We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz
Ranked #294 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank misterbig74
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am a loyal Accor member and have stayed at several hotels and was always satisfied. Though this hotel had mixed reviews, I decided that I would stick with my "brand loyalty:. This stay was not what I expected! The rooms looked plush on the website, but are very bare: bed, desk, and wardrobe. We had a suite and the bathroom had no counter, just a sink. The shower was so small that I had to do my squat workout to reach anything as your butt would hit the sides. The shower didn't drain and you stood in ankle deep water the entire time! We overflowed when all of us took showers. Was not near anything for food at night! Only 2 drink machines and no where to get change. Breakfast was too expensive, but there was a great Backstube next door with awesome prices and food. The website says to use the U2 to reach the hotel from the hauptbahnhof. Not true!! After an hour of walking around the train station, a kind gentleman finally explained that we needed to take the S-bahn. Also in Berlin, trams, U-bahns, and S-bahns are interconnected so you might have to travel all 3 to reach a location. Once we figured that out, we could get to most locations quite easily. Otherwise, there was not much to see after Alexanderplatz. There is no air-conditioning, so it can get quite warm in the room. I ended up actually closing my windows at night after letting in cool air so I could block street noise. This hotel will have me rethinking stays at Accor hotels now. Pick somewhere else in Berlin!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Travelbear56
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are interested in the old DDR (East Germany) then this is a good place to stay. It is located in an area redeveloped in the 1960's as a communist show case, which means the buildings are concrete and square and the super wide roads could easily fit one of those big old party parades.

The block this hotel is situated on has a giant old abandoned former communist 1960's government building which is derelict and covered in graffiti. It is best known for being a Stasi office.

The hotel itself is, yes you guessed it, a 1960's mass factory produced concrete communist era building. In fact a design (WHH 17 for those in the know) that was usually used for dorm or studio flats by Josef Kaiser who is a famous socialist modernist architect.

So, if all of this interests you, i.e. the idea of finding out what an old East German factory produced flat is like, then stay here, it is as close as you'll get to an interesting chapter of the past.

If it doesn't and you just want a nice place to stay in one of Europe's most interesting cities, then stay somewhere else.

As the rooms were designed as flats, they are large, but mine only contained a bed, a desk, a small round table and a chair. It was very bear. The bathrooms are straight out of a 1960's communist flat and there is a small dressing area by the door where a kitchenette would have been. Every room has a balcony, but there is no furniture. The walls within each room appear to be made of paper mache and the outside wall is plastic like from a patio or green house. As such they are not sound proof in the slightest and the noisy rumbling trams almost sounded noisier inside than out.

Staff were very helpful indeed and this property is clean. The breakfast is a silly price, but next door there is a cafe bakery which was doing busy trade.

You could make this property into a theme hotel and it would be very good. But it isn't what one expects from Accor.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room not on a road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First, I have to put this in perspective and set expectations. The hotel cost was EURO 40 per night and I was there on a clients tab. However, the hotel was just not at all nice. The lobby resembles a low budget hotel, which it is, and is ok.... But the rooms were WAY to large with very limited furnishings. It looks like it was an apartment in its day and the hotel converted them to hotel rooms. There were two single beds pushed together and looked as if I were having a sleep over..... ;-). The room was stuffy and the fan did not work. Luckily there was a balcony door and a window that opened onto a balcony. There was a large "living room" which was converted in to a make shift office. Kind odd looking and out of place. The bathroom was very basic but clean. It goes down hill from here. The toilet does not flush properly leaving...... yup, everything in the bowl. ICK! Also, when you can finally get the toilet to empty itself it runs the entire time. Luckily it is located on the other side of the "apartment". Lastly, the room I had overlooked the busy street and street cars. I heard this the entire night.....

Staff - the staff was friendly and was very attentive. It could be because I was in a business suit when I checked in and checked out. They also gladly replaced the fan.

To summarize, if you are visiting Berlin on a budget and plan on being out of the room for most of the time then the hotel isn't bad. If you are in town for business and will actually work out of the room perhaps spend a little more time looking for a hotel which accommodates business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back in the summer where it might be quieter. If you are there in the winter i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailingbill63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Carnoah
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank miler100
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Berlin City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Mercure Hotel Berlin Mitte
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Am Spittelmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz

Address: Mollstr. 4, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $71 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Berlin life: The Mercure Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz is in a prime location in the center of the capital, just a stone's throw from the Alexanderplatz U-Bahn, S-Bahn and local train stations. Our 158 spacious rooms and Suites are comfortably furnished and all feature WIFI. From Tegel Airport, the TXL bus goes directly to Alexanderplatz; from Schönefeld Airport, the RB14 takes you the short distance to the hotel. If arriving by car, parking is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hotel Berlin am Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agon Am Alexanderplatz Berlin
Agon Am Alexanderplatz Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing