We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derag hotel - reasonable choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte
Ranked #98 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Derag hotel - reasonable choice”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I booked quite late, so was happy to get a good price for a 4* hotel. Not in the heart of the city, but located a few minutes´ walk from Alexanderplatz, just south of the "Fischerinsel" it really is well located and offers high quality rooms and services. Breakfast wasn't included in the price so I can't comment on that, but the reception was fine, the room was good and clean.

My recommendation: ask where the room is located. We got one that was facing a building construction and they worked on Saturday so we woke early on noises not so pleasant [since the window was open]. this will not apply once the construction is done. Wifi and 1 hour internet was free of charge. They said it was 1hour/day, but it was 1hour/ 24hrs so you have to wait another 23hrs to get your next free hour. The price for wifi internet was high [2 EUR/ hour]. I complained about the internet, this is when they found out about the 1hr/24hr thing so if you go, check if they tell you the correct information.

Otherwise, very nice staff, English-speaking, courteous, helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room that overlooks the river or has windows to the inside [less light, but no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensPeters1958, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your comment and evaluation of our services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Good news: starting January 2013 our wifi services are free of charge. Looking forward to seeing you again, we remain with kind regards,
Jens Peters and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    296
    80
    15
    10
See reviews for
69
310
46
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located across the street from a U-Bahn station - which is great if you are taking it from the airport. The front desk staff were extremely helpful (providing maps, stamps, etc) and always very polite. You will have to keep a card with you that identifies you as a guest in order to receive your key each time you come into the hotel - but the added security wasn't annoying. The hotel is situated near Museum Island, and within striking distance to most other things you want to see. The room itself was large, we were in a corner room so we had lots of windows. Features included a small in-room safe, a desk, table with two chairs, a mini-fridge with free beer and water, decent sized bathroom, nice closet for your clothes, and a comfortable bed. There is also access to a washer and dryer if you're taking a longer trip and need to clean your clothes. It's 4 euros per load to wash and dry. The hotel also offers dry cleaning. I would re-book this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: We were booked into Room 271 - which was a corner room with lots of windows and little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at the Derag Livinghotel in Berlin and I must say that I was quite happy with it, given the price I paid.

We paid AUD$219.54 (AUD$73.18 a night) for 3 nights stay which I think is fairly decent for a reasonably nice hotel which is quite close to the city and very handy to the underground metro, with a station just across the road from the entrance to the hotel!

The room - pretty much what you would expect of your 4 star hotel, decent bathroom, decent sized room, with a mini bar (which might I add, came with 2 bottles of water and 2 beers FREE everyday!), TV etc and a rather decent sized wardrobe. The room, although slightly dated, is very well kept so it adds to the character of the place. My only negative is there is no air conditioning... and it was hot, so we had to sleep with the windows open. Luckily the hotel is on a quiet street but it gets noisey in the mornings with the traffic... so you definitly won't sleep in! It does however have central heating for winter.

The hotel - quite nice and well kept. I don't know if there is a gym or not as I didn't use the facilities but I think there was one somewhere if memory serves me right. Staff are nice too.

They also have a restaurant that I didn't go to but I did goto the morning buffets... €16pp and it is very good. You can have your eggs cooked the way you like, also comes with selection of meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit salads, as well as freshly brewed coffee, tea etc. I was very pleased with it.

Overall - for the cost of this hotel I think it is of very high standard and it is good value for money. Being handy to the metro is a bonus too as it is the best way to get around Berlin!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Being my first time in Berlin, accommodation was going to play a big part of my stay. So thankfully, I chose a really good hotel which was situated right near the train station, cafes and restaurants and a few supermarkets around it. Not to mention how quiet the surroundings were. The helpful staff were friendly, and their breakfast buffet was extremely expansive. I was surprised how much food there was for the price of 16 Euros we paid per person.

The room we got didn't have airconditioning, but to say the least it didn't bother us. I will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

It is just located 50 mts from U. Quiet area. And breakfast was excellent, worth it to get it included in daily rate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel is just opposite a U-Bahn station and a pleasant 7 minute stroll from the musuem area.
Easy access to the major sites and on the easy side of town for the (soon to be only) airport.

Welcome was good, although nobody explained that the room had a master switch for the electric power hidden behind a curtain. When i asked they joked and said that they keep forgetting to tell people where it is when they check in. The room was smallish with a German style double bed (eg twin beds pushed together). The room did have a fridge and cooking facilities. The former stocked with 2 complementary bottles of beer and the same of water; Not possible apparently to swap the beers for soft drinks or more water which struck me as slightly odd.

There is 1 hour of Free wifi per day, limited to 1 hour from the time you first log in. Not very convenient and the purchase price for wireless outside of this is high.

There is a fitness room in the hotel opposite, an underground bunker with a sauna and a small gym area. The gym has 3 or 4 static CV machines and a multigym. Adequate if you really cant do without, but dont count on getting a great workout.

i didnt try the breakfast buffet at 16€ because i had already seen what 12 € would buy for breakfast in some of Berlin's finest cafés. There are some marvellous places to eat breakfast in Berlin so i gave the hotel a miss.

All in all this is a great choice for a cheap room in Berlin.

Room Tip: my room on the road side was noisy but i'm a deep sleeper; Other rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Spent two nights here at the weekend. Really spacious room with plenty of storage, modern tv, hair dryer, fridge and comfortable bed. Fridge was stocked with two bottles of water and two beers, complimentary, which was a nice touch. The rooms may be slighty dated but really excellent value and I can't fault it. Although, the weekend was hot and we had to sleep with window open as the air con was not great. However it's a quiet area but really close to a tube stop- literally a minute away and Alexanderplatz is in walk able distance. There is a large supermarket about five mins walk away I you're on a budget or fancy a picnic in th large grassed areas like we did. Great short break - I want to go back! Friendly, helpful staff also worth a mention!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oozells_oozells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Derag Livinghotel Grosser Kurfurst
Mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
art'otel berlin mitte
#71 of 634 in Berlin
998 reviews
Mitte
Park Plaza Wallstreet Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
Catalonia Berlin Mitte
#87 of 634 in Berlin
596 reviews
Mitte
Grimm's Hotel
Grimm's Hotel
#105 of 634 in Berlin
243 reviews
Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Novotel Berlin Mitte
#82 of 634 in Berlin
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte

Property: Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte
Address: Neue Rossstr. 13, 10179 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Henriette)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#142 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing