We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Ranked #101 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The room is very clean and the bed is extremely comfortable. Everything is small but you should expect that in Europe. Very nice staff and they even have a decent gym with treadmills, elliptical, rowing, and some weights. Even have a sauna. Great place and will stay again if I make it back to berlin. Oh, they are 3 blocks from the subway so it is easy to get around and two blocks from the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yomez111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Public Relations Manager at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear guest,

in order to your feedback my team and I have to say thank you for taking time to create your rating.

Especially your comments regarding breakfast and the structure of the building are much appreciated.

It will be my pleasure assisting with your next booking, here at the Hotel ALSTERHOF Berlin. Please feel free contacting me at your preference.

With kind regdards,

Stephanie Suchanek
Manager of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located near the Ku'damme and main shopping areas, including Kadewe - so from a location perspective, it can't be beat. Staff are very friendly as well. The hotel is clean and modern - apparently recently refurbished. The matresses are light foam - (not real matresses) - so i found this a bit uncomfortable if you are looking for a good night sleep (dream bed it is not). Also the bathroom was quite small, with no real space to put your toiletries. They also do not provide a kettle or coffee/tea facilities. Also, for English speakers - there are no English options on TV (apart from news). For the price, the Alsterhof was fine, but there are a lot of other great charming and design hotels in the area that are similarly priced and maybe a bit more value or fun to stay at.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bensonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went here for a two nights stay, as a strategy kick-off for work. It works ok for that kind of event (just remember to specify everything in advance - like if you need a projector and wifi for your meetings!), or if you want to stay near KaDeWe and Ku'damm. Not sure if I'd stay here for personal visit, it felt kind of rigid.

The rooms have a nice size and a nice bathroom. However, after a shower the room is filled with steam for the next hour or so, it could really use a vent fan.

Comfy bed and air condition that worked fine.

Wifi was available, but we were unable to get any good transfer speed, even in the meeting room where the perception was at it's best. In the room I was unable to connect at all.

Restaurant was good for breakfast, but lunch was not impressive, I'd recommend going out for that.

The lobby bar was nice, and staff were quick to serve beers. But when we wanted to pay, it was never an option just to leave the exact amount or even charge it to the room, it was a lengthy process - perhaps the IT system was to blame? Even so, customers should be able to leave some money and not have to wait around to sign a piece of paper.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is very central being very close to the Ka De We and just off the Ku'damm. It is adjacent to the Augsburgerstrasse underground station.

The staff are very friendly.

The hotel has been recently refurbished and is well maintained and clean.

Breakfast is good value at €9.

Quibbles - Not much storage space in room. Also it was OK for 1 person but would have been cramped if 2 people were there.

It would be better if there was scrambled egg at breakfast rather than boiled eggs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed her for work, would recommend not to. The cost of changing plans and enforcement of there policies makes it a place with surprising costs. The location is not close to the center. Having to write a long review seems to mean that you need to fill in a lot of space.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohaupokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Hello,

thank you very much for your feedback. We would like to learn more about your ideas and ask you to send us information regarding your complaints via email verkauf@alsterhof.com. We do not know exacly which policies you are talking about. We are very sad that you are not happy about your stay.
Nevertheless, we wish to point out that we are right in the center of City West, just 50 meters from the KaDeWe (Europe's biggest department store) and 200 meters from the Kurfürstendamm (the main boulevard in Berlin). In 10 minutes you reach the main station. and in 20 minutes the airport Tegel. Thank you very much for understanding, that your opinion we are not in the city centre is not correct. It always depends on what you are planning to visit in Berlin! We are looking forward to your feedback. Stephanie Suchanek ( Manager of Sales & Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Alsterhof for a week in early-December. It's a nice hotel with a cute, modern bar area and very friendly staff. Rooms are clean (and I must add, aren't cleaned at the crack of dawn, so you can have a lie in!!!) and have everything one might need for a stay in Berlin.

We also received a chocolate Santa on our door one morning which was a nice gesture. Generally, I think this is a great hotel and is right next to Kurfurstendamm and KaDeWe (which, apart from the 6th floor food hall, isn't really anything special!).

I was disappointed however, to be told prior to our trip that wifi is available in the room, then find out that actually, it isn't. This wasn't too much of a problem as we had cocktails in the bar on an evening and checked emails etc/googled Berlin things to do from there. I would say though that in 2012, there should be wifi in the rooms.

The location of the hotel isn't ideal if you're looking for parties. We're a young couple and spent the majority of our time in Alexanderplatz, so if you're after cool independent shops, nice little eateries (amaaaazing Korean restaurant called Yam Yam - check it out!) and trendy bars/clubs - then Kurfurstendamm/Charlottenburg is NOT the place to stay.

While I enjoyed my stay, I probably wouln't go back, simply due to the location - just not our cup of tea! There seemed to be a much older crowd staying at this hotel and while this isn't a bad thing - the bar was always full of older guests. Also, the "double room" I booked was actually just a twin room with the beds pushed together, but that's not the end of the world I suppose!

Room Tip: Third Floor, at the back, room 321. Quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Lauren,

thank you very much for your feedback. We read every single point and discussed. In last december yes we had some problems with the Wi-Fi, but in 2013 it will be abolished. You the KuDamm and Charlotten isn't suitable for younger people? We do not thinks so. Maybe next time we can recommand you some nice spots in the "City West". Anyway most of our staff are younger people who know the city very well and also you have to admit that you can reach ALL the spots in the city very fast. :-) So, hope to see you next time. Kind regards, Stephanie Suchanek (Manager of Sales & Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

i arrived at 10p.m and was given the economy twin room.it was on the last 6th floor.i came into a room and had a claustrophobia attack.it was so small and not comfortable because if its size.that was two twin beds and the narrow walkway between them plus a small window.clean and renewed but so tiny!but the size was not a main problem.i arrived at 8 on december it was -5c.and the air conditioner didn't work!!!i called to the reception .the girl was very kind and came to help me but that was nothing to do and there weren't more rooms for me to be moved in.so she sugested to wait till morning for a technician man.i just set there and didn't know what to do!i was so cold.i called the reception with tears and then the girl gave me her radiator she said "i am not sure that i am allowed to do this"but i will give you.so thank to her i could sleep.with my clothes on me.in the morning i came to the reception and told how terrible was my first impression and i think the least they can do for me that to move me to another room and upgraid me.on the house.they accepted it and were very kind and friendly .and i was moved to a normal size room .one of them they put their pictures on web site.it was double a-class room.
the stuff is friendly and kind.nice hotel, renewed and clean.
the breakfast is fine.pretty good variety of food.
the location is good.very close to kadewe.
the augsbourg u-ban is like 100 meters of the hotel.but you need change it cuz of u3 line no going to some popular places.
i think that is important when a hotel is situated on the main lines and you dont need to change everytime.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evitosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
SANA Berlin Hotel
#102 of 633 in Berlin
1,378 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#133 of 633 in Berlin
1,073 reviews
Schoneberg
Axel Hotel Berlin
Axel Hotel Berlin
#188 of 633 in Berlin
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Address: Augsburger Str. 5, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Alsterhof Berlin)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#58 Family Hotel in Berlin
#72 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#77 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#100 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $75 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Berlin Kurfürstendamm is a newly renovated hotel in Berlin's Western city center, close to shopping and famous historic sites and just a short drive from Berlin’s exhibition grounds. This new Scandic hotel has an ideal location in Berlin for shopping and sightseeing. Close to the hotel you find renowned department store KaDeWe, and Kurfürstendamm boulevard offers countless shops. From the hotel you have an easy walk to historic Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, the Berlin Zoo and Story of Berlin museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Berlin
Berlin Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing