We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Ranked #148 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Myself and 6 friends stayed in this hotel. 3 in one room 4 in the other. The 4 bunk bed room was sufficient as it was at the corner of the building and had a bit more floor space. The room with my 3 friends also had 4 bunk beds but was tiny. You could just walk between the two sets if bunks, was very cramped. The top set of beds on each bunk were not made and we went down to reception to advise only to be told we had to do it ourselves? Sorry we questioned is this not a hotel??? Eventually they agreed to send a maid up to make the beds and also to bring towels as there was not enough to go round. We left for the night and went clubbing and came back at 6am to have to make our own beds! Wasn't too happy but what could we do. Apart from that stay there was good but think I'd go back when it's not -14. Good budget hotel would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback!
Due to safety and hygine regulations our housekeeping is not entitled to do the upper beds.
We try our best to provide good customer service and are happy to hear you would stay again.
Why not check out our MEININGER Hotel in Brussels or Vienna next time?
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    350
    124
    43
    20
See reviews for
170
130
53
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

A really nice hotel/hostel and excellent value for money. It's a great choice for location & service. The S-Bahn Oranienburgerstrase station is literally at the front door of the hotel, a nice 10 min walk and you will be at Alexanderplatz or the museum island. There are some bars on the left of the hotel (5 min walk), and some decent cafe/restaurants if you walk across the road and head north.

Staff are very friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for rating us!
The location of MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte is indeed very central,
it`s also just a 20 minutes walk to the Brandenburg Gate.
Why not check out our other MEININGER Hotels when traveling around Europe?
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel/hostel busy but friendly. The staff were helpful and polite and the location couldn't be better. Room was large (we booked a triple room and got a quad) and warm...which was vital. Would recommend for young couples/groups.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback!
We are happy to hear you had a nice time at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte
and hope to welcome you again soon!
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I travelled here 3rd february 2014 - 6th February.

Everything is amazing so much so I have searched if they have other hotels across Europe as I actually didn't want to leave. The rooms are comfortable and quite small but overall brilliant. Would have preferred more english tv channels rather than just world news but that and lack of room service is the only slight problems.

However you get what you pay for €162 for 3 nights/4 days

I would really recommend this to everyone however families maybe less than others.

The street outside of the hotel is a known prostitute street but you really don't notice or know this unless told. Don;t let it put you off booking, loads of restaurants and shops right outside extremely close to Friedstraße, Alexanderplatz & Brandenburg Gate.

All photo's on there website are accurate, only the part I stayed in walls were green not red.

Room Tip: No need for a late check out, they offer toilets comfortable lobby and luggage storage for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for rating us!
We indeed have other MEININGER Hotels in various European cities,
it would be great to welcome you again soon!
Why not check out Brussels, Amsterdam or Munich?
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed for a whole week in this hotel and it was great. The train stop is just in front of the door, the breakfast was cheap and location was perfect. The hotel is very modern, best for group of friends. Small rooms, but cosy and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rejx93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for rating us!
The location is indeed very central with walking distance to many of the main sights and attractions.
We would be happy to welcome you at MEININGER Hotels again soon!
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

THIS IS HOTEL!! Just with a dorm style.
The room is very clean with private shower room and bathroom separately including shower gel and hand soap even hair dryer!
Each comfortable bed has a plug and small light.
A card key is also nice. A big locker...
Especially the room price was awesome almost the same as the hostel price!

I love to stay here again if I can take it at the good rate!
Thanks a lot for the fantastic stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Michi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you very much for rating us!
Good to hear that you had such a nice stay and loved your room!
Why not check out our other MEININGER Hotels around Europe
on your next travels?
Hope to see you again!
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Very good and comfortable hotel/hostel, situated in front of Oranienburger Strasse U-Bahn.
They gave us a 6 beds room even if we were 3 people, so there was plenty of room.
Breakfast was good and costed 5.90 euros per person.
I recommend this hotel: it's really near Alexanderplatz and Museuminsel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks a lot for your positive feedback!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte is indeed located very central with walking distance to most sights and attractions and a lot of cafes, restaurants and bars around.
We`d be happy to welcome you again!
Your MEININGER Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#106 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#134 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus

Property: MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Address: Oranienburger Str. 67/68, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus is located exactly where others flock to: in the bubbly Berlin Mitte district on Oranienburger Strasse. Alexander von Humboldt lived here once, and this modern and low-cost hotel has retained the spirit of this polymath. DaWanda designers helped design each hotel room individually. People from all over the world meet in the hotel bar, lounge, guest kitchen and inner courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing