We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Heartbreak' winner”
Review of Huettenpalast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huettenpalast
Ranked #15 of 191 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Heartbreak' winner”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked a trip to Berlin as a surprise for my husband's 30th birthday and chose Huettenpalast after reading an article about this place in The Guardian. I am incredibly glad I did! It was a fabulous place to stay in Berlin - a great area (Northern Neukolln), quirky and super cool. We stayed in the Heartbreaker caravan and it was simply fabulous. Very comfortable bed, which was required after a long hard day exploring. It was warm, snugg and extremely clean. The showers were powerful and warm, and the communial areas added to the overall quirky atmosphere. Coffee, tea and mini croissants were served in the communial area, so we could lounge in our pjs each morning. A great outside garden, which sadly we couldnt enjoy due to the time of year. The attached restaurant was lovely too. Staff very helpful, but also they leave you to your trip without hassle. I think the owners of Huettenpalast have done a great job of creating a urban chic hotel in a funky city. My husband & I were sad to leave and our bed seemed very boring after our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pughnell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    20
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
36
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

To get from Schonefeld airport buy a ticket for 2.60 euros and get on the bus 171 at stop X7. Take the bus in the direction of Hermann Platz, stay on the bus for 9 stops and get off at Rudow. Its really obvious as everyone seems to be doing the same. Buy another ticket ( we bought a zone A&B daily ticket for 6.40 euros) and we used it for the rest of the day after we dropped our bags off. Take the U7 metro in the direction of S&U Rathaus Spandau and after 12 or 13 stops get off at Hermann Ptatz. Huttenpalast is 5 minutes walk away. The caravans are cosy and warm, positioned around a large seating area , but each caravan or hut has their own picnic table and chairs so it really is like camping inside.
The showers and toilet area are really clean and a hairdryer is provided. It is so true what everyone says about the showers... powerful with plenty of hot water. .
The breakfast was basic with a fresh croissant and coffee. For anything more substantial I would recommend the café where they have a varied choice, with good service.
Every noise can be heard from the caravans so if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs, but we just embraced the whole experience as a bit of fun , camping indoors without being exposed to the weather.
It would have been nice to have access to a kettle in the communal area during the stay, rather than just at breakfast, but other than that I would recommend this as a fun place to stay for a night or two.
Each day we bought a daily metro ticket because if you do more that 3 journeys there is a saving

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great quirky place to stay. I took one of the cabins and it was very comfortable. Huettenpalast is also in a great area with a number of good bars and Turkish places to eat right around the corner.

I would agree with some of other reviewers in that the breakfast was not up to much.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LazyDoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a quick 2 night visit to Berlin and we weren't disappointed. After a quick email exchange with Hans we booked Alter Palast, the twin cabin. As we arrived on a late flight we were going to be checking in late. No problems whatsoever. We gave the hotel a quick call when we landed and a swift (20min, €26) taxi ride later and we were checking in. After a quick tour of our accommodation we were left to settle in.

Having had a quick peak in the caravans, if you like a bit of space then the cabins are probably a better choice. Our cabin was spacious with plenty of space under the bed to store bags. There are also little cubby holes 'sunk' into the walls next to each bed and a table that doubles as a chess board sits below one of the windows. There is a plug socket next to each bed. A few hangers/hooks enable you to hang some of your clothing up. If you're there for a longer stay you'll probably be living out of your suitcase. There are 2 windows in the cabin which ensures plenty of light, one of these can be opened. Blackout rollerblinds give a bit of privacy and keep the early morning light at bay. The door is a heavy sliding one that can be locked, although the place is pretty secure with several doors/gates before you reach your room! Our cabin also had a little 'upstairs' lounge with 2 extra mattresses for chilling out on...crawling room only though as the ceiling is right there! If you are at all noise sensitive, it's a good idea to take a set of earplugs as the cabins aren't particularly insulated! (I'm talking about people walking past on their way to the bathroom/closing their doors...not all night parties!)

The room that the cabins/caravans are in is very cosy so, even if it's below zero outside, you are sure to be toasty. There are plenty of places to sit and read, and there's a bookshelf with plenty of reading material. At night there is a mellow lighting that adds to the cosy feel. Breakfast is served by the lit up tree. One small croissant per person, some fruit and a choice of various teas, coffee and water.

Although we didn't sit out in the garden at all, I imagine it is a great place to hang out in the summer. There's plenty of greenery and seating (partially covered).

The ladies bathroom consists of 2 amazing showers (hot and powerful), and a toilet. All of which are kept spotlessly clean. Towels are provided and there is a hairdryer in the shower room. There is also a disabled toilet. I presume the mens bathroom was the same as the ladies!

We hired bikes the day after we arrived. €10 for 24hrs. The bikes were great! A really good way to see the city and visit the sights...no hills and bike friendly road users. We cycled up to the Brandenburg Gate and then spent a few hours pedalling around Tiergarten. We also paid a visit to the Reichstag (pre-book online)

The café attached to the hotel has some tasty vegetarian dishes on the menu and friendly service. A nice place to chill out on a rainy day. There are other restaurants and shops a short distance from the hotel.

All in all this is a great place to stay to make your visit to Berlin a memorable one. I would definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: The cabins have more space. Alter Palast is a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Huettenpalast is one of a kind! A very special place which I would recommend for anyone looking for something special.

We especially liked the area. Easy walk to the river and plenty of nice restaurants, shops, and parks nearby. It has a real laid down atmosphere. Same as the huettenpalast itself. I was afraid it would be very warm inside with outside temperatures reaching 30, but it was actually quite pleasant.

And yes... It has shared bathrooms, so there is a bit of a camping feel when you walk visible for everyone in your pyamas to the bathroom in the morning. You have to like that (or at least not hate it).

The place has bikes for rent, which is very practical. We used them to easily explore the whole place.

If I would have to think about one minus point it would be that the lady serving at the cafetaria seemed to dislike her job. Accurate, but not even the faintest smile. But maybe she just had a bad day, who knows...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa_Scholte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrichshafen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stumbled upon this hotel by chance. Its a very different experience compared to staying in a hotel. I stayed in one of the huts for one night as its August and they were booked out. Loved it. Bed is comfy, bathroom clean. It has a very relaxed and homey feeling as compared to traditional hotel. Dont forget to bring Hausschuhe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dino4theWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I thought this place was gorgeous! Super set up and very comfy beds. There was nothing I didn't like; staff were really friendly and helpful, waitress in the cafe was especially lovely to us and our sons. Breakfast was tasty and reasonably priced. Bathrooms clean & showers ahhh!! Garden was chilled, had a really lovely time. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jointhejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Neukolln
Days Inn Berlin City South
Days Inn Berlin City South
#188 of 634 in Berlin
559 reviews
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#32 of 634 in Berlin
3,179 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
Ludwig Van Beethoven Hotel
#155 of 634 in Berlin
257 reviews
Neukolln
Mercure Berlin Tempelhof Airport
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#2 of 191 in Berlin
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huettenpalast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huettenpalast

Property: Huettenpalast
Address: Hobrechtstrasse 65/66, 12047 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Neukolln
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is quietly located in Berlin's trendy Kreuzkolln district between Kreuzberg and Neukolln. Huttenpalast offers free WiFi and free parking. Huttenpalast Berlin offers a unique range of accommodation, including hotel rooms, retro-style caravans and huts. Set in this factory landscape, all rooms include high ceilings, large windows and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At Huttenpalast you will also find a garden with outdoor seating. Luggage storage and free parking are also available. Many interesting bars, cafes and restaurants can be found within a 5-minute walk of the accommodation. Hermannplatz Underground Station offers direct connections on the U8 line to Alexanderplatz in the heart of Berlin. The hotel is 2.2 Km from the O2 World Berlin, 3.4 Km from Checkpoint Charlie and 3.5 Km from Gendarmenmarkt. Berlin Tegel Airport is 12 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Huettenpalast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing