We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to Berlin and its history.”
Review of Free Berlin Tours

Free Berlin Tours
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$22.74*
and up
Berlin Wall and Third Reich History 3-Hour Bike Tour in Berlin
Ranked #4 of 140 Outdoor Activities in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ON YOUR BIKE - INTO THE CITY! We provide a comfy bike and an experienced & entertaining guide. In just 3 hours you will discover one of the most fascinating cities on earth! TASTE THE ORIGINAL We love Berlin and feel at home on its streets. Our guides are Berlin-experts: experienced, entertaining & just as diverse as our guests. That's why we offer tours with personality & great quality since 2008. CENTRAL MEETING POINT We start our tours at the Nikolaiviertel in front of the Nikolai Church. That's just 5 mins. away from the TV-Tower/Alexanderplatz - it couldn't be more central! SEE MORE - EVERYWHERE Bike Tours are THE BEST way to explore Berlin. You won't get stuck in traffic, you will breath fresh air and enjoy quiet ways through the city. All the sights are within reach. Every 5-10 mins. we stop at spots of interest and chat. It's a relaxing activity. Promise! THESE TOURS are on offer daily at 2.30 pm (Reservation recommended): 1. BERLIN'S BEST - the perfect overview 2. POOR BUT SEXY - the alternative Berlin 3. THE WALL / THIRD REICH - history for dummies 4. TOP SECRET - hidden places SEE YOU SOON!
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great introduction to Berlin and its history.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

First time in Berlin and these tours seemed like a great idea. Well organised and the tour guide (Sam) seemed very knowledgeable and was obviously enthusiastic about the city and its past. Walk was pretty casual and would suit most people's level of fitness, and age groups. Since discovering these tours I have been on one in every city since then and also signed up for some of their other tours (I also recommend the Third Reich tour which Sam also did - that's a paid tour, however).
Please give these guys a decent tip as it's well worth it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WallySimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    45
    3
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zabrze, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Thank you Inken :)”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was our first time in Berlin and this 4 hours trip showed us most of the great, worth-seeing places. Our guide - Inken was very enthusiastic and easy-going. She made this time very interesting. I would definitely recommend to everyone to book a free tour and you will be very lucky being in Inken's group :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KasiaKoltun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
162 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to this amazing city”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We met at the Brandenberg Gate and the whole system seemed well-organised, with lots of people quickly sorted into groups and sent off with their guides.

We were with Amy, a young British woman who was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The deal is that these people are vounteers and rely on donations from participants, based on what they think it's worth. That's quite a tough one really, as we weren't sure what was expected.

My appreciation of the history of Berlin was not the best but I quickly became absorbed with the sheer volume and significance of historic events that had occurred here within the last century. It is quite whistle stop as there is so much to take in.

We spent just under two hours with Amy and when the group stopped for coffee we decided to break away and go back to further explore the things she had already shown us. Amy was fine with this and we did give her a contribution for her efforts.

We arrived in Berlin feeling overwhelmed and I would highly recommend this tour as a great introductory start to a city break.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShazyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Tour of Berlin”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked the free 3.5 hour walking tour on-line prior to our trip to Berlin www.newberlintours.com. The tours start at 11:00 & 13:00. So glad we did this on our first full day. The tour started outside Starbucks at the Brandenburg Gate. Our tour guide, George, from Missouri was very knowledgeable and really brought the history of Berlin alive for us in a very entertaining yet compassionate manner. Would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Berlin - we were the oldies in this group (50ish) but this tour would appeal to all age groups. The tour guides have obviously put much time and effort in preparation - they rely on tips so please give as much as you can afford.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CF170209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Must do”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We're not the type to usually go on an organised tour of a city, however this is different. Rob S was so passionate about everything he was telling us you just wanted to get more and more information and stories from him. His enthusiasm definitely made the tour worthwhile.
Would recommend doing the tour at the start of your stay to get your bearings of the city. Yes you tip at the end but it is thoroughly well deserved.
It's 4 hours long, with a well earnt coffee break. At the end you get invited to the pub to meet up with the other groups and socialise with other travellers. Worth going along to eat somewhere with guaranteed good food.... And 100 beers on the menu....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JosieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Berlin Tours also viewed

 

Been to Free Berlin Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing