleibtreu Berlin by Golden Tulip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Art-Hotel Charlottenburger Hof
Charlottenburg
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
Wyndham Berlin Excelsior
#317 of 634 in Berlin
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip

Address: Kantstr. 111a | Ecke Wilmersdorfer Strasse, 10627 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $57 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Domicil Berlin by Golden Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Cityline Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing