We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel but Worst Ever Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Estrel Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estrel Berlin
Ranked #190 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel but Worst Ever Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Horrible Hotel. Should be no star rather than 4 star.
Staff do not understand English.Seated for buffet lunch only to be told buffet is closed. Then no cutlery provided. Room too hot in spite of AC supposedly working. According to technician AC is too small for the size of room! Unable to provide table fan.
Ice machine miles away... in a different wing. One in my wing has been removed but there are still signs to say Ice Machine is on 1st floor!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASHISH343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    395
    236
    50
    31
See reviews for
63
139
53
562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Very large hotel with wide selection of restaurants. A good distance from Berlin centre. Very clean rooms. I was in wing #3, the views were not great, but I had a view of the glass covered courtyard. Interesting . Ate at Sans Souci, very good food, average price. Ordered wine which they didn't have, disappointing. The selection should be removed from the wine card if it's not available. Servers were plaisant and professional. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghislain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I ended up spending three nights here to attend a conference in the hotel. The room was clean and it's near an S-Bahn station, but those are about the only positive things I can say about the hotel. Some of the choices in decor are questionable like the yellow fake marble sink and the 22" TV that is really too small for a modern hotel room. There wasn't a safe in my room either, which is the only time I can remember a hotel room not having one. There isn't an iron or ironing board in the room either, but that seems to be normal for some German hotels. The area around the hotel isn't really attractive or interesting either. I wasn't impressed with breakfast-there wasn't much variety (3 types of fruit, scrambled or boiled eggs, no smoked salmon) compared to other hotels in Germany that I stayed in. If you have an event to attend in this hotel, you can't beat the convenience, but there are better options in Berlin if you don't.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMacNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hotel is good, excellent rooms, very decent upgrade packges, clean and efficient, the Italian restaurant is surprisingly good and a real recommendation. One downside, the inhouse wifi is too expensive in particular for its deplorable quality.. Estrel, sort it, it is not expensive and a disproportianate blemish on your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syrah63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights due to a big company event. Hotel is huge. It was great though using the event location there directly without having to take your jacket or bag if you were going abroad.
Room was small but clean.
Breakfast was great value and a great selection.
In the area itself there was nothing and the location is a bit far out from Berlin centre.
For a tourist trip I woulnd`t stay in the hotel but on businness trips I would recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttercup88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very large hotel with lots of facilities. Room was very clean and quiet. Abundant breakfast included. Bed was comfortable, although for taller people it may be on the short side. Pillows were thin which is normal in German hotels. The location is not great, nothing to do in the neighborhood. Rent for room and breakfast was not too high, but the extras like internet (3 euros for each hour started, up till 24 euros per day), TV and the minibar are overpriced. The hotel is perfect for business purposes, but for a city trip to Berlin there are better choices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My partner and I (both 20years old) spent 4 nights here (We found a great deal on lastminute.com with the "secret hotels") at the beginning of May 2013.

We were initially a little worried about it but once we arrived we were totally happy and could not fault it.

Firstly, as our bus arrived in Berlin at 6am, the front desk allowed us to check in to our room at 8am (even though official check-in time isnt till 3pm), which was great.

Our Room: We were in "wing 2" on the 12th floor and really couldn't complain - the only negative would be the view out off to the side of the "slums" was a bit ugly, but didnt really bother us at all.
The bed was super comfy, some english channels on the tv, and a BATHTUB (my favorite part haha) as well as a shower. Literally nothing bad to say about the room.

The Location: Not the BEST location, but by no means bad either. Quite easy to get to from the airport, and if you buy a "Berlin WelcomeCard" pretty easy to get around Berlin via either S-train of U-Bahn and relatively cost-efficient. Only really 10 mins or so into Alexanderplatz, and other parts of Berlin.
Sonnenalle (the train station near the hotel) it literally around the corner, so super close, but at night time it does get a little sketchy around the other side of the station.. we felt fine though coming home late at night and never had a problem.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel (though it looked pretty good) it was a bit too expensive for our budget (i think 18 euro each - buffet style) and there are heaps of cheap bakeries around where you can get a good breakfast and a coffee for a few euros.
Also, the restaurants in the "plaza" downstairs seemed quite costly (again out of our budget) but we did have a cocktail each on our last night (about 11 or 12 euro each) and they were really well made and a nice treat.

Overall, i would definitely recommend this hotel, however without the lastminute.com discount it might have been too expensive for us.

Room Tip: buy a berlin welcome card to get around via public transport as you will end up saving money - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libby433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Hotel Britzer Tor
Hotel Britzer Tor
#422 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Neukolln
Motel Plus Berlin
Motel Plus Berlin
#280 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Neukolln
Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Berlin Neukoelln
#239 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Neukolln
Hotel Erlanger Hof
Hotel Erlanger Hof
#338 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Neukolln
Days Inn Berlin City South
Days Inn Berlin City South
#148 of 662 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrel Berlin

Property: Estrel Berlin
Address: Sonnenallee 225, 12057 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Neukolln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Berlin
#124 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#143 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 1125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrel Hotel Berlin is Germany's largest hotel, and they have something to suit every taste and need: 1,125 rooms and suites, five restaurants, three bars, a summer garden with its own landing pier, a modern wellness & fitness area and even free internet access.The hotel is adjoined to the Estrel Congress & Messe Center, which covers a space of 25,000 sqm and houses 75 conference rooms providing the ideal conditions for an event of any kind and size.The stage at the adjacent Estrel Festival Center hosts top quality Las Vegas style entertainment all year round. Our "Stars in Concert" show series and numerous other highly acclaimed in-house show productions give guests "Entertainment at its best". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Estrel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Estrel Hotel Berlin
Berlin Estrel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing