We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,442)
Filter reviews
1,442 results
Traveler rating
689
537
144
48
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
689
537
144
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel mini bar superior room family room u bahn station nice room quiet street department store steam room clean rooms comfortable bed excellent breakfast good size long weekend minute walk around the corner would stay again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,442 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2019

My first visit to Berlin. Quite a sprawling city. Difficult to pinpoint any specific place as the real centre. This hotel seemed a good bet and did indeed turn out to be a very good choice. The price was very reasonable for a single room with breakfast. Room was small clean with limited hanging space but adequate for a short stay. Very good breakfast. Breakfast could be taken in the downstairs main restaurant or upstairs with a view over the roof tops. Go downstairs. it's nearer the kitchen and the choice is better.

A nice touch was a free mini bar with a couple of bottles of beer, small botttles of wine & soft drinks that was restocked daily. Also a coffee making machine & kettle.

Free sauna and steam room

It's only a short walk from Zoo station and the Kaiser Whilhelm church. Just yards from the huge Ka De We department store. The Wittenburg Platz U bahn is just in front of the Ka De We. I found negotiating the transport system quite easy.

Now I know the lay out of Berlin I think I'd choose this hotel for any future visits. I't as central as anywhere

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerScandic, Manager at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hej dear Peter,

Thank you for taking the time for a personal feedback.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could convince you of our price-performance ratio and our extensive breakfast buffet. It is also lovely to read that we could please you with our free minibar and our spa area.

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards
Heiko Kain - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

Just been here for 3 nights. Loved it. As everyone else has said the breakfast is superb. A huge choice for the size of the hotel & served right up until midday. Oth hot & cold offering eere 8f a high standard & the prosecco was a lovely touch. All staff were great. For the person who's review said the bar consisted of a fridge in reception why didn't you just ask? The bar area is downstairs with a screen showing sporting events and a lovely terrace outside. The room was spacious and I would recommend paying the minimal difference for the superior room. Plenty if restaurants & bars in walking distance but I would avoid Hasir, the Turkish restaurant down the road. I love Turkish food & people but the service was so bad it's the first time I've ever walked out of a restaurant. If you are lucky gonna be good weather like we had check out the Badeschiff. It's a pool in the river with a beach. Very random! Anyway...the Scandic was excellent and I'll definitely be looking out for this hotel chain on future city breaks.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Superguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerScandic, Manager at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Hej dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad that you were fully satisfied during your stay with us.
Our extensive breakfast buffet includes more than 100 different products with a special selection for children, vegetarians, vegans and people with allergies and food intolerances. It is lovely to read that we could convince you of our culinary offer.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Heiko Kain - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

Everything as ok , but then was time to hit the shower , we freak , the shower don't close all the way and the water goes everywhere in the bathroom , don't keep the choosen temperature is too hot or too cold never ok. The bbq that they had was 19,90€ , and is weak , they just have one choose for fish and 3 meats.
Don't deserve the 4 stars but for a quick stay is ... ok. Wins for the fun employes.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 1966rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerScandic, Manager at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hej dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your latest Berlin trip.

It's lovely to read that you keep our team in positive memory.

But we apologize for the experience with our shower. It would have been nice if we had your room number so we could repair the defect.

Our BBQ offers beef hips, chicken wings, sausages and salmon as well as grilled cheese and vegetables as warm dishes.
We also serve a variety of salads, baked potatoes, dressings and desserts.

It would be glad to welcome you again in one of our worldwide 280 Scandic Hotels.

Best wishes,

Heiko Kain – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

The room was great - very clean and big. There was a fridge, which was handy, and the bed was great. The bathroom was clean and the shower had great pressure.

A couple of let downs: breakfast was far too overpriced. I recommend going to one of the cafes across the road instead (the one near the U Station was great!)
Bar - it says there’s a bar but in reality there isn’t. There’s just a fridge at reception. I guess it’s good there’s a little shop if you’ve forgotten something, but it’s expensive (a travel sized deodorant was €2).

Location - you need to take the train if you want to visit Berlin. If you’re walking, you can walk to lots of restaurants or you can walk to Tiergarten. But if you’re going to see the sites e.g Alexanderplatz, it’s about 20 minutes on the train.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JMC2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerScandic, Manager at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hej dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your latest Berlin trip.

We are glad to read that you loved staying in your room.

Our breakfast contains out of 120 single items out of 30 % are in bio quality. If you book the breakfast with the
room in advance you pay EUR 12 per person. On site 17 EUR in the restaurant.

The shop offers different kind of options from drinks and sandwiches towards small toiletries and Berlin souvenirs.


We would be glad to welcome you again in one of our worldwide 280 Scandic Hotels.

Warmest wishes,

Heiko Kain – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

Very friendly and helpful staff. We got a great size room with balcony and a great view. Beds were comfortable, but I wish there would have been down pillows. Location is great for any visit to Berlin, near KaDeWe, U-bahn and Kurfürstendamm, nice and quiet area. Good breakfast. Great value for money - will stay here again!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mari Bjerka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews