We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pangea People Hostel
Ranked #67 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We slept in a room for 10 or 12 people (I forgot), so it was a bit noisy at night. However, there's everything you may ask for, the location is excellent (5 min to Alexanderplatz by foot) and it's clean and modern. Oh, yes, and the beds are quite comfortable.
Based upon my experience, I recommend it for groups of friends or solo travellers rather than couples.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnitogorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 293 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very well run hostel, clean with comfy beds and although bathroom facilities are shared they are clean, fairly new and well kept. A nice mix of people varying in language and age to all ends of the spectrum, bar and lounge is on the top floor, so no noise to disturb sleeping areas, computer room, helpful front desk at all times and location is very close to metro station and with in walking distance of many attractions, as well as shops and restaurants. The price is very good value, would definitely stay there again. I was there as a 57 year old with my two daughters 21 and 24...it was perfect.

Room Tip: maybe get a room away from the bathrooms as those doors are opening and closing all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alldarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hostel was very clean, beds made for you and comfy, staff were helpful, and most could speak good English, guests were also an eclectic mix of people. Great location, Alexanderplatz station is a 5 minute walk, a number of good restaurants close by. However, it is best to explore some different areas of Berlin for meals out. Alexanderplatz is a little touristy and more expensive (but no where in Berlin is that expensive). I would recommend Kreuzberg-Orianstrasse. Some great places and interesting bars!
Breakfast buffet was okay for 5.50 Euros, but I would suggest finding somewhere to eat around Berlin-or grab a Besel and Kaffee somewhere. Halls were sometimes noisy in the early hours with people coming back from nights out which was on issue on the first night, having been travelling all day. All in all, though nice little hostel, spotless, and in a great location. Berlin is a laid back, safe city, and Pangea People offers a clean, value for money place to kip! Would definitely go back...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed over for a few nights, the staff were very friendly and helpful. They spoke excellent-standard English and there was free (and safe) storage for our luggage once we had got there as we were too early to book into our rooms.

It's a ten minute walk (if that) from the station and has easy underground and tram connections. The area is great at night and you feel safe. Very impressed as it was my first hostel stay! The toilets/showers were clean and accessible (didn't mind sharing with others) but I would advise lodgers not to leave valuable goods in the rooms when you are away just as an over-the-top English precaution. Just keep them with you. Overall was fantastic! Pop round the corner for drinks at the huge bar where the men and woman are dressed in traditional German garb. Excellent atmosphere! You'll walk past it on the way from the station. Hoping to go again very soon and will only book here as accommodation!

Room Tip: The rooms where chosen for us as far as I'm aware but we faced the main road and it was dead qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammileighuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed as a solo traveler. 10 Euros from train station to hostel, but being located 2 streets from Alexanderplatz station, the cheaper option is also convenient.
I stayed during spring break, and there was always noise, from parties or doors slamming, so bring earplugs. There were all sorts of people staying here, from business traveler, to stag party to family on holiday. As expected, the staff is fluent in several languages.
I believe there are vending machines on each floor. The community room closes at 10pm, which sucks if you need to be up without disturbing your roommates. If you get to the showers early enough (or wait until afternoon) you can get a fresh mat...do bring sandals. The hostel offers towel rental and locks for purchase. There is only 1 dryer in each community bathroom, be prepared for a wait. There are not enough electrical outlets in the rooms...but there are a few in the bar area.
The breakfast was average German fare, service and cleanliness very good. The bar has a happy hour and very easy to meet people there. There is no laundry at the hostel, but you walk away from the city for a bit...which is nice because there's an internet cafe open until 4am, much cheaper dining options along the way and the best currywurst (called Curry) at the 3 street intersection just past the laundromat.
Will be back due to price, atmosphere and location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdali7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hostel is in a very good location (Alexandraplatz). Right by the main station it is easy to get around. There is someone at reception 24hrs so late heck ins should not be to much of a problem. The staff are friendly and helful when we asked about things and provide an awesome city map.
The room was nice and spacious and had good lockers if you needed to lock anything away (we were in a twin room so not needed) The beds were very comfortable and bedding was good. The showers were also very nice and clean, they are unisex but you get your own private shower with lockable door and little stool so your clothes wont get wet by leaving them on the floor. Berlin is quite a party city and the corridors of the hostel are quite bare so I feel that noise bounces off them more, because of this when people come home from being out it can get quite loud. I am quite a heavy sleeper but got woken up 2 of the 4 nights we were there.

Wi-fi is EUR1 a day. I don't like having to pay for wi-fi, but it seems there is not much free wi-fi around in Berlin. I never used the bar or had the breakfast so I cant somment on that.

If you can handle the noise I recommend this place because of its cleanliness, good showers and awesome comfy beds.

Room Tip: We booked a twin room, but there were 4 beds in our room, not sure if all twin rooms have this, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Cheap, great location, near Alexanderplatz which is pretty much central... Great shopping, bars, transport etc.
Staff were very friendly and helpful
Room was clean and comfy.
Showers and bathrooms were kept clean.. Only problem is that theres a lack of powerpoint in the communal washroom...

Other than that, one of the best hostels ive neen to =)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajes_La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Singer109 Backpacker Apartment Hostel
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#69 of 634 in Berlin
4,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangea People Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangea People Hostel

Address: Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 34, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Hotel Class:1 star — Pangea People Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel in the Center of Berlin Location: directly at Alexanderplatz Our hostel is located in the city center of Berlin directly at Alexanderplatz. From here it is just a few minutes of walking distance to explore the popular sights, bars and clubs of Berlin. With the perfect connection of subway, train and night bus you can easily reach the more faraway places of the City: Kreuzberg, the "Berghain", Kurfurstendamm, Museum Island and more. Rooms, Facilities and Service Our shared rooms (dorms), twin rooms and single rooms are spacious and nicely furnished with lockable cabinets, small seating areas and comfortable beds (more). Start your entertainment night in our bar: Have some cocktails and a snack, meet other travelers and listen to what our Insider team can recommend for the Berlin night life. Pangea means to us, bringing all nations and cultures together, for some nights, one week or how long you want to stay. We offer you a great service: Bed linen and sheets are always included and free of charge, we have our own bike rental service (even for bigger groups), our reception is staffed 24hours with a multilingual team, we offer security service for your safety and much more! We are offering an accommodation in a central location as an ideal origin, to discover the City day and night. We provide a team, that stays on your side all the time with different languages and a perfect place to sleep - if you are a backpacker, with your family or a group coming from Germany or from all over the world for a weekend, school trip or student travel. We take care about your wellbeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pangea People Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing