We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, friendly staff, clean rooms but NO WIFI IN ROOM!!!! Come on, it's 2012...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Ranked #101 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Alsterhof for a week in early-December. It's a nice hotel with a cute, modern bar area and very friendly staff. Rooms are clean (and I must add, aren't cleaned at the crack of dawn, so you can have a lie in!!!) and have everything one might need for a stay in Berlin.

We also received a chocolate Santa on our door one morning which was a nice gesture. Generally, I think this is a great hotel and is right next to Kurfurstendamm and KaDeWe (which, apart from the 6th floor food hall, isn't really anything special!).

I was disappointed however, to be told prior to our trip that wifi is available in the room, then find out that actually, it isn't. This wasn't too much of a problem as we had cocktails in the bar on an evening and checked emails etc/googled Berlin things to do from there. I would say though that in 2012, there should be wifi in the rooms.

The location of the hotel isn't ideal if you're looking for parties. We're a young couple and spent the majority of our time in Alexanderplatz, so if you're after cool independent shops, nice little eateries (amaaaazing Korean restaurant called Yam Yam - check it out!) and trendy bars/clubs - then Kurfurstendamm/Charlottenburg is NOT the place to stay.

While I enjoyed my stay, I probably wouln't go back, simply due to the location - just not our cup of tea! There seemed to be a much older crowd staying at this hotel and while this isn't a bad thing - the bar was always full of older guests. Also, the "double room" I booked was actually just a twin room with the beds pushed together, but that's not the end of the world I suppose!

Room Tip: Third Floor, at the back, room 321. Quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Lauren,

thank you very much for your feedback. We read every single point and discussed. In last december yes we had some problems with the Wi-Fi, but in 2013 it will be abolished. You the KuDamm and Charlotten isn't suitable for younger people? We do not thinks so. Maybe next time we can recommand you some nice spots in the "City West". Anyway most of our staff are younger people who know the city very well and also you have to admit that you can reach ALL the spots in the city very fast. :-) So, hope to see you next time. Kind regards, Stephanie Suchanek (Manager of Sales & Marketing)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

i arrived at 10p.m and was given the economy twin room.it was on the last 6th floor.i came into a room and had a claustrophobia attack.it was so small and not comfortable because if its size.that was two twin beds and the narrow walkway between them plus a small window.clean and renewed but so tiny!but the size was not a main problem.i arrived at 8 on december it was -5c.and the air conditioner didn't work!!!i called to the reception .the girl was very kind and came to help me but that was nothing to do and there weren't more rooms for me to be moved in.so she sugested to wait till morning for a technician man.i just set there and didn't know what to do!i was so cold.i called the reception with tears and then the girl gave me her radiator she said "i am not sure that i am allowed to do this"but i will give you.so thank to her i could sleep.with my clothes on me.in the morning i came to the reception and told how terrible was my first impression and i think the least they can do for me that to move me to another room and upgraid me.on the house.they accepted it and were very kind and friendly .and i was moved to a normal size room .one of them they put their pictures on web site.it was double a-class room.
the stuff is friendly and kind.nice hotel, renewed and clean.
the breakfast is fine.pretty good variety of food.
the location is good.very close to kadewe.
the augsbourg u-ban is like 100 meters of the hotel.but you need change it cuz of u3 line no going to some popular places.
i think that is important when a hotel is situated on the main lines and you dont need to change everytime.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evitosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My friend and I spent 3 nights here at the beginning of December. The rooms were clean and modern. The hotel has 2 bars, we had a cocktail on our first night in the modern looking bar in reception, very nice and very reasonably priced.

There is also a spa in the hotel, but unfortunately we never had the time to try it out.

The hotel is located within a couple of minutes walk from the famous Kurfurstendamm shopping street and the enormous KaDeWe department store, which has an amazing food hall on the 6th floor.

It is also within a few minutes walk of 3 stations, the most useful of which is a minute or less walk from the hotel, Augsburger St, just change at the next station, Wittenbergplatz, and it is easy to get to most of the main tourist spots. You can also walk to Wittenbergplatz instead, take a right out of the front of the hotel and then the next left and walk pretty much straight towards the KaDeWe department store and you will see the station. No more than 5 minutes, depending on how quick you are in your feet and whether there is any ice on the ground.

The staff are also very pleasant, as was almost everyone we came into contact with in Berlin. On our 2nd day there we opened the door to find a chocolate santa hanging from the door handle, a very nice gesture.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is located in a great location near a U Bann, 2 min walk from the kdv & other attractions.
Crew were helpful in everything we needed & the room was clean tidy & new, only thing that was missing was coffee & tea in the room but its nothing when you have such a nice bar near the lobby & polite staff.
Simply perfect
p.s
nice spa:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doron71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel was nice with helpful and friendly staff. Good location for shopping with KaDeWe around the corner and the shopping street Kurfurstendamm near by.
Good restaurants in the nearby streets. The hotel had a very nice breakfast included and the rooms where reasonably priced. Free WiFi at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arild A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in mid october. Room was clean and well furnished. Asked for a double room but it was just two single beds put together, the beds being so comfortable made up for this. Staff were friendly, they were helpful towards us and their english was quite good. Hotel is in a great location, less then 5 minutes from the nearest u-bahn station. Breakfast was a buffet, nice food with a decent sample.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A great Hotel for shopping in Berlin, just round the corner from KaDeWe department store and the other main shops of the West. Most rooms have been modernised and are now very good and up to standard.I was on room only but the breakfast at an extra charge was very good.
The only small point I would make is the communal area have not yet been done up to the same standard as the rooms (think 80's Dallas!) and don't expect to be able to sue WiFi on busy weekends.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors for best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
SANA Berlin Hotel
#102 of 633 in Berlin
1,378 reviews
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#133 of 633 in Berlin
1,073 reviews
Schoneberg
Axel Hotel Berlin
Axel Hotel Berlin
#188 of 633 in Berlin
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Address: Augsburger Str. 5, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Alsterhof Berlin)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#58 Family Hotel in Berlin
#72 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#77 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#100 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $75 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Berlin Kurfürstendamm is a newly renovated hotel in Berlin's Western city center, close to shopping and famous historic sites and just a short drive from Berlin’s exhibition grounds. This new Scandic hotel has an ideal location in Berlin for shopping and sightseeing. Close to the hotel you find renowned department store KaDeWe, and Kurfürstendamm boulevard offers countless shops. From the hotel you have an easy walk to historic Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church, the Berlin Zoo and Story of Berlin museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Berlin
Berlin Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing