We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location, perfect basic room, great service and breakfast.”
Review of Hotel 38

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 38
Ranked #165 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great central location, perfect basic room, great service and breakfast.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel was a great base for exploring Berlin. Easy to get to from the airport and great transport links. The room is clean, big enough with a tv and a large powerful shower in the bathroom. Nothing elaborate but we didn't spend much time in the room. There's lots of bars and restaurants nearby.
I loved it here, Betlin was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaCBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    160
    30
    6
    8
See reviews for
67
103
37
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel is definitely very convenient as far as location, close to the metro (Oranienburger Tor station) and in an area full of bars and restaurants of various kinds within easy walking distance.
The staff is friendly, common areas are overall clean and comfortable. Breakfast is pretty standard (although bearing in mind that you are in central-northern Europe).
The sore point was for the rooms, at least in our experience. On arrival we have been allocated a room on the first floor: it was rather small and uncomfortable and above all very noisy as overlooking Oranienburger straβe (bustling and full of bars). They said that there had been an error in the assignments (we booked via internet) and that the next day we could change room.
The next morning they showed us two rooms available for a possible change, also on the first floor and small. We decided to choose a room overlooking the quiet courtyard, however forgoing even further comfort. It was an even smaller room with less than essential furniture (very narrow double bed, a desk with 2 small drawers, a long shelf above the bed headboard and shelves instead of bedside tables, no wardrobe but only a coat rack with some clothes hangers) and zero space to store your luggage. Bathroom small but more functional than the sleeping area. We had a nasty surprise respect to images shown on the internet, probably the colorful & contemporary rooms that you see in pics are at the other floors.
Recovers rating with the free Wi-Fi access in rooms and common areas.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pufftetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Günstig, schlicht, modern, preiswert und ein riesiges Frühstücksbuffet. Sehr schönes, originelles und neu renoviertes Badezimmer. Alles sehr sauber. Freundliche Receptionmitarbeiter. Zentral gelegen (Bahn, Essen, Shoppen). Dieses Hotel (neu heisst es Hotel 38) kann ich Städtereisenden wie Geschäftsreisenden gleichermassen empfehlen. Ich werde für meine nächsten Berlinreisen wieder dort übernachten.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namumaschm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

You would easyly overlook this hotel on the street. It has got a big number 38 on the front, but thats all. But if you know its there, you will find it.

There is a little modest reception with nice details as "welcome/goodbye" on its wall in various languages. The receptionst are kind and helpful, they tried to answer all our questions.

Well the hotel overall suprised us, we booked it as a budget hotel (we had some kind of budget but still didnt want to stay in a hostel or a hotel with shared bathroom) and it exceeded our expectations.
First of all, they are selling tripple room as a tripple room. No roll up bed squeezed in a corner, the third bed is a normal bed. Great! Rooms are (would be) stylish, but it works for the first sight and I would give them credits for the effort. Great. Bathroom was spacious, I would only change the white shower curtains, to make the bathroom in the style of the bedroom. We asked for a quiet room and so we had it. Great!
TV only plays some kind weird german programms and the only music channel is Rock music, but I dont like to complain about TV as its certainly not what you are making trips for.
We were overwhelmed about the breakfast. For this price, just go for it, its amazing! After a great dissapointment in Paris, where they gave us a white bun, a croisant, little butter and jam... this was heaven. The breakfast room was something I have never seen before in a hotel. You could chose from sitting at a big table with other guests or taking some of other small tables on the side to have more privacy.
We opted for the long table as it was so family like and very cosy.

We came by car, the hotel does not have their own parking places, but if you use the big parking place across the street, and inform the reception, they will give you a discount car. 24hrs parking then costs 10 Eur.
The location is just great, walking distance to the Brandenburger gate and all the other sites. The Oranienburgerstrasse is a bit odd, full of prostitutes (but pretty ones, lol) and its not recommended to visit any bar or restaurants there. But we (3 girls) felt safe even walking around late at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kouzelna_Rybicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

- Breakfast, location, friendlyness and service was great
- The room was clean and big enough
- Bath was very nice

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zisco67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

There were prostitutes patrolling the neighborhood. Not a real mystery what was going on. To each their own. Loud playground clearly heard from the room. However, the shower was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amsterdamtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Great location convenient to S and U Bahns, and not a bad walk to Museum Island. Clean and good sized rooms with nice breakfast. Great place for German beer and food just across the street toward the S bahn station. Yeah, the bars can be a bit noisy for some rooms when they let out, but during autumn so just closed windows -- not sure how it would be in summer. And did see some of those "ladies of the night" someone mentioned down the street. Absolutely nothing to worry about, just part of the scene. Pleased we booked the place and would return.

  • Liked — Location and Value
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelr234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Mitte
#110 of 634 in Berlin
1,799 reviews
Mitte
ApartHotel Residenz Am Deutschen Theater
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#163 of 634 in Berlin
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Berlin - Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Hotel Dietrich Bonhoeffer Haus
Mitte
Hotel Augustinenhof
Hotel Augustinenhof
#281 of 634 in Berlin
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 38

Property: Hotel 38
Address: Oranienburger Str. 38, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 38 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing