We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for conference”
Review of Estrel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Estrel Berlin
Ranked #203 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Before my business trip to Berlin, I thought that Estrel was in the middle of nothing, Sadly, it's quite true, if you're accustomed to living close to where all the action is.

But location aside, in a conference setting, Estrel really delivers.

Breakfast works quick, there's always room even with lots of people. The conference rooms are clean and suitable for lectures/classes. Hotel rooms are very clean and quite modern, with some train noise even in the upper floors. Didn't really bother me though.

Check-in and checkout is quick and friendly. Check-in was at 3pm, so if you're arriving on a morning flight, you might have to wait for your room for some time.

Wired internet is surprisingly expensive with 3€/hour.

If I had to organise a larger conference in Berlin, Estrel would be my choice.

Room Tip: Go to the higher floors, less car and train noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_10237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
There are newer reviews for Estrel Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pros:
-clean rooms,
-hotel service,
-fine breakfasts,
-good location for conferences,
-silent enough for comfortable sleep,
-close to S-bahn station, located on the ring rounding city centre,

Cons:
-strange prices of wired internet,
-room fares are a bit expensive,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent 4 nights on this hotel on a conference. It's far from central Berlin, but the good subway system will take you there in about 15 minutes, I think most people using hotel is there for business or conference. For this purpose hotel is ok.

Nice rooms, ok bar and several restaurants. Be aware that there are no nearby restaurants, so if you don't want to go to town you have to use the hotel.

They also have a show, and we saw parts of this, and it was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amidtun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel is far from downtown with not much around it but does have good access to the very easy to use transit system. Rooms were clean and comfortable but pricey with breakfast and the internet prices were ridiculous. Hotel had central area with a bar and several restaurant choices but not much nearby. Next time I would stay at a different hotel even if attending a conference at this one for business so check your options before booking

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioTraveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Clean rooms of small size; huge business hotel and conference hotel; watch pricing: internet costs 24 euros per day (unless working from the lobby and have an access code to work from there). Breakfast (depending on the deal you get with room price) is plentiful and fine. Everything else is pricey. Service is friendly and helpful, if you need a late checkout etc. Little infrastructure in the area around the hotel, as it is in the eastern part of Berlin. Cumbersome to get to the hotel from Berlin Tegel airport if you want to go by public transit: first take bus to subway, then take subway/s-bahn to the hotel. S-bahn station is near hotel. Cab from the hotel to the main train station in Berlin takes about 25 minutes and costss approx. 20 euros.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navratil46140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked with lastminute.com and when I arrived at the hotel last week, the hotel did not have a record of it. This was very alarming since I had already paid for my stay. Always make sure that your booking is confirmed to avoid any hassel. At the end, the hotel staff were very friendly and they sorted out the situation within a day.

Pros: Amenities, next to train stop, room was pristine and lived up to it's 4 star rating. There are taxis outside the hotel all the time, very convenient.

Cons: No free wifi

Weird: The statue of a woman getting penetrated by a swan and having an egg laid inside of her (look out the window to view this in front of the hotel)

Room Tip: Zone/Section 1 of the hotel was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choloate Chip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I attended a multi-day conference here in early Nov. Location and contact with the hotel led me to choose to sleep elsewhere, but still had to attend the conference at Estrel. Went to use the internet while at the conference. Found it to be 24 euros for a 24-hour day, inflexible time and so ridiculously costly. Instead was offered the internet in the business center.

Found the business center to be locked, not with a lock that a hotel guest can open with a room key. Reception stated that to use the business center they needed to hold my passport (excessive? I think so) or hold my credit card (really?) I've traveled alot - very unreasonable (irrational?) practice.

A manager quickly materialzed (I didn't call for her) to "enforce" this. I got the feeling she has this conversation all day everyday. She was not interested in accepting feedback, in the least. Though she did acknowledge that her job is to accept feedback about this sort of thing. Glad I didn't choose to stay there, based on this interaction. Weird stuff. Trapped at the conference without internet, yuck,

The place is just a lackluster basic conference center hanging onto the very effective S41-S42 loop line of Berlin's transit, and I think they might make significant profits from trapped attendees with predatory internet fees, moreso than in hotel services.

Berlin is a fine city with a wheel-spoke style of effective, fast, inexpensive transit system.
So one can easily stay in inner Berlin and travel to the Estrel for a conference.

So I suggest you try what I did - try the Melia, a lovely entry from the Spanish chain, on the Spree River in Unter der Linder:
lower cost,
grand comfort and service.
199 Euros for two in a room, all inclusive:
full fine quality breakfast;
king bed with down comforters;
executive floor (called "the level") with all day nutritious snacks including spirits and cappucinos;
AND a 30 euro credit daily for a delicious and varied tapas selection in any of their several lounges and restaurants;
a top floor river view at Friederichstrasse;
free internet access in the lounge or lobby.

Since I need the computer alot, for my room I bought a 30 day 30 euro Telekom hotspot pass online (it showed up on my wireless list - you can re-use it at many hotels and public places, but of course not at the Estrel - I think they must block it) - more than I need but a great price.

And I bought a 5-day transit "Welcome Card" for all zones (AB and C plus TXL plus Potsdam plus museum discounts) at the front desk (convenient). Would have bought the train pass anyway, and use it to get to Estrel too,

The Melia in the center of Berlin was soooo much of a better deal than the icky Estrel, with more atmosphere, and service, and everything than Estrel. Why would one stay in that marginal Estrel location with predatory prices and unreasonable policies, and insensitive, uncaring leadership?

I am glad I picked up the vibe from our initial reservation conversations, and the convention situation sealed it. I made the right choice not to stay there, and recommend you do the same.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SueSyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport
Neukolln
Motel Plus Berlin
Motel Plus Berlin
#247 of 635 in Berlin
180 reviews
Neukolln
Hotel Britzer Tor
Hotel Britzer Tor
#432 of 635 in Berlin
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neukolln
Days Inn Berlin City South
Days Inn Berlin City South
#199 of 635 in Berlin
561 reviews
Neukolln
Hotel Erlanger Hof
Hotel Erlanger Hof
#311 of 635 in Berlin
71 reviews
Ibis Berlin Neukoelln
#269 of 635 in Berlin
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrel Berlin

Address: Sonnenallee 225, 12057 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Neukolln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Berlin
#132 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#142 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $94 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 1125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrel Hotel Berlin is Germany's largest hotel, and they have something to suit every taste and need: 1,125 rooms and suites, five restaurants, three bars, a summer garden with its own landing pier, a modern wellness & fitness area and even free internet access.The hotel is adjoined to the Estrel Congress & Messe Center, which covers a space of 25,000 sqm and houses 75 conference rooms providing the ideal conditions for an event of any kind and size.The stage at the adjacent Estrel Festival Center hosts top quality Las Vegas style entertainment all year round. Our "Stars in Concert" show series and numerous other highly acclaimed in-house show productions give guests "Entertainment at its best". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Estrel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Estrel Hotel Berlin
Berlin Estrel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing