We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pangea People Hostel
Ranked #63 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, good location”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hostel staff were quick and efficient checking us in. Lockers are very big and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Bathrooms could do with being cleaned more often. Overall a good hostel which I would stay in again!

Room Tip: Bring your own towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neevyg893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    125
    58
    27
    11
See reviews for
10
28
52
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed in an eight bed mixed dorm with two friends last weekend. Hostel is right around the corner from Alexanderplatz on a main street, so quite safe! The room was bright and spacious, and had plenty of storage space, just bring your own padlock.
Showers were clean as well, only problem was that every time we went into the bathroom we almost slipped because the floors were constantly soaking wet. Overall, would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuseOnRage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This wasn't the most memorable hostel we stayed at during our trip across Europe, but that isn't to say it was a bad one.

First of all, the location is great. Right around the corner from Alexanderplatz and down the street from a Netto's grocery store (not the greatest store ever, but it was cheap!) Check-in was smooth, although you have to pay a small fee (per device) to have access to WiFi. The employee at the front desk was knowledgeable about the area, and provided us with maps and any information we required (except he wasn't sure what a grocery store was, however some travelers behind us popped up and yelled NETTO'S!).

The room itself was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were down the hall, with good, semi-private showers, and in general were kept clean. On one of the upper floors was a decent backpackers bar, which was nice to relax in and have a beer before bed.

From what I recall, the cost was very reasonable for such a popular city. We could walk pretty much anywhere, and for further distances the metro station (Hauptbahnhof) was a 3 minute walk from the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chab009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

-Staff were friendly and helpful, knowledgeable about the attractions and what was happening around Berlin.
-Great location, we were basically able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.
- Clean Room, although quite hot to sleep in with no air con or fan.
-Nice Bar for a quite drink after a day out sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner in a six bed dorm. The bedrooms were good with a locker per person and a good amount of space with comfortable beds. The bathrooms were kept very clean and although they say they charge for towels there were shelves of clean towels in the bathrooms throughout our stay.
On the downside, the WiFi was not included and was very poor quality, the breakfast (for an additional €5.50/day) had a good variety including eggs, cereals, meats, cheeses, breads and spreads but the quality was pretty poor. It would serve well to fill you up but didn't taste very good! The location isn't great but it could be worse. If you are trying to do things on foot you will spend a lot of time walking but the trams and trains are nearby.
Overall it didn't have a very hostel vibe although we didn't personally visit the bar which we heard was good. The lack of any kind of relaxing social space was a bit of a shame. Definitely not the worst hostel I have stayed in by a long way but I'm sure there is a better option in Berlin for a similar price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Room service was efficient, the room was nice enough, although the electicity sockets were in an awkward place. The location and amenities were great; the breakfast buffet was delicious and it was easy to get to from alexanderplatz.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Arrived very late on a Monday night. We were greeted by a really friendly staff member who helped us to check in.
The bedroom was really clean and very comfy. The bar does some good cocktails and the staff were brilliant! Very friendly, up for banter and always helpful.
The location of the Hostel is fantastic (2 mins around the corner from Alexanderplatz) We took advantage of the Free Alternative Tour and it was by far the highlight and best part of our trip!
The food was great in the mornings. Highly recommended to all. We will be staying again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
H4 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
H2 Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Holiday Inn Berlin Centre Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Motel One Berlin-Hackescher Markt
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#27 of 350 in Berlin
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangea People Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangea People Hostel

Property: Pangea People Hostel
Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 34, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pangea People Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel in the Center of Berlin Location: directly at Alexanderplatz Our hostel is located in the city center of Berlin directly at Alexanderplatz. From here it is just a few minutes of walking distance to explore the popular sights, bars and clubs of Berlin. With the perfect connection of subway, train and night bus you can easily reach the more faraway places of the City: Kreuzberg, the "Berghain", Kurfurstendamm, Museum Island and more. Rooms, Facilities and Service Our shared rooms (dorms), twin rooms and single rooms are spacious and nicely furnished with lockable cabinets, small seating areas and comfortable beds (more). Start your entertainment night in our bar: Have some cocktails and a snack, meet other travelers and listen to what our Insider team can recommend for the Berlin night life. Pangea means to us, bringing all nations and cultures together, for some nights, one week or how long you want to stay. We offer you a great service: Bed linen and sheets are always included and free of charge, we have our own bike rental service (even for bigger groups), our reception is staffed 24hours with a multilingual team, we offer security service for your safety and much more! We are offering an accommodation in a central location as an ideal origin, to discover the City day and night. We provide a team, that stays on your side all the time with different languages and a perfect place to sleep - if you are a backpacker, with your family or a group coming from Germany or from all over the world for a weekend, school trip or student travel. We take care about your wellbeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pangea People Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing