We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Ranked #107 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Vlagtwedde, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

nice hotel, not to exspansif, i did not hear any thing from outside. The aircondition was not really working, that would be a problem in the summer. Breakfast was good, nothing special. Good area near kadewe. And really near the gay area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Leiter Front Office at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Peter,
thank you for your feedback with regards to the air conditioning, which has been shared with the house technician for his review. .We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Vanessa Helbig, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    459
    143
    49
    21
See reviews for
204
378
95
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at Alsterhof I was in town for Folsom Street fair in Sept 13 and the location for this is perfect as it's held in Fuggerstrasse. But you are also just around the corner from KaDeWe department store and all the other West End shops. The Hotel now appears to have completed the refurbishment and the communal area are looking a lot better with nice bar in reception. Rooms are just right with everything you need and a great price as well. Internet was working this time and the breakfast buffet is good.
For the price and location I can't fault this hotel and I would say is better than you would expect for the money. Yes there are more chic, trendier hotel but you will pay a lot more for these so for me this is the best option.

Room Tip: Higher level room at the back of the hotel are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Patterson,
Thank you for sharing your experience of Hotel ALSTERHOF Berlin. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your recommendation to friends and family.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
King regards
Vanessa Helbig, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Usually, we stay at the Axel Hotel (for the location and especially the outside jacuzzi on the 6th floor), but the last times we have often wondered why (Service? What kind of service?)? Every time they asked us if this is the first time that we are staying with them, by the regular receptionist, showed us a bad example of customer relation management! So, we decided to stay another day in fabulous Berlin, but since Axel charged too much for one night extra, we decided to check in at Alsterhof, despite that we thought the outside of the hotel looked a bit eighties. But, we were struck by surprise when we saw our room (434 or 343, cannot remember), very modern, very bright (unlike the dark and stained colors of Axel), well equiped bathroom, purple, black and white, nice! We had a balcony too and there are spa facilities as well. And this at a very reasonable price and still at a very good location, right behind KaDeWe and not too far from the Victoria-Luisa Platz for 2 restaurants we always enjoy: Haveli and Wiesenstein. So, we already have stayed there for a full week and will be there again soon for some Christmas shopping. Breakfast is also good, a various selection of foods (But if you don't do breakfast there, try Kranzler or Dressler). Always Berlin and Hallo Alsterhof!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudnr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, particularly that you found our rooms and our location to be so good .We hope to see you on your next visit to Berlin.
Kindest regards,
Vanessa Helbig, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Still the same high standards great room with 4 bStar facilities but they have scaled down their dining options to bar snacks such as baked potatoes! 3 types of breakfast available from excellent buffet to `on the go`...Large LG flat screen tv in room with 40 + channels all free.. Wifi ok. Recption extremely helpful and polite - usual efficiency! Bathrooms fabulous with excellent supply of toiletries.Towels changed daily and efficient room service. Ideal location for S & U Bahn and KaDeWe.This hotel is recommended as an ideal base with quite a of style.lot

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Leiter Front Office at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Jaytom,
We were delighted to welcome you again to Hotel Alsterhof Berlin. Many thanks for taking the time to write such kind words, and mentioning all the colleagues who helped create such a wonderful time.
We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Kind regards
Vanessa Helbig, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is an all around nice hotel. Nice rooms, continental breakfast, clean, attractive in a quiet neighborhood about a block from the KuDamm. I can't think of one thing that was not right. I even slept on the fold out couch and that seemed very comfortable to me.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel may be quieter but the neighborhood was quiet all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruellaDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We were pleased to welcome you to Hotel ALSTERHOF Berlin and thank you for your lovely feedback and recommendation.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Vanessa Helbig, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Price/performance hotel eith business focus and great great location in the cebter of Kudam, very near to KaDeWe. Clean, hi-standart and comfortable.Staff is friendly and everything works fine in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cem_frm_istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in this wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely
Vanessa Helbig, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very clean and friendly hotel the check in staff were extremely efficient. The bedroom was small but had all the equipment needed. The hotel was in a great position only 5 mins walk from main shopping street the ku damm. Plenty of eating places close by and good choice, good breakfast place directly across road.

Room Tip: I had room on first floor which was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Dave,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and the hotel amenities. Thank you also for taking the time to mention our team, this is feedback which I look forward to sharing with them.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards, Vanessa Helbig, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#37 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
SANA Berlin Hotel
#93 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#75 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Property: Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Address: Augsburger Str. 5, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Alsterhof Berlin)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#58 Family Hotel in Berlin
#72 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#81 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#100 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Berlin Kurfürstendamm is a newly renovated hotel in Berlin's Western city center, close to shopping and famous historic sites and just a short drive from Berlin’s exhibition grounds. This new Scandic hotel has an ideal location in Berlin for shopping and sightseeing. Close to the hotel you find renowned department store KaDeWe, and Kurfürstendamm boulevard offers countless shops. From the hotel you have an easy walk to historic Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, the Berlin Zoo and Story of Berlin museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Scandic Hotels, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Berlin
Berlin Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing